We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very comfortable place”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We spent eight nights at the Abbey Inn in Cedar City while visiting relatives there. The room was good sized, clean and comfortable. The hot breakfast was excellent, and I enjoyed both the swimming pool (good sized) and the exercise room. We did not like the noise associated with the small refrigerator in the room, and complained after the first night. The manager came up herself with a maintenance person, discovered the problem, and fixed it immediately. This was excellent service. I really enjoyed this motel and will frequent it again on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
We are so happy, you chose the Abbey Inn, for your lengthy stay. We have a mission statement which states that we want this to be your home away from home. I am hopeful that we were able to accomplish it, in some ways.
We strive to hire people who will take some personal pride in taking care of every guest, as if they were a member of their own family. As the Manager, my goal is to do just that. It is the time we take, in making sure your stay is comfortable, clean and quiet, that matters to us.
I hope we see you many more times, in your visits to Cedar City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    221
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
274
365
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We just spent 12 days in the surrounding area. We were very impressed with this hotel. This was the last hotel we stayed in. The room was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The full hot breakfast was very good. The breakfast area was in a remodeled house right next door. It was very clean and roomy. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I only wish all the hotels we spent time in were this nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Traveling around our beautiful country can be some of the most exciting trips, you can take. But they can also be some of the riskiest. Trying to find lodging, as we go, can be exciting too. There are a lot of places that are extraordinary, some are good and some are not so good. We, at the Abbey Inn, want to be that extraordinary place! Our owners, management, and staff take pride in our property. We know that traveling can be risky, when it pertains to lodging. We do not want to be one of those. In saying that, we work very hard to make sure The Abbey Inn is your "Home Away From Home".
Thank you for your great comments. They mean a great deal to us! See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The Abbey Inn of Cedar City is situated at the northern part of Cedar City, just off the I-15. It has (relatively) small rooms and the rooms are very, very dark. Not just because of the very small windows, but especially because of all the dark furniture in the rooms. Therefore, the rooms look even smaller. Like (almost) every motel, walls are very thin and floors are noisy, so ask for a room on the upper level to reduce some noise-levels. Although the roomrate comes with a warm-breakfast-buffet, we thought it was overpriced. We paid too much for the 'service' we got, even when this motel is 'close' to Zion & Bryce National Parks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amersfoort1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
As the manager of the Abbey Inn, I was very sad to see that your stay, was disappointing. We strive daily to maintain the Abbey Inn reputation, by trying to keep it clean, updated and competitive with the other properties in Cedar City.
Because we are an independent property, we need to work a little bit harder than the franchise properties do. We try to keep our rates in line with our competitors. We upgrade the property, constantly. Our breakfast has been, and will continue to be, a highlight to our guests.
We don't want you to stay away, from staying with us, in the future. If there is anything we can do to make some changes to please you, please let us know. You opinion of us is crucial to our success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We were traveling around the Grand Circle and just happened to be in Cedar City late one afternoon. Looked on Trip Advisor for advice on where to spend the night and saw that Abbey Inn was rated #1. Also had a coupon from a room finder magazine we had picked up. Called and made reservation and were completely delighted. Everything was wonderful. The staff, the room, the breakfast, all were amazing. Best experience of the vacation. If we are ever in Cedar City again, Abbey Inn will be our first choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnpsnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for your nice comments. When we travel, it is so hard to know where to stay, when you have never been there before. It is really good to have a place like Tripadvisor, that will give you some insight. Having a good discount, never hurts either.
We are happy that you had a great stay! The Abbey Inn is centrally located in one of the most beautiful areas, in Utah. The hotel is centrally located in Cedar City. You have many options for restaurants, festivals, National and State Parks, and ski resorts!
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, AZ
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was in a remodeled house next door. The food was good and the staff friendly. We got good recommendations for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
We are grateful for your positive comments. Our staff works very hard to assure a great visit, for our guests. We hope it will not be the last time you come to Cedar City. But most of all we hope you will visit us, again!!
We will continue to take good care of you. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

One of the best independent hotels I've stayed at. Clean, above average breakfast offerings, high value. And located near food and services.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
We noticed, in your travels, that you have relied, heavily on Tripadvisor. We agree that this is the place to learn what is out there. Your comments are hugely responsible for our number one rating. Of course if we don't do our part, we wouldn't be there. But you getting the word out, is our best advertiser.
Thank you so much, for your rating, comments and for staying with us. We hope we will see you, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We only stayed one night here and were very pleased. The people at the front desk were very helpful, the room was really clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast was in a separate building and was good. The pool and hot tub are also in a separate building and were very nice. Overall, this was great value and great location if you are traveling and need to stock up on anything, there are loads of shops nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't want to have to drag your luggage up the stairs, ask for a ground level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Thank you for mentioning some of the reasons to stay with the Abbey Inn! We have done some renovation to our pool area and are very happy with how it has turned out. Our breakfast is always one of the best reasons for staying with us. Our housekeepers work extremely hard to make sure the room is clean. The owners have constantly updated and renewed our property. We are happy that you noticed and commented, so others will too.
No matter what your reason, when traveling through our area, you will make us your favorite place, to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
392 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing