We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
InterContinental New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$408
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Parker New York(New York City)
US$553
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$496
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$818
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$713
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,697)
Filter reviews
2,697 results
Traveller rating
666
1,274
450
139
168
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
666
1,274
450
139
168
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskorea townthe empire state buildingpenn stationrooftop barbagelskorean foodmemory foamnew yorkfree breakfastaround the cornertimes squarehard boiled eggsherald squarebreakfast roomrooms are smallpriced hoteltwo queen beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,104 - 1,109 of 2,697 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! The staff was rude and unhelpful. The people next door were screaming and slamming into the walls, and the front desk said that everything was fine bc they called up and was told there wasn't a problem. It was so bad that we almost called 911. The room phone didn't work and they said that it wasn't a hazaard and that they have many other hazaards in the hotel. The staff lied and said that we picked a room by the bar, being in our 50s, this was not a first choice, the music could be heard until after 1:30 am. The management was not helpful and we were forced to call head quarters. This was the worst experience we have ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linsey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear linsey c,
Thank you for your review. We are surprised to hear about the rude, unhelpful staff at our hotel. We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay and that the music from the bar and the people next to you kept you up so late. Our staff is trained to be as helpful and friendly as possible to ensure that all our guests are happy, we apologize that they were not and will look into the problem.
Thank you.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

LaQuinta Manhattan has a great location with a subway station right at the corner. Empire State building and Macy's are two blocks down walking distance. Times Square was one subway station away. The hotel had clean and spacious rooms for New York standards. Included was free breakfast which was a great start to the day. Also free Internet. Indoor parking across the street gives the hotel a discount of $27.00 per day. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were some funny smells in the lobby coming from Korean restaurants but besides that the hotel is a great value for your dollar!

Room Tip: rooms are quieter at the back side of the hotel
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGAV742826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

When it comes to customer service, this hotel gets the thumb down from me. I stayed at this hotel from December 24, 2011- December 29, 2011. Every service from check-in to check-out was terrible. Although confirmed, there was no shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. Upon check-in, I found out that there were no fridge or microwave, which were promised at time of booking and the hotel did not make one accessible to the guest. Although breakfast was provided, guests were not allowed to take food to their rooms although there was not sufficient seating available at anytime and breakfast staff was rude and inefficient. Hotel employees were generally rude and not at all helpful. The rooms were too small and not very clean. The television was out for at least 3 of the 5 nights that we stayed and although promised that we would get a refund for the inconvenience, we did not receive it at time of check-out. The front desk clerk named (Tom) was rude to a family member trying to reach us at the hotel. In addition, we were advised that calls within the US were not free when the actually were. The employee working in the business centre was extremely rude. Front desk refused to assist with getting a cab to the airport although we check out at 5 am in the morning. Internet service was weak and there was always problems getting online. I seriously did not feel like I was a paying customer but as if someone was giving this vacation to me but the really did not want to give it. I will never stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it to my worse enemy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Baronette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Baronette S.,
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry about your unfortunate experience. We provide microwaves and refrigerators on request, and they are available on a first come, first serve basis. We are sorry that you were not able to receive one. We are also sorry that you did not find sufficient seating in our breakfast room. We do not have any additional space to expand the room, but will try to work on a solution to this problem. We are also sorry that you found the rooms to be small. Though our rooms vary in size, most are typical of what you would find in other Manhattan hotels. Domestic phone calls are free in the hotel, and we are sorry that you were misinformed by our staff. Our staff is trained continually to be as friendly and helpful as possible. In fact, Tom has consistently received very high praise from our customers. Nevertheless, we will look into your complaints about the front desk staff and breakfast staff.
Again, we are truly sorry about your experience. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next trip to NYC.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I have stayed at three out five of the Applecore hotels in New York City and this is one of my favorites. It is perfectly situated on 32nd St between 5th and 6th avenue in Korea Town just steps from a subway station. It takes just a few minutes to get to Rockefeller Center, Times Square and anywhere else you might want to go. My cousin lives way up on the west side and it is easy for me to get to his neighborhood by subway. It is a tourist mecca because it's right around the corner from the Empire State building and Macy's is practically across the street, but even if you don't plan to do "touristy" stuff, it's exceptionally convenient.

If you think you can't afford to visit New York during the holidays, this is the place for you. It's not fancy and could definitely use some refurbishing, but if you simply want a clean, safe, convenient place to stay, La Quinta is a great. As others have said, the lobby is small and you can smell cooking odors from the restaurant next door, but there are many pros: Free computers downstairs, free breakfast (cereal, breads, fruit, and boiled eggs), free in-room safe, free wi-fi, etc. Also, there are a number of very inexpensive places to eat nearby - even late at night. Finally, if you're a woman traveling alone, this area feels very safe and comfortable.

They have new mattresses since I stayed here in 2009 and they're very comfortable (memory foam). Rooms also have flat screen TVs (not that you'll spend much time watching it with all there is to do nearby) with lots of channels.

This is not the Plaza, so if you are looking for a fancy, romantic place to stay, this isn't the place, but again, if you want to enjoy all that NYC has to offer during the holiday season, the La Quinta is very affordable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be noisy due to traffic and lots of bars/restaurants nearby.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed the weekend before Christmas, our rate was $209 for each night for a room with two queen beds. For the money in NYC at this time of year, it was great. The lobby is small and does smell like the Korean BBQ restaurants that line this street but the rooms upstairs were fine. Even with the two beds, the room had plenty of space for the three of us staying in the room, it was clean also. We were on the backside of the hotel, once the shades were closed the room was pitch black and very quiet. The hotel is very close to Macy's and the subway is at the end of the block so it makes it easy to get around to the big tourist spots. I was leery that we would end up in a tiny room that wasn't up to my standards but the La Quinta ended up to be great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fossbomb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews