We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Zion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ripon, WI
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Zion”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Comfort Inn while visiting national parks in Utah. While a previous bad experience with hotels in this chain led us to avoid them for several years, our experience here changed that. The staff was friendly and helpful, allowing us to check in early and providing maps for area restaurants. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet, the latter being a surprise as there was major road construction outside. Breakfast was excellent and the location, right off Interstate 15, was extremely convenient. We will be looking for Comfort Inns in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillW611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear BillW611,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We at Choice hotels like to provide the same experience no matter what hotel you stay at. We have made more improvements since your last stay, most recent addition was new and comfy beds, so come back and join us again, then be sure to ask our friendly and knowledgeable staff, about some of the other local attractions as well. Again thank you for your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank You,
David S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    132
    54
    20
    16
See reviews for
149
168
33
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

On the good side, our room was spacious and in good condition. The staff was quite polite. The breakfast was well above what you might expect in terms of choices and amounts. On the bad side, the hotel seems to be intentionally understaffed (example: front desk clerk also staffs breakfast room, apparently alone). When we had Wi-Fi problems (able to connect to router fine, but continual Internet interruptions), we got the runaround from the front desk clerk (e.g. I'll reset the router) over and over. Not fixed. Next day, same thing. Considering the hotel's 100% satisfaction guarantee, asked to speak with the manager (who was offsite). Ultimately spoke with him onsite and it was a painful conversation (e.g. "You have a 100% satisfaction guarantee, the Internet didn't work, I am not satisfied.") He seemed a bit flummoxed over what to do. I ultimately suggested a refund of the $25 pet fee we had paid, to which he readily agreed. Ten days later that refund had yet to be processed and probably never will be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesaver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maulik V, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy schedule and giving us feedback about your stay. I absolutely remember you and the whole issue, since you were the only one had connectivity problems with our internet service. I was also the one who helped you on the day of your check out. I requested to let me help you by troubleshooting your laptop, since you were the only one person who could not get the internet connection, but you refused to do so. You said you were trying to connect the phone as well. I was using the wifi on the same network at same time we were talking and it was functioning absolutely perfect.
Your room was also booked by the third party travel company and not directly with us. We absolutely have 100% satisfaction guarantee at Comfort Inn if we could not fix the problem, but you never gave us a chance to fix the problem. Your room was booked on Priceline, and you were trying to use Comfort Inn's 100% satisfaction guarantee policy. So I was trying to figure out how to compensate you for the inconvenience you had and did not allow us to fix it. And at the same time you immediately suggested to have your pet fees waived, and I agreed promptly.
On the other side, I am so glad you liked our hotel. Our staff is well trained for multitasking. Our staff members often perform more than one job duties. I thank you again for giving us an honest feedback, but I can assure you that your next trip will be more comfortable if you give us enough time to fix the problem and not wait till the morning.
We hope to see you soon on your next trip. Thank you kindly.

Maulik V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Well worth staying here. It was quite surprising to find a room this nice for the price. We have stayed at ritzier places not this well set up. Breakfast was good and fresh. Definitely will be coming back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelerdave007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maulik V, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for writing us amazing review. We are so glad to know that your stay with us was comfortable. Our location is perfect for Shakespearean festival or even to visit Bryce and Zion national parks. Currently, due to the construction around our area, there has been a bit of inconvenience for our guests to find their way to our hotel. But it will be over soon.
We want to thank you again for choosing us for your lodging needs. We will see you again soon on your next tip to Cedar City.

Maulik V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised that they had a perfect arrangement for three of us. We had two connected rooms, one with a balcony, that shared one bath. Wonderful arrangement for us and just a little more than the cost of one room. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave17411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear Dave,
Thank you so much for your review of the hotel, We do everything in our power to accommodate every type of client. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Thank You kindly,
David S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Glen, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

As I entered the lobby I was greeted with a big smile! Great vibe! Front desk person was CHILL, NOT uptight and fake! As I went down and read each review, I thought...."God, these people need to get a life, pick up a hobby or get some sense!" They complain about nothing! If you don't want to spend money, don't travel, if you want better rooms, there's the Marriot, Hilton, etc. If you're animal allergic, don't stay at a pet friendly facility, buy your own breakfast if you don't like what you see, don't come in with an attitude if you want outstanding service. These are only employees that are doing their best. As a manager of my business, I say to the manager of Comfort Inn....let your staff talk and defend themselves, customers are wrong most of the time. I felt really bad experiencing a nasty woman yelling at the front desk clerk just because the coffee wasn't strong....GO TO STARBUCKS STUPID HAG! Thank you Ash for outstanding service and thank you for keeping us safe, night security Kim and the chef Amy thank you for the food! Next time I come through, whip me up some steak and over easy eggs. You all rock! Don't listen to most of the idiots that come and go you all have beautiful smiles and great teamwork. Kudos to the maids! You have great staff Mr. Manager!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GodsAhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I must tell you, it is enlightening to hear such a positive review. There is nothing we appreciate more than an honest opinion of our property. Each staff member does their absolute best to provide for each guest, as some are more particular than others. I am most happy to hear that you appreciate and notice our hard working staff. Our manager, Mauilk, works very hard and takes his job seriously. Our cleaning staff and cooking staff do the best they can to provide for everyone and to keep up with the cleanliness of the rooms and to keep the hot breakfast hot and the cold breakfast cold.

Our hotel is a great hotel and we take pride in what we provide for our guests! Again, we thank you for giving an honest review of our hotel, it is refreshing to hear each and every time that what we do is appreciated and that we are meeting the expectations of our valued guests! Please come stay with us again soon, as it seems you had quite a nice visit!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
242 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I really like Choice Hotels' suites. They are modern, clean, spacious, and comfortable. This one is no exception. Breakfast was also as expected which was totally acceptable. The breakfast could be improved, however, if the scrambled eggs weren't so "granular" (small pieces that are hard to balance on the small, plastic forks).

Note: I rode my bike down Main St (turning left out of the parking lot). It was among the best rides I've ever had on public roads. (I've ridden in 27 states.) The shoulders are huge and smooth. The drivers and courteous. I rode all the way through town onto the highway where the speed limit is 55mph for a total ride of 30 miles. Fantastic!.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Rick,

It sounds like your trip to Cedar City was quite an active one! We always like to hear that our guests enjoy themselves in the city and in our hotel. We are happy that you have remained pleased with the Choice Hotels brand!

We hear often that our hotel is conveniently located between many popular tourist sites so there is always plenty of activity going on around town.

We appreciate you taking time to leave a positive, honest review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for one night last week. Upon entering the room late, the air was stifling despite the fact the AC appeared to running. Setting said 70 but that was impossible - cranked it down to 67 and after 5 minutes could hear compressor kick in. Things improved some but this thing must have been on it's last legs. Decided to hang in there and hope for the best ... woke up at 2:00 AM, kicked off covers and slept on top of the sheets for the rest of the night. Not what I expect from a $110/night place.

The salt in the wound over this whole thing was that, upon checkout, we requested the manager to re-do the bill using our AAA discount (didn't have our AAA number when we checked in but found it in the morning). They said "sorry ... it's impossible to change it now". Not feeling the greatest after the hot night I called the main Comfort Inn customer service (Select Inns?) about it. They say they have no control over this since the place we stayed is locally owned and operated. So no remedy there - In this day and age, how hard is it re-bill a person at checkout? I'm certain that a re-billing would have been possible had a towel been missing that I would have to pay for.

Also, this is another place that will scam you on a "safe fee" in the room. The fee is purposely set at $1.50/night which obviously isn't enough for a person to get into a bind over. On principal, make sure and tell them you refuse to pay this fee if you haven't used the safe (hopefully before checkout). Reminds of flying on Spirit Airlines where they charge you for every little thing.

Bottom line is OK ... Comfort Inn you win and got an extra $11.50 from me for this stay but I will never stay in another one again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear Pete,

Hello my name is David, I am the guest relations manager, at the Comfort Inn, Cedar City, Utah. I would like to apologize for the many inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. I would like to assure you that we have improved many things over the last year, to make a clients stay more comfortable. We do apologize for the safe fee, that is a recurring charge that the computer automatically puts in. As the manager had said, without an act of congress it would have been very hard to change the bill if your room was booked through an online portal.
Thank You kindly,
David S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
1.8 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 22 in Cedar City
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Address: 1288 S Main St, Cedar City, UT 84720-3733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cedar City
#3 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#4 Green Hotel in Cedar City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 15, just two miles from Southern Utah University, home of the Utah Shakespearean Festival each summer and fall. This Cedar City, UT hotel is minutes from the Heritage Center, featuring the Heritage Theater, the Festival Hall Convention Center, the Cedar City Art Gallery and 45 minutes from summer and ski activities at Brian Head Resort.Several shopping areas and entertainment options are close to our hotel. Many national parks are in the area. Various specialty restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the vicinity.As a guest of our Cedar City, UT hotel, you'll enjoy amenities and features like:•Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free local calls•Exercise roomYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!After a long day of meetings or an exciting day sightseeing, relax in our indoor heated pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Cedar City
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City Hotel Cedar City
Comfort Inn Cedar City
Cedar City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing