We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel!”
Review of Abbey Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had read the reviews on this independent hotel, and we are so glad we did! The rooms are incredibly comfortable, clean and updated. Breakfast was great! It is the perfect place to stay after hiking in Zion...or if you are in town for the Shakespeare Festival!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishforevermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

We love that you loved us! Thank you! Your comments on Tripadvisor will surely help others in deciding where they stay in Cedar City. We work very hard to remain #1. But we can't do it without guests, like yourself.
We hope to see you again, when you visit Southern Utah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stay in Cedar City once or twice a year or so when on a road trip or going to the Shakespeare festival, and this was our first time at the Abbey Inn. We did not make use of the facilities (pool, etc.) so we can't speak of them. But right from the start - the phone service when making our reservation - the staff was knowledgeable and helpful. We changed our reservation several times, adding an additional day and upgrading to the 'honeymoon suite.' We are pretty low maintenance, but the whole staff was cheery and helpful.
While I would never stay there for my honeymoon, we did enjoy the room - it is larger, with a jetted tub (plus a shower), a small kitchen, higher ceilings, and an amazingly large, very decorated bed!
This hotel, like most in this region, are older 'motel' type places, but they have kept this one clean and in very good shape. Free breakfast is served in an actual house on a residential street behind the parking lot. I am usually no fan of free hotel breakfasts, but this breakfast has everything and anything you could want for breakfast, including friendly service.
Rates are very reasonable, though I suspect they vary with time of year (& demand). We were there during weekdays in October (nothing obvious going on in town), and the place seemed pretty full. The location is convenient as well - just off the highway, close to the main part of town and the Shakespeare festival.
We will be returning for sure - the only problem for us is that we sometimes travel with our two big dogs, and this is not a dog friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movinglights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for staying with us! Thank you for describing our honeymoon suite. It is one of our most beautiful rooms. The decor is warm, dramatic, traditional and romantic. Not everyone has the pleasure of staying in that room.
If you stay in Cedar City, a couple of times a year, we hope you will stay with us again!
Our full hot breakfast has been a fan favorite for many years. The guests enjoy it as part of many amenities, the Abbey Inn includes.
The staff takes great pleasure in helping our guests. We have so much to share with you. The Shakespeare Festival, the National Parks, the local activities and restaurants are just some of the things you can do and see, throughout the year. Brian Head and Eagle Point Ski resorts are great places to ski, in the Winter.
We hope we will see you soon or at least during Shakespeare Festival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

One of the nicest rooms I have had for the money. I booked the cheapest room, and it was large, clean, and nicely furnished, with coffee maker, fridge, and a flat screen TV. The staff was very friendly and offerred advice on restaurants and directions. The separate breakfast house didn't work out for us, since it was too crowded to sit, and I didn't want to bring something back across the parking lot, but IHOP and McDonald's were right next door, so I didn't mind. It is a very convenient location - on the road from the interstate the goes to Brice, with a little shopping center also close by. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: BYOB. The grocery does have a good selection of beer, but no wine, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCDave_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you for your review and description of our property and surroundings. We are pleased that you enjoyed the rooms and amenities. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy our breakfast during this stay. Unfortunately when we have a large group staying with us, they tend to all eat breakfast at the same time and often cause some bottle-necking at the breakfast house. If we are aware of the group's schedule, we try to notify other guests of the potential traffic and how to best avoid it. Of course it does not always coincide with your schedule, and we apologize for that. We do make sure that all of our breakfast items are available to all guests, even up to closing time. We are glad that you would stay with us again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We spent eight nights at the Abbey Inn in Cedar City while visiting relatives there. The room was good sized, clean and comfortable. The hot breakfast was excellent, and I enjoyed both the swimming pool (good sized) and the exercise room. We did not like the noise associated with the small refrigerator in the room, and complained after the first night. The manager came up herself with a maintenance person, discovered the problem, and fixed it immediately. This was excellent service. I really enjoyed this motel and will frequent it again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

We are so happy, you chose the Abbey Inn, for your lengthy stay. We have a mission statement which states that we want this to be your home away from home. I am hopeful that we were able to accomplish it, in some ways.
We strive to hire people who will take some personal pride in taking care of every guest, as if they were a member of their own family. As the Manager, my goal is to do just that. It is the time we take, in making sure your stay is comfortable, clean and quiet, that matters to us.
I hope we see you many more times, in your visits to Cedar City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We just spent 12 days in the surrounding area. We were very impressed with this hotel. This was the last hotel we stayed in. The room was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The full hot breakfast was very good. The breakfast area was in a remodeled house right next door. It was very clean and roomy. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I only wish all the hotels we spent time in were this nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Traveling around our beautiful country can be some of the most exciting trips, you can take. But they can also be some of the riskiest. Trying to find lodging, as we go, can be exciting too. There are a lot of places that are extraordinary, some are good and some are not so good. We, at the Abbey Inn, want to be that extraordinary place! Our owners, management, and staff take pride in our property. We know that traveling can be risky, when it pertains to lodging. We do not want to be one of those. In saying that, we work very hard to make sure The Abbey Inn is your "Home Away From Home".
Thank you for your great comments. They mean a great deal to us! See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The Abbey Inn of Cedar City is situated at the northern part of Cedar City, just off the I-15. It has (relatively) small rooms and the rooms are very, very dark. Not just because of the very small windows, but especially because of all the dark furniture in the rooms. Therefore, the rooms look even smaller. Like (almost) every motel, walls are very thin and floors are noisy, so ask for a room on the upper level to reduce some noise-levels. Although the roomrate comes with a warm-breakfast-buffet, we thought it was overpriced. We paid too much for the 'service' we got, even when this motel is 'close' to Zion & Bryce National Parks.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amersfoort1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

As the manager of the Abbey Inn, I was very sad to see that your stay, was disappointing. We strive daily to maintain the Abbey Inn reputation, by trying to keep it clean, updated and competitive with the other properties in Cedar City.
Because we are an independent property, we need to work a little bit harder than the franchise properties do. We try to keep our rates in line with our competitors. We upgrade the property, constantly. Our breakfast has been, and will continue to be, a highlight to our guests.
We don't want you to stay away, from staying with us, in the future. If there is anything we can do to make some changes to please you, please let us know. You opinion of us is crucial to our success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We were traveling around the Grand Circle and just happened to be in Cedar City late one afternoon. Looked on Trip Advisor for advice on where to spend the night and saw that Abbey Inn was rated #1. Also had a coupon from a room finder magazine we had picked up. Called and made reservation and were completely delighted. Everything was wonderful. The staff, the room, the breakfast, all were amazing. Best experience of the vacation. If we are ever in Cedar City again, Abbey Inn will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnpsnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for your nice comments. When we travel, it is so hard to know where to stay, when you have never been there before. It is really good to have a place like Tripadvisor, that will give you some insight. Having a good discount, never hurts either.
We are happy that you had a great stay! The Abbey Inn is centrally located in one of the most beautiful areas, in Utah. The hotel is centrally located in Cedar City. You have many options for restaurants, festivals, National and State Parks, and ski resorts!
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 23 in Cedar City
459 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 23 in Cedar City
329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn & Suites

Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range: £53 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Inn hotel located in Cedar City, Utah is conveniently located between Zion National Park and Cedar Breaks National monument. We proudly offer 83 new luxurious rooms & suites each complete with cable television with HD channels and free high-speed Internet access. Each morning we have a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet including scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy, potatoes, and so much more. Additional amenities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, fully equipped exercise facility, 42 inch flat panel TV, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee Maker, and Iron/Ironing board. Our staff will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn & Suites Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing