We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat”

Dixie National Forest
Book In Advance
More Info
US$199.99*
and up
Day Trip to Zion National Park from Las Vegas
Ranked #3 of 32 things to do in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A two-million acre national forest replete with natural wonders, "The Dixie" has deep canyons, fascinating rock formations, mountains, lakes and towering ponderosa pines. Visitors can hike, fish, camp or simply immerse themselves in the natural beauty.
Valrico, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A treat”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Drove through as we visited Panguitch Lake and Cedar Breaks. You will find some very picturesque views and such a variety of landscapes from rock, to lava, cedar/birch mixed woods, streams flowing from the lake through lush grasslands, as well as the lake. It is extremely quiet and worth some time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank edge8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    67
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL DRIVE - MORE BRISTLECONES”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I took the drive on 14 from Cedar City, east. This drive is amazing. You go through the forest and you can go up to Cedar Breaks from here. There are lots of places to stop and take a little hike, or a big hike. We saw lots of deer and plenty of birds along the way. I did the hike at the Cedar Breaks Visitor Center up to see some Bristlecones. But, there is an even easier, shorter walk to more Bristlecones in this forest. It's a 10 minute - flat ground walk to these (the ones at Cedar Breaks is a little long and more strenuous). Get a map anywhere and look for the Bristlecone Trail. There's a small parking area and when you get to the trees, there's a nice boardwalk (for safety) to overlook the trees. Take the opportunity to see these beautiful, ancient trees! You will be glad you did.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanab, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't take your motorhome to Duck Creek Campground!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Dixie National Forest is beautiful. Especially the area around Bryce Canyon. But if you happen to be traveling in a motor home or trailer and heading west on Hwy 14 past Duck Creek Village on your way to Cedar City, DON'T stop to fill-up with water and dump your tanks. The camp-hosts are the rudest and most unhelpful hosts I've ever met at any National Forest Park. Keep heading into Cedar City and use the dump sites there. It's only 30 miles further and you won't receive the treatment I did.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stormy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We camped at the King's Creek Campground in Dixie, which was such a nice change after being stuck in RV parks. This is a real campground in the forest. It was lovely. The bathrooms were clean. At night we went out to the boat put-in area on the lake and layed down and looked at the stars. It was magical and awesome to be outside the touristy area and just hang out in nature.

The campground is about 5 miles down a dirt road off the main road to Bryce. We had an SUV so it was fine. We used it as a base camp to explore Bryce and it worked really well. The campground was really cheap too - I think $13 per night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful but Route 14 is treachorous!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

More of a warning than a review lol. Beautiful alpine forest but don't take the Route 14 at night. I was advised this was a 'slower but more scenic way' to Cedar City from Bryce. IF someone had said, the road climbs up to 10,000 ft, has sheer cliff falls on both sides, snowey, pitch black, 20 degrees, and nothing up there, I wouldn't have done it during the day, let alone after dark.... One of the most terrifying experiences of my life, so don't drive across it lightly unless you are specifically seeing the sights up there, lower parts of the forest and campgrounds looked very nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank azur_skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixie National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Dixie National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing