We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Cedar City”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
322 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Cedar City”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We go to Cedar City each to see the plays at the Shakespeare Festival. We like to see 2 plays on the day we arrive in Cedar City and one more the following day after we check out. Of course it is very helpful if you can check in to the hotel a little before the stated check in time in order to settle in before the first play. Erika was working the front desk when we arrived and our room was not ready yet. She managed to juggled the rooms so that we could still check in early. That is what I call Superior customer service. Thank you Erika.

Of course the rooms are spotless and the breakfast is outstanding. This is why the Abbey Inn is rated number one in Cedar City.

Room Tip: Not really any bad rooms at the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Abbey Inn. Erika is an exemplary employee, and we appreciate your mention of her excellent work. During the Shakespeare Festival, we receive many early check-in requests, and unfortunately we cannot guarantee them for everyone. However, our housekeepers and clerks certainly do their best to be as accommodating as possible. We are happy to hear that it worked out in your case. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we do hope you will return next season, or sooner. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    227
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
284
377
42
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to stay at the last minute. We called a bunch of hotels and everyone was sold out. We found Abbey Inn online and they had rooms available. We knew nothing about the hotel. When we arrived, the young man at the front desk was very courteous. The rooms were wonderful. They were spacious and clean. It was such a great surprise for us.

A free hot breakfast is included. It was ok, but it was free!

Very pleased and would recommend the Abbey Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We are so happy that you found us. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Abbey Inn and for recommending us to others. We rely heavily on word-of-mouth referrals, and we'll take good care of anyone you can send our way. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

though the location is average, it is a nice place, with friendly people. The rooms have very good beds and are certainly nice enough. There is a great swimming pool. In all: a very good price for what you get. We enjoyed our stay and were sorry it was only for one night...

Room Tip: different restaurants very close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11MWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for staying with the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear how you received a friendly welcome and found the room comfortable. Hopefully you can come back for an extended stay some time. We have many attractions in the area such as the Utah Shakespeare Festival, a variety of national parks, Brian Head Resort, and more. Give us a call if you would like more info. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were traveling cross country when we stayed at the Abbey Inn. Although we were just looking for a place to rest our heads for a few hours I refuse to stay in cheap, icky hotels. We usually stay in higher-end chain hotels but after reading reviews, there didn't seem to be any in this area. Tripadvisor reviews is what steered us to this hotel as I would have bi-passed it just by the outdated look of the building and sign. I tried to make reservations online but couldn't get their website to work on my phone. No worries though as I called the hotel directly and a very helpful young lady assisted me and offered the AAA discount too. Even though it was 10:30pm when we checked in, the front desk staff was very welcoming and friendly. I was still hesitant about the room but we walked in and it was beautiful. Everything was updated and looked to be brand new. The room even smelled of new carpet (which I liked). There were 4 of us in one room (2kids-2adults) and we didn't feel cramped at all. There was plenty of space including a little sitting area to the side. The bathroom was very large as well with the sink sitting low. This was great for the kids and I'm assuming it would work well for someone in a wheelchair as well. Breakfast was very good too. It's located in a little house at the back of the property, but again don't be put off by the outside. Inside was completely renovated and modern. We were greeting by two very friendly girls who were taking fresh baked biscuits out of the oven. There was also scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurt, waffles, fruit, etc. If we are ever traveling this way again, we'll be sure to stay here without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatormom36758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Abbey Inn. We rely heavily on word-of-moth referrals, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate our guests' feedback and strive to make improvements where possible. We recently remodeled our rooms with new carpet, new furniture, and completely new bathrooms. There are many other items on our to do list and hope to have some of them completed by the time you visit next. It is good to know that our staff took good care of you and your family. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindon, Utah
Level Contributor
245 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Don't be put off by the cheesy outdoor sign for this motel, or the old-fashioned exterior. The rooms are modern and spacious with flat-panel TV, very nice bathroom, fridge and microwave. The decor was more than I expected in this small town. This is a tourist town featuring the Shakespearean Theater and national parks nearby. I thought the towels were skimpy for the price of the room. I read glowing reviews of the free breakfast, and I heard positive comments while I was at said breakfast. But I found it a little rustic and inexpensive. There is plenty of food, and it's more than fine for kids. But the bagels and breads were cheaper versions, the fruit included canned peaches.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate our guests feedback and strive to make improvements where possible. As you have noted, our rooms our newly remodeled, and we continue to update our property. Hopefully we will have some new things to show you the next time you visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stopped for one night while touing the national parks and were so pleased with the Abbey Inn. The room was a good size with a comfortable king size bed. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. All the staff we met were very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbeckpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is always great to hear our guests enjoy their stay. We couldn't do it without our staff, and their amazing service is what makes the Abbey Inn top notch. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was a great place for an overnight stay. It has been renovated within the last 4 years, and still looks new. All of the staff (front desk, cleaning, breakfast) is very nice. Close proximity to the freeway, gas stations, and restaurants all in close vicinity. Breakfast was "full" with meat, eggs, fruit, yogurt, biscuits and gravy, and breads, and good quality. We will stay there again when we pass through.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Abbey Inn. We have renovated our hotel in the last year, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important for us to know that our staff represents the Abbey so well. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing