We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish all roadside hotels were like this”
Review of Abbey Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were traveling cross country when we stayed at the Abbey Inn. Although we were just looking for a place to rest our heads for a few hours I refuse to stay in cheap, icky hotels. We usually stay in higher-end chain hotels but after reading reviews, there didn't seem to be any in this area. Tripadvisor reviews is what steered us to this hotel as I would have bi-passed it just by the outdated look of the building and sign. I tried to make reservations online but couldn't get their website to work on my phone. No worries though as I called the hotel directly and a very helpful young lady assisted me and offered the AAA discount too. Even though it was 10:30pm when we checked in, the front desk staff was very welcoming and friendly. I was still hesitant about the room but we walked in and it was beautiful. Everything was updated and looked to be brand new. The room even smelled of new carpet (which I liked). There were 4 of us in one room (2kids-2adults) and we didn't feel cramped at all. There was plenty of space including a little sitting area to the side. The bathroom was very large as well with the sink sitting low. This was great for the kids and I'm assuming it would work well for someone in a wheelchair as well. Breakfast was very good too. It's located in a little house at the back of the property, but again don't be put off by the outside. Inside was completely renovated and modern. We were greeting by two very friendly girls who were taking fresh baked biscuits out of the oven. There was also scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurt, waffles, fruit, etc. If we are ever traveling this way again, we'll be sure to stay here without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gatormom36758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Abbey Inn. We rely heavily on word-of-moth referrals, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate our guests' feedback and strive to make improvements where possible. We recently remodeled our rooms with new carpet, new furniture, and completely new bathrooms. There are many other items on our to do list and hope to have some of them completed by the time you visit next. It is good to know that our staff took good care of you and your family. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Don't be put off by the cheesy outdoor sign for this motel, or the old-fashioned exterior. The rooms are modern and spacious with flat-panel TV, very nice bathroom, fridge and microwave. The decor was more than I expected in this small town. This is a tourist town featuring the Shakespearean Theater and national parks nearby. I thought the towels were skimpy for the price of the room. I read glowing reviews of the free breakfast, and I heard positive comments while I was at said breakfast. But I found it a little rustic and inexpensive. There is plenty of food, and it's more than fine for kids. But the bagels and breads were cheaper versions, the fruit included canned peaches.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate our guests feedback and strive to make improvements where possible. As you have noted, our rooms our newly remodeled, and we continue to update our property. Hopefully we will have some new things to show you the next time you visit. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stopped for one night while touing the national parks and were so pleased with the Abbey Inn. The room was a good size with a comfortable king size bed. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. All the staff we met were very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbeckpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is always great to hear our guests enjoy their stay. We couldn't do it without our staff, and their amazing service is what makes the Abbey Inn top notch. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was a great place for an overnight stay. It has been renovated within the last 4 years, and still looks new. All of the staff (front desk, cleaning, breakfast) is very nice. Close proximity to the freeway, gas stations, and restaurants all in close vicinity. Breakfast was "full" with meat, eggs, fruit, yogurt, biscuits and gravy, and breads, and good quality. We will stay there again when we pass through.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Abbey Inn. We have renovated our hotel in the last year, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important for us to know that our staff represents the Abbey so well. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel one night and really enjoyed our stay. The people at the front desk were VERY helpful, friendly and accomodating. The room was very spacious, clean and modern. The bathroom was large, clean and modern. The breakfast was pretty good.
All in all it was a great stay and the value was excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovestotravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with us. We are always happy to hear that our staff takes good care of our guests. I think they are what sets us apart from others, and the staff likes to know that they are appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I really need a comfortable bed when I travel. I slept well on the pillow top mattress and the room was clean and modern. The air conditioner is quite which was a real plus as we had very high temperatures during our visit.
The only negative to our stay was the breakfast house located in the rear of the parking area. It was hot in there at 7:30 in the morning. Yuk! I couldn't stay in there for more than 10 minutes and had to eat fast. There was an outside seating area but it was in the sun and it was just too hot for that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscalanteBeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your feedback and resolved the issues you mentioned. The breakfast house can be crowded and hot during the summer months, and we had to make some repairs to the AC system. Thank you for helping us to improve. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The property was in great shape, the rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable.
The staff were extremely friendly and catered to my every whim. As head coach of a collegiate archery team I need to stay on top of things at all times, they made my trip easy and very comfortable. I had a group of between 12 -14 people and they were all very pleased with everything. The breakfast was outstanding as well. Thank You ABBEY INN

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no1archer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We shared your review with our facebook followers. We are delighted to know that our staff helped make your visit easy and comfortable. Please come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 23 in Cedar City
460 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 23 in Cedar City
329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn & Suites

Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range: £54 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Inn hotel located in Cedar City, Utah is conveniently located between Zion National Park and Cedar Breaks National monument. We proudly offer 83 new luxurious rooms & suites each complete with cable television with HD channels and free high-speed Internet access. Each morning we have a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet including scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy, potatoes, and so much more. Additional amenities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, fully equipped exercise facility, 42 inch flat panel TV, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee Maker, and Iron/Ironing board. Our staff will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn & Suites Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing