We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough start but followed a perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Ranked #292 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rough start but followed a perfect stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We arrived at the hotel after confirming we our stay a few times (because of other reviewers negative experience with lost reservation). We made sure our wee hours of the morning arrival wouldn't be an issue and were assured it wouldn't be. Upon our 2 am arrival we were told there had been a leak in the ceiling of our room and the bedding and floor had gotten wet. We were provided with a comparable room at another hotel a few blocks away and the cab fare to and from for one night. We didn't really believe their story but were too tired to argue. The replacement hotel was nice and the following morning we returned and were given a room but it wasn't quite ready, our bags were stored and we went on our way for the day.

That afternoon we returned and were given an exceptionally large (for NY) room on the 7th floor. The two queen beds were really comfortable and the linens exceptionally clean (including the white comforter!). The bathroom was standard, though the shower was pleasantly high, (As a tall family we were grateful not to have to crouch to be in the stream) with hot water in abundance. We were given plenty of clean towels and wash cloths. We purchased shampoo and conditioner as the two women in the group have super long hair and the little bottles are never enough. There was a small loveseat, a desk, a desk chair, and a side table between the two beds. This room was nicely retrofitted to accomodate modern travelers with sufficient outlets for cell phones (we had 3), camera's (2), laptops (2), and the iron. :) Complimentary water bottles and snacks were left out for us. We only turned the television on once and it was in working order. The iron and ironing board were used and were in good condition. The room was odor and insect free. The housekeeping was superb.

The only downsides were the exceptionally small and slow elevators. With one in our party with a bad knee the stairs were not a viable option. The other was the very very limited seating in the breakfast area. The breakfast was wonderful (prepeeled boiled eggs, bagels with cream cheese, yogurt, donuts, orange and apple juice, oatmeal, coffee, apples and bananas), just not enough places to sit.

An excellent value, in a fantastic location, super clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungGma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    1,214
    415
    132
    158
See reviews for
617
947
194
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

After a harrowing journey into the Lincoln Tunnel, it was great to pull up the hotel, not sure where to stop, or how to handle the car and have staff jump right out to help and guide us through check in/ park the car for us etc... Room was clean, beds were comfy, ac worked fine. NY City prices are high anywhere and we shopped it, for the location this was by far the best value we found. Very happy with our stay and we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezzy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Service is terrible.

Reception staff are in considerate, rude and Obnoxious.

Managerment couldnt care less about your problems or even if you'd ever go back to the hotel.

There were rats in rooms on our floor.

Overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hotelhonestreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This hotel was excellent value and very close to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Madison Square Gardens and Macy's.
We were 2 adults and one child so stayed in a double double room which was immaculate, and very spacious.
The breakfast is basic but enough to start your day off.
Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concepcion
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week, the hotel is near the subway(34th street).. less than a block. In the middle of Korea Town, close to Macys
It's one of the few hotels with breakfast..tea, milk,bagels, yogurth, fruit, cereals,..good enough.
They have a small pub in the roof with a nice view of the empire state
The only thing i didn't like it's that we couldn't open the Windows.. I'm not sure if this it's a common thing in NY
I will stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClauditaConcepcion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

and an unbeatable location for an affordable price. Will definitely go there again next time. We walked from there almost everywhere. The rooms aren't big but for a city trip there is all you need. The breakfast was OK. Nothing special except for the donuts!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We arrived from Dublin for a 5 night stay, which I found out 3 days in was my engagement tip.
On night 2 my fiancé woke me up at 4am to tell me he thought something was in the room and he had been awake for over an hour with noises coming from the window and wardrobe, I brushed it off as jet lag and told him to go back asleep. On the following night he woke me again, this time I heard our shopping bags rustling and squeaking so i got out of bed to check, when I went over a rat ran under the air con unit and disappeared.
We rang reception and complained and were told someone would investigate in the morning. We then later that morning got a call from a Manager apologising and offering us a new room down the hall, which was fine & we didn't notice anymore visitors to our room.
All in all the hotel was basic, in a handy location but I found the staff member on checking out very condescending and rude when we mentioned our 'issue'. Wouldn't recommend the hotel based on our experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jojofitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#325 of 466 in New York City
2,739 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#364 of 466 in New York City
184 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#307 of 466 in New York City
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#313 of 466 in New York City
1,624 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#281 of 466 in New York City
3,530 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#190 Business Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing