We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Improving with new management” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peking Palace

Peking Palace
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Thurmont
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Thurmont, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Improving with new management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

There has been a recent management change at the restaurant so quality of the food has improved. Will reserve a higher rating until I have eaten there more often. Didn't like the previous quality of the food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“New Owners - Now Just an Average Chinese Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

A year or so ago this restaurant changed ownership - I went with family and friends about 5x and I am sad to report that this restaurant is now just another average Chinese restaurant. Now the best Chinese in Thurmont is Simply Asia - more money, but better food and experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roonwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good portions tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I always get the same sweet and sour pork or chicken if you dine in the portions seem larger plus you get soup the wonton soup is good my food is always hot tasty and fresh and the prices are fair.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodude87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Some dishes Excellent - Some Need work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Kung Pow Chicken and Schezwan Shrimp were Excellent! However, our favorite part of enjoying a Chinese meal is the Egg Roll and WonTon Soup but it was very disappointing, along with the Sauce for the Egg. I would suggest new recipes for those.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kytraveling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dirty restrooms - greasy food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

I am sorry I trusted Trip Advisor. Should have gone toShamrock. They also use MSG. I ordered egg foo yumg. Little egg and meat . Sauce was terrible. And soooo greasy .

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MitziMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peking Palace also viewed

 

Been to Peking Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing