We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rude, rude rude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pryor's Orchard

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pryor's Orchard
Ranked #11 of 14 things to do in Thurmont
Attraction details
brnswick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“rude, rude rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

we showed up at 5:26 to pick a pint of blueberries, they close at 6. the young girl working never looked up. i had to say excuse me how does the pick your own work...she said we close in fifteen minutes as she looked at the clock. i said you mean a half an hour ...she said you have to be out of here at ten of and walked away, still not yet making any eye contact or saying hello...nothing. as she walked away i said what do we put the blueberries in, she mumbled something about where between the ribbons to pick and walked away again (the patch is right outside the building with signs that clearly say 'pick here') ...i decided to leave saying this is such a negative place i don't want your blueberries, and as i walked out could hear her mumbling what she thought of my reply. to top it off i drove forty five minutes to get here and had my kid with me.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank jmph9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nasty Staff member ruined our visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We always look forward to our annual trip to Pryor's but this year our day was ruined by an inattentive and down right nasty staff member who couldn't be bothered to answer our questions and even resorted to mocking us by overtly reading us the wall signs describing the apples and muttering under her breath

Maybe we just caught them on a bad day but customers don't come easy and a bit more effort to make them feel welcome would go a long way.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank GV27OCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Apples for the Winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

On a recent road trip to Thurmont, MD we stopped at Pryor's. We love the people who work there. There are very helpful and knowledgeable. Last year we were given advice to keep our apples in a cooler in the garage for the winter and we had apples for the winter! They even let you test out if the fruit is to your liking. Be sure to take one of their flyers to see which fruit they have in season. They were very busy on this visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rtchur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

They always have good produce, and the their peaches and apples are fabulous. Visit them often. Corn is usually good but you can't look at it before buying.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“FRESH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

love the freshness of their fruits, can't get much better very friendly staff & great prices

Helpful?
1 Thank DarleneM1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pryor's Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing