We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Ranked #280 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for only one night for a weekend in the city. The lobby was under construction; I'm sure it will look nice when it's done but right now it's not very pretty. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 12th floor. It was a good size and was very clean. The bed was quite comfortable. There are only two elevators which meant we had to wait, but it wasn't too bad. The bar on the "14th" floor (really the 13th but they don't want to call it that) was overpriced. It was insanely cold when we stayed there, so we didn't go outside for drinks on the patio which overlooks the Empire State Building. Breakfast was typical - bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruits, pastries. Considering prices in NYC, I was glad to have breakfast included! The location is great - within walking distance to Penn Station, Times Square, Broadway shows, many other tourist spots. The subway is nearby too. Since checkout is at noon, we were able to leave our bags there and have our day in the city before picking them up and heading to Penn Station. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank profesora_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    1,191
    398
    129
    150
See reviews for
602
917
191
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ocala,florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Ive stayed here about a dozen times over the years and im never unhappy with this hotel. i dont expect to be pampered and spoiled so this hotel is perfect for me. its in a prime location to walk all over NYC and be in decent proximity to the hotel. a hotel for me is a place to sleep and shower. i dont spend alot of time there so i dont ask for much. also in reserving my rooms(i had to book one night for a visiting friend) the price would keep going down and they had no problem rebooking my reservations. i dont understand the problem with the elevator. it wasnt fast but it didnt seem incredibly slow as many have claimed. sometimes that cant be helped. for me this is a perfect hotel. the only tip i would give someone is to get an even floor if you can because ice machines alternate with soda machines on each floor. the staff seemed nice, i really didnt have much interaction with them because i really didnt have a reason to besides checking in and out. the complimentary breakfast was nice, i just get a donut and juice. theyre renovating right now but it doesnt really affect your stay. and lastly, the price. that and security are the two most important things to be. i feel safe no matter what hour of the night it is and the price is amazing for NYC.i paiud 90 dollars for my room and was very happy with it(kudos for adding the 3 NY sports channels, which was something i suggested on my last visit).nice comfy bed, nice tv, and you cant hear any noise from other rooms. even during more preferrable times of years this hotels rates are pretty decent. i reccommend this hotel for anyone. you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yankees2009champs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel is extremely clean with very friendly, helpful staff. The room is small, but this is Manhattan. It met our needs. Also, I appreciated the fitness room and the breakfast was very acceptable. I thought the coffee was fine, while my wife went out for coffee. Most important this hotel is central. It is located a short walk to Amtrak station and we even walked down to Union Square & Trader Joe's. I would definitely recommend it and plan to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

The room was small but clean and most important the price was right. Empire State Building is right around the corner. Macy's, JCPenney, Madison Square Garden, several Korean restaurants, Chipotle, McDonalds, Taco etc are all in walking distance. There is a bakery around the corner so we stopped by to get bread and snack. Breakfast is included but was ok.

The sightseeing double decker bus makes stops at Macys and Empire S.B. so we didn't take the subway. We got off at Macys and walked back to the hotel.

I'd stay here again mainly for the location and the price. The small room doesn't bother me at all. We were out all day and by the time we returned it was only to sleep.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Kachandayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The room was VERY small but took care of our needs at the best possible price. Located in walking distance from attractions. Only a block to the Empire State building. We had a great view of it from the roof top bar. Lots of great restaurants in the area. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACEphoto09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Location was awesome, walking distance to Times Square, Central Park and other landmarks.
The continental breakfast was good. The beds where amazing, very comfortable.
Not a lot of bells and whistles but for the money it was great.
We enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmunoz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Although the location is really good (just a street lower than the Empire State B, around the block from Herald Square and on what they call Korean Ave - lostuv Korean restaurants), the hotel was a big letdown.
Room 213 -- Really small room in the corner near very noisy AC units right outside the window.
WORSE - I specifically requested a well ventilated room due to my wife's alergy problems. The room was a smoking room I think (at least it smelled that way) and it wasn't cleaned form the previous guest. The sheets weren't changed and everything smelt like cigarrete smoke.
The only reason we didn't ask for a change was because we were so tired and had to wake up early.

Room Tip: don't get 213 and better off higher than the 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear SteveMadrid,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our rooms are about average size for hotel rooms in Manhattan, but there is some variation in size. We can assure you that all rooms are cleaned thoroughly between guests and all the sheets are changed. If you felt the room wasn’t cleaned to your liking we could have cleaned it again or moved you to a different room. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.
The majority of our guests are very happy with their stay. In addition to the location they enjoy the overall value and customer service they receive. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#313 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#376 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing