We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Overnight Stay”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quick Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for a quick overnighter on the way to Salt Lake. I chose the Abbey Inn because of all the positive reviews from Trip Advisor reviewers. Since I was only there from about 10 pm to 8 am the next morning, I really didn't get a chance to fully explore the place. But, based on the time I was there I can say that I probably would stay here again in the future. The good stuff: Quiet, large, nicely appointed rooms. The bathroom was also nice and big for what it was. Water pressure and temperature were good. I liked that I could park right outside my door, so that transferring luggage was very convenient. The breakfast house the next morning was very nice, with tasty selections that came complementary with the room. All the staff that I encountered were very friendly and helpful.
The not so good stuff: Bathroom towels were very rough and coarse, the bedding was very thin and seemed worn, and the bed itself was not very comfortable to me. My son mentioned the same thing the next day. It was just too firm for my liking. Also, the air conditioning unit was like a freight train coming through the room. It was really loud.
Overall, I think that I would stay here again, if only for overnight. It's location is great in town, the price is very reasonable, the staff wonderful, and the room clean. If only the bed were a bit more comfortable....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience with us. We greatly appreciate our guest feedback and focus on improving where we can. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. I assure you that we take this information directly to our staff to hopefully avoid some discomfort in the future. We do hope to see you again and for a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    228
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
286
380
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We were visiting the national parks and looking for a near-by place. While Cedar City is a drive to both Zion and Bryce, we felt it was worth it. Abbey Inn met every expectation of hotels costing three times more. Our room was very clean and modern. Staff was super helpful. The breakfast was great and again staffed by delightfully cherry ladies who got the day off to a good start. If you are willing to make the drives, this is a quiet place to relax after visiting the amazing national parks.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience with others. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you found us while you were visiting the parks. It is a bit of a drive to the parks, but Cedar City is centrally located among them which helps break up the drive. We hope you will come back and see as again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Only stayed one night and had to cancel a second night due to a change in itinerary. staff were pleasant and really went out of their way to help with problems that I was encountering with Expedia.
Rooms were large, clean and well furnished. amenities were more than sufficient and breakfast was again all that could be wanted.
Staff really do make this place above the average

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrieredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience with others. We are thrilled to hear about the great job our staff does. They definitely make the Abbey Inn a unique experience, and it is so nice when they receive warm praise from our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
534 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent the night here on our way from Vegas to Bryce Canyon. The rates were fairly reasonable and the location for us was perfect, as we were coming in late. The room was fairly large, with a comfortable bed and overall we very clean. This is not a 5-star hotel, but it is very nice for what it is, a good, clean, hotel in Cedar City with reasonable rates. They also served a nice breakfast in the morning which was included, continental style, but with fresh eggs and some good choices, which fully met our needs. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and I certainly would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience with others. We appreciate our guests' feedback and focus on improving where we can. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate any recommendations you can make. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The whole inn has been remodeled very tastefully. The beds are moderately firm (not as much as I like, personally) and sleep well. We stayed in two separate king rooms (on the way and on the way back) and both were exceptionally clean and very large. The breakfast is the same mediocre fare that most hotels offer free to guests and I won't hold that against them. Instead, try the Classic American Diner in town on the main street. Food is great, inexpensive, and the service is friendly and maybe even better than the food :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. We appreciate the feedback our guests offer and strive to improve where possible. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
579 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This motel was reasonably priced, but the room was quite dark. The bed was comfortable. The rooms had been updated but was still about what you would expect for the price. The breakfast was in another building. It was quite crowded and you could hardly get near the food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than exceptional. We do take your feedback to heart and focus on improving where we can. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a coupon book that presented Abbey Inn at a very reasonable price (I believe $54 a night). I did look on Trip Advisor for a review and it sounded great. Well, it was and more! The staff are super friendly and helpful. We had a glitch with our internet connection and someone came up immediately to help us. The staff in the breakfast room were outstanding and welcoming and the breakfast was the best we found in our entire trip...sausages, scrambled eggs, which are all home cooked, biscuits and gravy, hot porridge, cereal, fruit, yogurt, several bread options, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and waffles! We decided to stay for two days rather than just overnight as there were lots of hike and views to see in the area. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. We slept well. We will certainly recommend this hotel to others travelling in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. We love to hear that our guests enjoy their stay. We are delighted that you found us and were able to stay longer than originally planned. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
0.8 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
397 reviews
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing