We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for 4”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Ranked #289 of 467 Hotels in New York City
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel for 4”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Reminder that this is NYC and the rooms are small but we were able to secure a room for 4 of us with two double beds over a weekend in Midtown Manhattan. Little amenities but the city is the reason to visit and not staying in your hotel room. Comfortable beds and decent showers made it a great spot to sleep and just store our belongings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDirtyCrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    1,214
    415
    132
    158
See reviews for
617
946
194
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
puerto rico
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

we stayed here on nov 2011 for black friday shopping and to visit family in the city. this hotel is between 5th and broadway a couple of block away from MSG maddison square, macys and Empire state building. You can get to 42nd st on a 25 min walk, not bad or a subway just around the corner. Location on this hotel is a plus. remember this is a budget hotel on a city were room are expensive. NY is not Vegas. For the price you get decent rooms clean, adequte size, with some noise insulation noise could be better nothing to worry about unless you are a light sleeper. Breakfast is free has limited options, but good. there are many Korean restaurants around the hotel.and price is great

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oestepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Room was a decent size and clean. Upon entering the room, I checked the bathroom and it passed my expectations. It was so central to either walk or take the nearby subway. There were Korean restaurants nearby, which was a bonus at the end of the day, since dinner is a few steps away.
Complimentary breakfast was included, but mostly toast, bagels, doughnuts, coffee and juice. We didnt expect much as we got the reservation at a good price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The location is the thing in this older hotel of course. Subway is half a block away, Macy's is also very close, and it is right in the middle of Korea Town, so there is abundant food available at great prices. If you are visiting NY on a budget or just need to work in the vicinity it is a great place to be. Empire State Building is also half a block away.

Check in was smooth and friendly, no help whatsoever from the 'doorman' who was almost laying on the couch in front of the TV and didn't even acknowledge we were arriving, but there are 2 elevators so it was easy to get to the room.

I have stayed in many hotels local to this one, and I think this was possibly not the smallest, but certainly one of the smallest rooms around. There are 2 suitcase racks in the closet, but unless I was to totally block access to the bathroom, there was nowhere to even put one, so my suitcase ended up on the dresser, underneath the TV. Nice TV by the way, flat screen +/- 32"?

The beds I found, as did my colleague staying in the next room, were too soft for our liking, although this is of course personal taste. Comfortable, but soft.

My main complaint was the size of the room, and the noisiness of the room. This was room 601 and apart from the as usual, noisy AC, (which is to be expected) there was a constant loud humming from outside the window, which was permanent. I guess this was a central AC or similar, but it made sleeping without ear plugs impossible.

The bathroom was sufficient, barely, with old style taps in the tight shower, and presumably as a result of another room using water at the same time, the shower was either going too hot or too cold all the time. Not really acceptable. Surely it is not too much to ask to have a pressure stabilizing mixer installed in today's market?! The towels should definitely be replaced though, as they were thinner than the shower mat, and not nice to use at all, although there were 3 of them.

The breakfast is usual low budget fare, bagels were fresh as is expected, although there was no coffee one morning, but that was soon rectified.

WIFI is free, although we both had a number of issues with the slowness of it as well as being disconnected on a fairly regular basis.

For the price, which was reasonable, it was not too bad, although there is a neighboring hotel which is a very similar price point with bigger rooms and I think better facilities overall.

Another big failing to my mind was that the room had not been made up by 4.30pm when I had got back to the room and wanted to make some business calls, and as a result the person responsible wanted to come in at 4.45pm and do it, whilst I was trying to get some work done. She then complained that she couldn't wait as she had to be finished by 5pm... NOT MY PROBLEM! She came back 5 minutes later and had to do the room while I was on a call, which was totally inconvenient as far as I was concerned. I would say that the latest the room should be made up was by 3pm at least.

I always ask myself if I would stay here again, and my tentative answer is yes I would, although it would certainly not be my first pick if there was space in one of the others in close proximity.

Based on the room I was given, I would not recommend 2 people trying to share this room as there just would be no space at all.

One last thing, in room 601, don't bother to open the drapes a the view was of an old dirty building from both windows!

You do get what you pay for I guess!

Room Tip: Don't get room 601! Too noisy! Don't bring much luggage as there is nowhere to put it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

If you want heap this is what you will get. Two bad instances , one they cancelled my reservation and I was not notified until I arrived. Ended up in a closet of a room. The other time I had a reservation for two nights was delayed because of weather. I was assured the one night was taken care of but it showed up on my credit card. Called la Quinta corporate and was told it was the owners decision and they could not help.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Scott B,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry about your reservation being canceled. It is our policy to cancel any reservation made with an invalid credit card. We tried to contact you and left a message for you about this. When you arrived, we honored you rate and reservation, since we had available rooms.
On the second occurrence, you called to cancel your first night. If a guest calls to cancel a reservation at 3PM EST the day before check-in, they will not be charged a no-show, but anytime after that, it is our policy to charge the guest for that night. We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you.
We hope that you will give us another chance on your next trip to Manhattan.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotel in general is OK. The person attending the breakfast area was very diligent with his duties. The check in personnel are courteous. The only problem I found was a very rude and uncourteous Luggage Tender/Doorman Mr. Roberts. Very unprofessional with his dealings with people, he wants his tips before he even touches anything and absolutely no courtesy is given to guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alrodrigo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed 6 nights with my wife on the 6th floor (604), the room was located on the back side of the hotel with an amazing view of the Empire State Buidling! Room was clean with a small closet which could fit 1 large suitcase and hanging clothes. 3 large drawers for clothes below the 32" TV.


Breakfast consisted of your typical breads, doughnuts, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juices, coffee, bananas, apples.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a room located in central Manhattan, subway station on same block, cvs pharmacy on same block, Empire State Building one black away, free wifi, free breakfast,"box store" shopping 1block away, always feel safe, subway ride from hotel to Times Square in one stop!

The rooftop bar VU is on the 14 (13) floor. GREAT view of the Empire State Building. Beer is $6 and cocktails $ 10

Value, Location, Empire State Building, free wifi, free breakfast, total about $200 nightly.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#325 of 467 in New York City
2,735 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#360 of 467 in New York City
182 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#308 of 467 in New York City
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#310 of 467 in New York City
1,622 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#282 of 467 in New York City
3,527 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#197 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing