We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice all around!”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice all around!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here just 1 night with the intention of exploring Cedar Breaks nearby. Unfortunately a rock slide closed the road around Cedar Breaks, so we explored the northern part of Zion on our way into Cedar City. I honestly booked this hotel for it's indoor pool as I wanted a nice place to relax and to split our trip between Zion and Bryce. Luckily, everything else about this hotel was just as nice. Very clean rooms with modern decorations...we relaxed for the entire evening in front of the TV as the bed was so comfortable. Service was nice, check-in & out were very quick, and the desk staff gave us plenty of suggestions on places to eat in town...and even gave us personal favorites as we tried to narrow down exactly what we wanted to eat. The breakfast was spot-on, plenty of options of things to eat, and staffed by very friendly and attentive women. Of course, the price was also incredibly cheap for all of these nice features, so, I would recommend this place to anyone coming through Cedar City.

I should also note that we are pretty casual travelers, but, this was our honeymoon trip and the Abbey Inn was the most comfortable place we stayed throughout our trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Abbey Inn. We are so happy that you enjoyed the property, amenities, and staff. Hopefully, the rock slide will be cleared soon and traffic will be able to get up to Cedar Breaks through Hwy 14. Early spring is a great time to visit Southern Utah and the national parks because the area is free of crowds, the weather is warming up, and the prices, like you mentioned, are very competitive. We hope you will come back and see us when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    229
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
296
386
43
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

What a great hotel, located near plenty of restaurants just off the freeway.
The staff were so helpful at check in making sure we had brochures and directions for dinner and attractions. The room was beautifully decorated and furnished and we had a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was a delight.it was in a house just beside the hotel where the hospitality was wonderful as was the breakfast.
If you're heading for cedar city don't stay anywhere else but the Abbey inn.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Practically2Perfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your recommendation. We would love to have everyone stay only at the Abbey Inn! Thank you for mentioning our hard working staff. They are a key contribution to our guests' satisfaction and therefore the hotel's success. We hope that you will come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

nice hotel for the money ($69.00) also came with breakfast which was quite good can see off the I-15 freeway

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aks472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We always try to make our rates competitive according to the season, and it looks like you stayed at a great time. No matter the season, we honor AAA, AARP, senior, and business discounts. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The staff is very accommodating. The breakfast is the best with a wide variety of choices from eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, to waffles or oatmeal and fruit. The enclosed pool and jacuzzi are always a hit for the kids. The additional houses owned next to property avoid the need to get two rooms when traveling with a large family or group at a much lower rate. And the cost is absolutely reasonable for what you get... more like cost savings!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1search1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your attention to the details. Our hotel owners, management, and staff all work hard to make sure that our guests are happy. You mentioned our family suites (the houses in the back of the property) which is a great option for families or small groups. Not only can you save money compared to getting two or three rooms, but you recieve the added amenities of kitchens, living rooms, and a dry sauna in one of the houses. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

In Cedar City, The Abbey Inn was a good decision. AAA got me a 10% discount, $73.46 total with all taxes etc. I was impressed with the room, classy furniture, 16" mattresses, lots of pillows, crisp white linens, high quality carpet. 42" flat screen, Refridgerator, Microwave, Coffee machine, Marble counters, Tile floors etc. If you read any of my other reviews, you know I like a curved shower curtain, they even had that. Good desk for my laptop with elec on the desk top. The breakfast was great, for free. Scrambled eggs, link sausage, waffles, juice, bagles, Biscuits and gravy etc etc . Good location, gas stations and freeway entrance close by. A friendly young man checked me in, I had no reservation, 3/30/2012 and the morning girl Cassie was nice and efficient also. There is an indoor pool, but I was too tired to go see it, There is also a Breakfast restaurant next door also, IHOP I think.

Room Tip: get a room away from the road, closer to the breakfast end, I did hear some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walks4653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We can see that you are a Trip Advisor top contributor, so your recommendation means a lot to us. Thank you for your attention to detail, even remembering staff names. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I stayed for three days while skiing at Brian Head. Our room was a typical 1960-1990 motel layout, but it was totally (and very professionally) renovated and *very* attractive. There were none of the flaws that so often mar stays at mid- or low-priced lodgings -- no mold and discoloration of bathroom ceilings, no musty carpets, no worn furnishings, no corroded fixtures, etc. At Abbey Inn literally everything was sparkling clean, well maintained and fully functional, including a brand new widescreen TV. The room, located upstairs toward the rear of the building, was very quiet despite the many cars in the parking lot and the three buses that indicated high occupancy.

You will carry your own bags. That's what you do at a motel.

A fine breakfast is served at an adjoining, refurbished home that was incorporated into the hotel property. It includes scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, OJ, coffee, etc. It's included in the price of the room. There is an IHOP sharing the parking lot, but we had no reason to try it for breakfast.

With convenient access to the Interstate and local parks (Zion being most notable) and Brian head, this is a well-situated facility in the major town in the area.

A computer is offered free in the lobby to access Internet and e-mail. We didn't use the heated indoor pool, but we would like to on our next visit.

When it came time to leave, the desk clerk helped us with the conversion to Las Vegas time (DST ended in the middle of our visit) so we wouldn't miss out flight. Despite a 30+ minute total blockage of the Interstate by a bridge repair crew where it crossed some badlands in NW Arizona, we got to our destination in time to easily make our flight home. Too bad. I would have liked an excuse to stay.

The owners and staff clearly have worked hard to make this a comfortable and attractive place. Although it is priced higher than superficially similar offerings nearby, the location and quality of the property and the breakfast still make it an excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We're glad that you were able to catch your flight, though we would have enjoyed having you stay an extra day or so, too. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your attention to detail and your recommendation are very much appreciated. The owners, management, and staff all work together to make sure we are providing the best value in town. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was a nice motel. It was clean, there was a friendly staff, the hot breakfast was appreciated. We liked the pool, good temperature and the hot tub was perfect. The beds were extremely comfortable. We liked the 42" TV that was mounted on the wall so it was out of the way. The bathroom was a little small but clean and it had a good shower. It's close to the freeway and main road so extremely accessible but not noisy. The only reason I wouldn't give it an "excellent" is that it just wasn't an excellent motel. Maybe the best in Cedar City, but there wasn't really anything extraordinary.

Room Tip: Seems like any room here would be the same. Nice to have one by the elevator since we were on the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bountifulutetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Abbey inn. We are happy that you enjoyed many of our amenities. We work hard to make our guests comfortable and our property updated. Just this last week, we brought in brand new furniture. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you the next time you come to Cedar City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
0.4 mi away
Ramada Cedar City
Ramada Cedar City
#13 of 22 in Cedar City
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing