We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfied in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Ranked #280 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Satisfied in NYC”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We just got back from a three night stay at the La Quinta in NYC. Before we chose this hotel we read the reviews. We decided to take a chance on this hotel since most of the reviews were positive. We had a wonderful stay.

When we first arrived in the morning our room was not ready. It was very convenient to leave our bags with the concierge for the day. We did the same on the day of checkout.

The location of the hotel is two blocks away from Penn station which was very convenient for us. The subway station is also just at the corner. I liked the location of the hotel, I found it easy to get to anywhere we wanted to go.

When we arrived back at the hotel to check in I retrieved our bags while my husband got our keys. He announced to me that we were on the eleventh floor. I said to him, oh no I think you should ask for a lower floor, the reviews said how slow the elevators were. Well we kept our room and had no issues with the elevator at all.

We had a room in the front of the hotel on the scaffolding side. So yes we had no view but going up to the 14th floor bar to see the view of the Empire State building at night made up for it. Except for the garbage truck that passes every night at around 11:30PM, there really was little noise.

We had a room with two queen size beds. I really have no complaints about the room. The truth is we hardly spent anytime in the room so as long as it was clean, we were happy. This was our first time staying in the city. Just being able to come back to our room at some point during the day was a pleasure.

The only small complaint I have is that there was no hot water in the evenings to shower. But we learnt the trick of letting the water in the shower and the tap run for a few minutes and then we had hot water.

The breakfast in the hotel was very nice and there was quite an assortment to chose from. We ate one night at the Korean restaurant next door, Won Jo. We enjoyed the experience of the Korean BBQ. It was very tasty and very plentiful.

We would definately stay at this hotel again. It was a great value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dabzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    1,180
    389
    128
    148
See reviews for
591
905
187
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel is listed as an amenities driven experience with a good value for the price. No where on the website was there mention of current renovations. The hotel is covered in scaffolding and dark steel mesh. The street is extremely loud with deliveries continuing through the night. The hotel allows smoking, so the non-smoking rooms are the only place you will escape the smell. The staircase allows the smell of smoke on every floor. I received a letter from the management when I checked in which boasted all the facility had to offer. The letter from the manager stating that the hotel was undergoing a "facelift" was posted in between the two elevators on the first floor. Finally, the manager was not available to speak with me about the problems I experienced and I was told that I would have to contact him on Monday at the earliest. I cancelled my 2nd stay there and had to spend vacation time looking for alternative arrangements. Luckily the Holiday Inn has just opened a new, quiet hotel about a block away for roughly $25 a night more. Well worth it!

Room Tip: Spoke with many, those who stayed in the back of the hotel didn't experience the noise that I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babs h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear babs h,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The Beaux-arts facade of the hotel is landmarked by the City of New York and in order to maintain the turn of the century details we did need to erect a scaffold. We are pleased to report that it will be coming off next week as the work has been done. We are truly sorry if this inconvenienced you. As far as street noise goes, I am sure you will agree that we cannot control what other establishments in the neighborhood do. The street is known for its 24 hour Korean restaurants and a bustling nightlife. We do apologize if you found that to be too noisy.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Got a warm and sincere five star welcome from Tom upon check-in. I have stayed in many hotels in NYC and elsewhere and Tom represents the best of the best. My room was comfortable, quiet and clean. I always appreciate an in-room safe and there was a good size digital one in the closet. Breakfast was good too and served in a spacious seating area. and the hard boiled eggs were served warm - a real treat!

The only area that I would say is lacking in this hotel is decent wi-fi. The signal strength varies but is mostly "low" prompting random disconnects and sluggish response. I suppose it's better in some rooms than others but it seems some new routers are needed here. So if you don't mind the weak wi-fi, this is one of the better values in NYC, particularly during the slow winter season.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear 1NicePerson,
We appreciate your kind review and kind words about Tom. We will certainly pass this along to him!
We are glad you enjoyed everything about your stay, but are sorry about the weak wi-fi signal. We will look into this issue to see what can be done about it.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to New York City!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

It is always a challenge to find a reasonable price for a hotel in Manhattan that is centrally located as well as clean and comfortable. This was all of those. The room and private bath were roomy and clean. It was at least $100 less than other hotels I found, especially good with an AAA discount. I would stay there again and not look further.

Room Tip: Rooms are the top floor you may want to avoid, as I think they are smaller and noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have stayed several times at the La Quinta Manhattan. The location is the hotel's greatest advantage. It is literally 5 minutes walk from Penn Station. Just straight down the street. So, if you arrive from the airport at Penn Station or by Amtrak, this is a very good place to go. It also has several subway lines just around the corner, so it is easy to get anywhere in the city. It is surrounded by Korean restaurants, many of them are open all night. I found the rooms adequate and clean and the service friendly. Wireless is free, so is the breakfast. And, there is are computers and a free printer in the basement. Many people overlook the fact that there is a nice bar at the rooftop with an open terrace. Spectacular in the summer. You don't have a great view over the city, but if you look up you see the illuminated spire of the Empire State Building right above you. It is not a fancy hotel, prices vary, depending on what is going on in the city, but it is always one of the most affordable. It is not carried by several search engines (like expedia), so best to book it right on the LaQuinta site.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chdine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Let's start with the positives. The location is excellent in the middle of the garment district. It is so beautiful around Herald Square. If you're interested in shopping, this is where to go. However, if you want an area with more restaurants, bars, etc. maybe you'd want to stay in chelsea, Times Square or go down to meatpacking or the west village. The hotel itself is clean, beds are comfortable. The staff is ok but not remarkably helpful and friendly.

The negatives: elevators are super-slow for a hotel this size, they need major rennovation there! The rooms facing the street are noisy (wish i listened to the reviews here) especially during the night; at least that's when we were in the room. We were staying on the third floor so there was no view worthwhile and we only saw the bars from the construction work anyway. The breakfast is basic even for hotels in the same price and room offering range. The TV system broke down the first day and stayed down for two days!

Now the big no no!! We were two couples travelling, we made our booking through booking.com online. The first couple arrived on the 23rd and the reservation was ok. When the second couple arrived on the 25th the reception told them their reservation was cancelled by booking.com and tried to give them the room at a higher rate (they showed them a document of the cancellation from booking.com) They told them they'll look elsewhere for another hotel. This is when their reservation magically appeared not to be cancelled!! By then they found a cheaper reservation (than the original price) in Nyma Hotel right across the street. With the hotel manager being rude, the staff being not in a hold of things we all moved to Nyma which proved to be a better hotel (managed by the same company).

I stayed in Stanford Hotel before (same street - January 2011) and Nyma Hotel during this stay. Both i would recommend over La Quinta Manhattan. Same price range but more comfotable stay.

Room Tip: smoking rooms up to the third floor only. Street view rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ETW_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear NohaG_04
Thank you for your detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed the central location, but are sorry that you were unsatisfied with your room location and elevator speed. We are undergoing a full renovation soon and will try to address the elevator problem as well as the other problems you mentioned.
We are also sorry about the booking confusion. Sometimes if a credit card has expired, the reservation is canceled after we try to contact the guest the day before arrival. We are sorry that you left us at La Quinta, but are glad that you enjoyed your stay at nyma.
We hope to welcome you again at La Quinta Manhattan or nyma on your next trip to New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is not a fancy hotel and the price should tip off those who expect the Ritz. That being said, we found this hotel to be a terrific value. The breakfast was very nice - the rooms were clean, and the staff were very responsive to our needs. We did not have any of the problems some have reported. The location is great. We went during the holiday season when prices at other hotels were pretty outrageous. This is a great economy hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with double beds seemed larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pstein49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#313 of 467 in New York City
2,635 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#299 of 467 in New York City
1,565 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#305 of 467 in New York City
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#392 of 467 in New York City
99 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,251 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#287 of 467 in New York City
3,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing