We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Careful Booking Online!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Careful Booking Online!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked our five day stay in August online. We were definitely budget travelers on this trip, and there are cheaper hotels in Cedar City, but this price seemed like it would afford a little more quality and my mother wanted the advertised extra sitting area in the two bed room we selected.

While checking out we noticed a statement that the credit card we were putting on file would be charged before we got there. We intended to pay with cash and were using my debit card that contained only a few hundred dollars of spending money for the trip, so we called the hotel before submitting. Instead of booking us over the phone the woman I spoke to told me to continue with the online transaction. She said she would write down that we were paying cash and prevent the charge to the card on her computer.

We arrived very late the first night of our trip and were tired- we took out our money to pay for the trip and were informed the credit card had already been charged. The front desk worker at this time was nice enough, but did little to help. I had to spend hours on the phone with a third party correcting their mistake. I also lost money to overdraft fees because they had charged more than I had on the card. There is also no sitting space in any of their two bed rooms- they were at least nice enough to give us a discount since we had paid more for our lack of sitting space. Looking at other reviews I've noticed that I am not the only person to have problems with this hotel when it comes to booking online.

That aside, there was a list of issues that would have been dismissible alone, but altogether and combined with our booking fiasco made this an unpleasant experience:

- Within thirty seconds of arriving in the room, our Pomeranian found and tried to eat a prescription pain pill that was lying out on the floor. We then searched and found several screws on the floor as well.

- Stained carpet and lampshade

- Door lock was broken with an imprint of the missing piece on a nearby piece of the wall (was this door kicked in?)

- Garbages in place where we took the dog out were overflowing when we arrived and never emptied during our five day stay.

- Vending machines were out of everything but Diet Coke for the entire stay.

- Received no room service on one of the days

-Wi-fi is TERRIBLE. Had to turn wi-fi off on my phone to get anything done. After three days of frustration we called to the desk and were informed that the wi-fi would be slow because a bus load had just checked in. When we explained it hadn't worked before either we were told there was nothing they could do.

- HBO in our room was only audio.

- Cleaned garbage and leaves out of the pool myself in order to use it.

That said, the pool is nice when clean and the location was convenient for our trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don O, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for choosing the ABVI in Cedar City. Let me clarify what happens when ever you register and use your Credit Card or Debit Card. The Card is checked to make sure there are enough funds for the stay. Your bank will then hold those funds aside for 7 to 10 business days until the actual charge arrives at the bank. At our place if you pay by cash at check in we will get a $1 authorization for incidentals. Mentioning that you intend on paying cash will result in the Front Desk Clerk advising you of the funds that will be held. The sign on the Desk is designed to be of assistance, hopefully this enlightened everyone. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Don Oswald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
37
29
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cross Lanes, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent experience!!!! Staff was very friendly. Quite location and close to many restaurants. .............................................................................................................................

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don O, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you very much for the great review and for your stay. We appreciate your business. Hope to see you again soon.
Don Oswald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

No one will come here for the gourmet breakfast buffet (low quality bread and doughnuts, a couple of juices and extremely weak coffee) or the luxurious bath products (no conditioner, really?), but if you're looking for luxury, you're at the wrong price point. This motel provided all the features that I find essential: it was clean (enough-- the carpets probably should be replaced), it was quiet, the climate control worked, the staff were competent and friendly, my dog was welcome and the beds were comfortable. The fridge and microwave were a pleasant surprise. I am perfectly satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirandamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don O, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for choosing us. You're right our Continental Breakfast is very simple, it is slightly more than our competitors offer, but that is it. Our guests do receive a 20% discount at the Dennys next door. Thanks again for your business. Hope to see you again soon.
Don Oswald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel was dirty - floors had not been vacuumed. We paid extra to have a cat room where the cats could not get under the bed but the bed was so poorly constructed, there was lots of room for her to get under it. We had to lift the entire bed frame up to get her and we found dirty old underwear, papertowels, business cards and old food stuff under the bed. We had 2 beds and under the other bed was just as bad. As well, the sheets had some old stains on them and were paper thin as were the towels. The next night we stayed at a different hotel and it cost us $15 more and was a world of difference. Never will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don O, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. I wish you had reported this just as soon as possible we possibly could have move you to another room or we would have refunded you back and let you go someplace else. Sorry again.
Don Oswald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cedar City hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We saw a sign in front of the hotel that read $44.99. When we inquired inside, she said "oh, that's for one person...$5.00 more for 2 people". We stayed. We thought $50.00 or less is a great price for a hotel room, though we didn't like the misrepresentation of the price out in front. I also saw another sign that flashes pictures of an appeasing breakfast (no real breakfast was offered...there was something on a ledge of a window and a coffee pot). The room was fine, we asked the woman behind the counter if the room has a "comfy" chair we had been driving in the car since Nebraska and were tired and sore. She said she didn't know, all she knew is that all rooms had a chair, what kind, she didn't know. The room had a small sofa (good enough). There was also a micro/fridge and a flat screen TV. We had a upstairs room (we asked for one on the first floor so we wouldn't have to lug our suitcase and cooler up the staircase), but she said that there weren't any available. So we lugged. The next morning we were awakened by thump, thump, thump, thump. What was that? Our room was next to the staircase so that was the sound of people leaving thumping their suitcase behind them. Again, this place is fine. Being woke up really early by the thumping was annoying and offering very little (if any????) breakfast (which was falsely advertised on a sign) and the misrepresentation of the price is the reason for the 3 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChgotoCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don O, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for staying with us, we appreciate your business.
Don Oswald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this location while we were on a road trip. Immediately we felt we weren't safe because it was obvious the inside lock had been kicked in before and was broken. Also my boyfriend cut his ankle on 2 bed frame boards that were potruding from the bed (we have a pic of this). The amenities that were advertised were not working: HBO and Internet access. We called repeatedly about the Internet not working and did not get any help. Also the shower had no pressure at all and didn't even shoot outward just down. We had to hug the wall and faucet to shower. After contacting ABVI about this, we heard from their general manager, who sent an insulting email saying his staff never received any complaint and that we "moved the bed" and that was the reason the board was sticking out. Absurd. Do not waste your time at this place.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyweigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don O, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
I really can't believe that you would send in a bad review after I made you the offer of a 50% refund or a free night in the future. So much for trying to be fair. And yes, your Credit Card was credited back yesterday.
Don Oswald
Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for three nights in February. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. House- keeping needs some management; room was not vacuumed well upon arrival and was not vacuumed AT ALL during our three nights stay, refrigerator ice -packed, vent in bath was dirty, and one bed out of two was strangely left unmade, replacing tissues would be nice too. The comp-B-fast was minimal, but Denny's is next door. This place could be much better if they tightened up the ship here.

Room Tip: If you want the free donuts get there early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnoldb1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don O, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate the business. I am going to use your comments for our next Housekeeping staff meeting. I agree they need to get better or I need to find replacements. Thank for your input. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Cedar City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knights Inn Cedar City
Knights Inn Cedar City
#17 of 22 in Cedar City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
M-Star Cedar City
M-Star Cedar City
#8 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
0.2 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 333 North 1100 West, I-15 at exit 59, Cedar City, UT 84721-4387 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cedar City
Cedar City Econo Lodge
Econolodge Cedar City
Americas Best Value Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing