We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Ranked #290 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Jacksonville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

New York City is expensive. There is just no getting around that. Hotels are routinely over $200 a night for a room slightly larger than a match box. And, if you are lucky enough to find a room for less than $200, it is likely you will have to share a bathroom or be relegated to an out-of-the-way location or poor service. It is for these reasons that I was pleasantly surprised to find the La Quinta Inn Manhattan a welcome breath of fresh air in a city not necessarily known for its clean air.

Located in the middle of bustling Korea Town on West 32nd Street, this hotel reminds me more of a nice boutique property rather than a part of a larger chain. The lobby is clean, modern and refreshingly cool when the temperatures outside soar. There is a concierge desk to help with sight-seeing and show tickets and a couple of computers for guest use. Its not grand on any scale, but it is cozy.

The front desk attendants were especially helpful in getting us checked-in quickly with a welcoming smile and offer to help with our bags. Once squared away we zipped up to our 5th floor room to refresh before heading out to dinner and a show.

The room was small, but very well appointed. The hotel has obviously gone out of its way to look like more than a run-of-the-mill chain with rich colors and local photography hanging on its walls. The large HD television -- with actual HD channels -- was nice, too. The bathroom was too small for more than one person at a time to use, but that was not a problem for us.

Our room overlooked busy 32nd Street and, yes, there was noise from below. But, it is New York City -- the city that never sleeps -- so, what do you expect. After a long day of sight-seeing we were too tired to care and slept comfortably on the temperpedic beds.

If I have one gripe about the hotel it was the free breakfast. The breakfast room was crowded and the food was sub-par. We decided to forgo the whole thing and grab pastries from one of the several bakeries on the same block. Also, if food is your thing, there was a charming outdoor food market in a little park at the entrance to the subway and many Korean restaurants, pubs and fast food eateries close by.

As far as transportation goes, the hotel is located a half of a block from the nearest subway station and we were able to get to times Square in less than 15 minutes. Cabs were plentiful as well and Uber cars are just a smartphone click away.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend in the city. For three nights, including taxes we spent about $600. Not at all unreasonable for the location and quality of accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mwisdom562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    1,211
    407
    132
    155
See reviews for
611
938
193
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montville, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located near Herald Square and a subway. We made our reservation thru booking.com and had a request that wasn't sent thru. Thankfully I had a print out of the request and the hotel met our needs. The Rooftop bar was small but fun and the continental breakfast was chock full of many choices.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great location! Very Clean! We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2014 and feel we made a great choice. Only negative was closet was musty and made clothes smell musty so I just hung clothes on chair or doorknob. Price was less than $200 on weeknights. From appearances not on best street but Hotel was almost hidden among little shops - we were pleasantly surprised. We expected it to be small and it was but we were only in room to sleep. Nice big TV with writing desk. Plenty of towels, shampoo & soap. Hotel was well maintained and clean. About 3 blocks from Empire State Building, Macy's, etc. Continental breakfast was good and roof top bar was nice spot though not really a cafe' as advertised. When we were there it had a great jazz band - we hung out for a little while and then went out to dinner. Only view was Empire State building and other buildings but got some nice photos we could have gotten anywhere else. Had to walk or take cab for decent place for dinner however there was a nice mom/pop sandwich shop around the corner & within walking distance.

Room Tip: Close to Empire state building and 3 blocks from subway station. Very clean but closet musty
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGarrett52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel is good for value in NYC as I think it has recently undergone some upgrading. Everything in the room looks new and it smells good! Small little things like allowing luggage to be kept after check out and free use of internet in the lobby make a big difference to our stay. Breakfast is complimentary and is adequate to start the day with some toast, bagels, hard-boiled eggs/scrambled eggs, yoghurt, fruits and coffee. Do note that breakfast area will be crowded after 8am or so. Hotel is located in a superb location, about 500m away from Penn Station which we used to get to the hotel from the airport. There are plenty of eating (Kyochon offers superb garlic chicken wings!) and shopping options around the hotel. We will stay in this hotel again if we return to NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffrey080877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

really enjoyed our 8 nights stay here very clean, constant good housekeeping, large choice of breakfast, In walking distance to time square and most major streets actually only about 20min lovely walk to central park........
only downside was its a family hotel but you cant take your children to the rooftop to look at scenery and empire state building lit up at night because theres a bar up there and children are not allowed and second thing our room was opposite a lift and all we heard all night was beeping from every floor it passed up and down, apart from those two minor things i would deffo use again ( but not have a room next to lift ) x

Room Tip: dont sleep opposite a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesleypete4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is located right in the middle of Ktown, which is an awesome location. The best Korean bbq restaurant in Ktwon is right next door (New Wonjo), and rooftop bar has great view of the Empire state building. We got a king bed on the 3rd floor which was key to avoid the elevators. The room was very basic and small but it was clean and at least the mattress was extremely comfortable, and with free wifi. The breakfast is nothing to write home about.
By far best aspect of this hotel is location and price (for NYC) as long as you don't spend much time in the room. Those two alone make it worth staying here.

Room Tip: Low floor is key to avoid having to use the elevator. Street-facing room is not as loud as others m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 798El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a well over due review. I stayed here last year and booked for two nights but ended up leaving after one. While I was here the door to my room never opened and I had to get someone to open it every time I wised to entre. This was extremely annoying and time consuming. There was no resolving the issue by moving me to another room or anything like that, I got no money back for checking out a night early either.

In saying all that the staff were very nice and the rooms were quite clean. The location is also very good with the subway not far.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#321 of 467 in New York City
2,711 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#367 of 467 in New York City
164 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#309 of 467 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#308 of 467 in New York City
1,611 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#287 of 467 in New York City
3,495 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#243 of 467 in New York City
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#199 Family Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing