We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd stay here again!!”
Review of Abbey Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The hotel is a little dated, but has been renovated. Nice indoor pool/hot tub that was very clean. There is also a nice outdoor patio attached to the indoor pool where you can tan. The bed was comfortable, but some people may find it too soft. The pillows were very thick. If you like a flatter pillow, you may not like these. Nice large screen t.v. The bathroom toiletries were really nice from Bath and Body. Breakfast was very good, not the usual continental breakfast. They had waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, cereals, fruit, different juices and coffee. We also learned the rooms are a bit cheaper during the weekend versus a weekday. Not sure why, but we were happy to get a cheaper rate. We'd definately stay here again. The front desk staff were awesome. Very curteous and helpful in suggesting places to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruiselover801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

We are happy that you liked the Abbey Inn. I am ont sure why your rate was lower on the weekend than the weekday, except that we have been running a promotion. Sometimes our staff will lower the rate because of availability. Nevertheless, that can be a good thing!
We were Built in 1992 and have very concientious owners, who update our properties, constantly. We are ALWAYS in transition. We hope that each time you stay with us, you will find something new! We will work on that outdated look.
Thank you for saying with us and thank you for your wonderful comments.
We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

This is a wonderful hotel! We were traveling from Colorado to San Diego, when we spent our one traveling night in Cedar City at the Abbey Inn. I had researched it and made an advance reservation due to our late arrival. We are very particular about where we stay but need to stay on a budget. It was immaculately clean, the room was attractive and the beds/pillows were heavenly! It was quiet also. We got a great night's sleep which is important when traveling long distances in a car. And such a bargain! Thank you Abbey Inn!!! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horseplay-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

We agree that it can be pretty scary, when traveling and staying in unknown places. Tripadvisor is a great place to research lodging. We are so grateful that our guests can go to Tripadvisor and find us. It is guests, like yourself, who have commented here, that have made it easy to find a great place to lay their head.
Thank you for staying with us, Thank you for the positive comments, on Tripadvisor. Your remarks are sure to help other guests, who have not stayed with us, to make the decision to visit the Abbey Inn in Cedar City. We are very happy that your stay was a great one!
Please come and see us, again, when you stop through our great town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed at the Abbey in mid-June. Room cost $102 with tax. There was urine down the side of the stool, hair left in the bathroom floor, white stain on bed cover that very much should have been removed before renting the room out and chocolate-looking stains in an occasional chair in the room. The tubs look like they need hard water and/or yellowed crud cleaned from them. Beyond that, this motel offers the amenities most look for. Our bed was clean and comfy which is most important to me. Can't say this was a good value based on the price and the lack of cleanliness here!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozark_hillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

We apologize for the bad experience, you had, with us. This is not the usual way our staff coducts its self. Obviously, we need to train our staff, much better. If you have read the comments, the Abbey Inn has received, this is so uncharacteristic of us. It is extremely sad, that you left our proprety, thinking that this is the condition we leave out rooms.
We take pride in the fact that we are very diligent in maintaining a clean, attractive property. I hope you will contact me, so we can resolve this.
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My Wife and I travel a lot and we had never been to Utah before. We wanted to visit Bryce canyon and Zion National park so we were dependant upon reviews from other travels on this site. Abbey Inn got great reviews and now we know why.

First off, it is very easy to get to, and very accessable to both parks.

The hotel offered a breakfast each morning, complimentary. This was not just danish and coffee, there were scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, bagles, the works. A very nice breakfast that would have cost an easy $10 a person anywhere else.

The room was very clean, king size bed, also very comfortable. The staff recommended a local restaurant which was superb as well and very reasonable.

My only negative was their hot tub was way too hot in the pool area, but that said, I still feel it was a tremendous bargain for the price. A hot tub is not going to make me change my opinion of a place one way or the other, just wanted to mention it.

On a scale from one to ten, I would give the Abbey Inn a "10"

We will definately go back when we take the grandchildren to the parks next year

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ItChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

We like to think we are a hidden gem. We would like to get that information out there!. Your comments are so great. Thank you for helping us spread the word! We look forward to your visit with the Grandkids!
We have had some problems with the hot tub, but have them fixed now. I am happy that you haven't let that keep you from us. Sometimes there are glitches along the way. We strive to correct them so that they won't happen to you, again.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We found the Abbey Inn through TA and the other reviews are spot on. Stayed for three nights. Nice comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. Very friendly staff that are more than willing to help with any request. Housekeeping was great. Good breakfasts in a little house at the end of the property. Indoor pool and hot tub felt great after long days hiking. Spa jets were not working while we were there, but it felt good to sit in the hot tub anyway. Would stay here again if we are out that way!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlTravel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Thank you, for the great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself. It is such a boost to hear such positive remarks. My staff works very hard to maintain the Abbey inn, in the best possible way. Our goal is to make the Abbey Inn, your home away from home. We hope we made this happen for you.
As far as the hot tub problems, it seems things always break on holidays or weekends when no one is around to fix it. But we have the jets working now! Hurray!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Car trouble heading back to Nevada, tow truck driver recommended this place. Desk clerk was awesome, very helpful and got us checked in quickly. Rooms were beautiful, clean, great amenities like coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, huge TV.

Indoor swimming pool kept 6 kids occupied as we dealt with the car repairs. Housekeeping and Front Desk very patient and helpful as we had to ask for a later checkout waiting for car assistance.

I would definitely stay in this motel again, it was truly awesome.

Oh, and the free breakfast was a nice added bonus. And the high speed FREE internet was invaluable allowing us to continue working while waiting for help.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awesomeadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Our whole staff was worried about you and your family. Nothing is worse than being out of town, with a broken car, in an unfamiliar area, with only a hope and a prayer that you can get home soon. Thank you, for the kind remarks about our staff. We are very happy that we were able to help you with whatever you needed.
We hope that your next stay with us will be for pleasure, only!
It is nice that you found your way to us, even if it was for a bad situation, so we were the people that were able to take good care of you. See you again, another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

After a rather disappointing B&B stay in town this hotel was really great. We stayed for 3 nights in two different king size rooms and were very comfortable. The heated pool was great, the hot-tub needs some maintenance. The breakfast was above the run of the mill and nicely served in a separate remodeled house. The exercise room had the right equipment for us. Everything at this property was very clean and tidy, including the laundry room. We appreciated that they let us use a coupon rate for three nights.

Room Tip: Find a coupon book and try to get that rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Thank you!!! Your comments and thoughts mean a great deal to us. We are very happy that your stay was a good one. We apologize for the problems you had with the spa. We have looked into it and are finding a solution to fix it. Please come back and see us, again. We strive to improve our property and appreciate the comments and ideas we receive from our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 23 in Cedar City
442 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar City
Hampton Inn Cedar City
#9 of 23 in Cedar City
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn & Suites

Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range: £65 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Inn hotel located in Cedar City, Utah is conveniently located between Zion National Park and Cedar Breaks National monument. We proudly offer 83 new luxurious rooms & suites each complete with cable television with HD channels and free high-speed Internet access. Each morning we have a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet including scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy, potatoes, and so much more. Additional amenities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, fully equipped exercise facility, 42 inch flat panel TV, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee Maker, and Iron/Ironing board. Our staff will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Abbey Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn & Suites Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing