We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth stopping for breakfast”

Mountain Gate Family Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Thurmont
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redding, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not worth stopping for breakfast”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stopped at Mountaingate for the breakfast buffet. We figured you can't really mess up a breakfast buffet, but this was the worst meal I have ever had. Half the buffet line was made up of purchased pastries that were still in their packaging. They were cold and tasted stale. The other half of the buffet consisted of standard breakfast foods: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast. It was all cold! The juice was self serve and they had what I would equate to disposable bathrooms cups for you to use. Not worth the price - not even worth half the price!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Outdoorsy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    58
    41
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bus Driver--Trip 6/7/2014”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a family owned and operated restaurant with the main focus of feeding many people good quality food in short periods of time. Yes, there is a renovation going on and no sign saying something like "Please Excuse the Mess". If you are looking for atmosphere and explanations, you will not find it at this down home kind of eatery. If you are hungry for good food, then you found the right place. Deserts to die for with wholesome main courses. Personally, I like to begin with the salad bar. It is well planned and delicious. Plain non-alcohol drinks are served by very attentive waitresses. They offer personalized sliced Steamship Round Roast Beef, Pork and Turkey.REAL mashed potatoes, not out of a box, or freezer. Much more.
This fare is for the hungry traveler who wants good food and lots of it. There is only one person to blame if you go away hungry....you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It Was Ok”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Finished our Washington DC bus tour here. It was ok. One could see that the restaurant was in the process of remodeling. There were no signs explaining the remodeling. Just junk on floor and primed-over wallpaper. The restaurant looked old. The buffet had a great selection of food. Didn't get refills of tea. Not impressed with restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank QSKSHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I Question the High Reviews”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I went there with a friend of mine, and I was all excited because I love buffets, and I must say the food was terrible!! Definitely not worth the money, and this is coming from a professional food critic. Also, the building itself is in bad sharp with boxes all over the place and it wasn't a pleasant place to be. The beans were good, but that's about it. This restaurant would greatly benefit from Restaurant Impossible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RestaurantCritic347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurmont
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great Buffet. Fried Chicken is the best around. On any given day there are always fresh hot and cold foods on the buffet. Many desserts to choose from also. Staff is nice. Atmosphere is country. Nice selection of items/souvenirs to buy in the entrance way.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TracyBMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Gate Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Gate Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing