We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay - loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

A perfect place to stay in Cedar City. Check in is easy with a very nice and friendly staff.

We stayed in a room with two queen beds. Hotel has been recently renovated and beds were comfortable. Loved the heavy curtains that blocked out the light. We all slept like a baby. The rooms are clean and loved the updated style with beautiful pictures on the wall and it was very inviting. The queen beds are large and leave enough space to walk around and place your suitcase. The bathroom had some Bath and Body works lotion and shampoo samples and is adequate in size for our family of four. One member of our family is extremely tall and it was suitable enough for him.
The flat screen T.V was perfect and the internet worked perfectly. No complaints.

The teenager and preteen loved the pool. The breakfast was wonderful. Made our own waffles and had some scrambled eggs with sausage. The staff was attentive and pleasant. I have had breakfast in European hotels like another reviewer and I found this breakfast wonderful! We left with full bellies and will stay here again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelducks59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the rooms, the pool, and the breakfast. It is good to know that our staff took very good care of your group. As I have mentioned to others, we are always looking for ways to improve and hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    217
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
269
358
38
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in Abbey Inn's Sunrise Cottage. The rooms smelled musty when we opened up the door. And they're dark — especially the living room where it’s hard to draw the curtains all the way open because the heavy fabric crunches up on the sides and blocks out the light. The furniture looks like it was found at a yard sale. It is old-fashioned and cumbersome and thrown together without a sense for style. The rooms were mostly clean, but because of the furniture and the old fixtures (grandma lamps), they appeared tired and shabby and not very inviting.

There's no space in the queen bedroom for a suitcase as the bed takes up practically the whole room. The King bedroom was okay, but here, too, there isn't much space. (And watch out in the summer: no screens on the windows in the King bedroom!) There was, though, room for a small armchair.

There were no glasses in the kitchen, just plastic cups and coffee mugs. Or were we blind? In any case, neither the plastic cups nor the mugs seemed right for wine. Looking for glasses, we found crumbs in the cupboards.

The bathroom is too small for an apartment that can sleep four. If I recall correctly, there was no means (hook, rod, etc.) to hang up more than one towel. Very inconvenient.

I would not want to stay in the cottage again unless it were renovated, lightened up (the dark carpeting is deadly in a room with little light!), and filled with more pleasing furniture.

The breakfast was fine as far as American hotel breakfasts go, but for Europeans like us it was meager in comparison to European hotel breakfasts. And, before I forget: the internet was mostly sloooow.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_J_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for staying in one of our vacation homes and for sharing your experience. We truly do appreciate the feedback of our guests and plan to make some changes in the Sunrise Cottage. To be perfectly honest, our guests that stay in the vacation homes have a pretty different experience than our regular hotel guests (not necessarily better or worse, just different), and if a guest is expecting a hotel experience, they are surprised when we offer the houses. They are very well suited for families or large groups that are staying for a few nights, but a couple that is staying for one or two nights usually prefers a standard room. They take the house because that is what we have left on a sold out night. With this in mind, we instruct our staff to clearly explain what the houses are. The Sunrise Cottage is an older house that has been remodeled. The small bathrooms and bedrooms are standard for that time period. We call it a cottage because it is small and modest. However, we do plan to replace some furniture as you suggest.
With regards to the breakfast, I am very sorry that you found it lacking. We are planning to make some improvements soon. For the most part, we do receive a lot of compliments for it.
Again, I apologize that your experience with us was not as good as we hope, but I do hope that if you are in the area again, you will give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel if you are staying in Cedar City. The breakfast was great and the indoor pool was nice. I would stay there again. Very nice staff and very helpful. Easy to find and close to many fast food restaurants. The only thing I did not like was the front doors are facing outside. Hotel is very well maintained.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the room, the breakfast, and the pool. It is good to hear that our staff took good care of you. I am sorry that you didn't like the outdoor corridors. We do appreciate the recommendations and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

booked here based on trip advisor reviews good place to overnight on cross country motorcycle trip close proximity to cedar breaks nat monument, zion national park, las vegas, etc clean, comfortable room enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay while visiting beautiful Southern Utah. If you get a chance to come back, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here on a quick trip with 2 kids. I would reccommend this hotel to you! The room was clean, the furnishings were new, the bed was soft but comfortable. The indoor pool was warm-ish, a good temperature for swimming. You could hear some street noise, but I could not hear people in the rooms next to me. The breakfast consisted of cereals (hot and cold),waffles, eggs, sausage, juices, toast and bagles and assorted jams, cream cheese and butter.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here about 2 years ago. SAME fantastic place with great staff and rooms. Lots of places to eat within walking distance too. We even met one of the owners doing some gardening. Great food at morning free breakfast too. Indoor pool and spa had it all to ourselves. We had planned on just staying a few days here and then going on to St. George and staying in their other one called Best Western Abbey Inn. St. George is about 25 degrees hotter so we opted to stay at Cedar City longer. Don't miss Cedar Breaks National Monument. Not far to drive and a real jewel. Skip Bryce Canyon and just hit this place. Also go to Kolob Canyon. Another close and beautiful stop. Cedar Breaks and Kolob can even be seen from the car if you have a difficult time walking. A lot closer than Bryce and you see basically the same thing. Be sure to check the Cedar Valley Community Theatre for plays. We saw Oklahoma and it was a very good show. Nice to support the local economy by attending their events when in town. We went AFTER Memorial weekend and BEFORE school got out.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are on the side that has the breakfast house. Odd numbered rooms are on the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casper684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Wow! Thank you for returning to the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience and area knowledge. You have some excellent advice that I would second. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Utah
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here during the Utah Summer Games soccer tournament and needless to say it was a packed house! Having said that, we never had any overbearing noises nor did we feel cramped like we have in the past at other hotels.

The room looked(and smelled) like it had just been redone. The carpet was nice and clean which is a must! The rest of the room was very well kept and clean, an above average room in my opinion.

The breakfast was served in a "cottage" directly behind the Inn. The kitchen was well staffed and the food was a bit better than your average hotel breakfast.

The Inn itself is within walking distance of many restaurants, fast food joints, and service stations. If you wanted to you could park your car and walk to breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mammoth29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable, even on one of the busiest nights of the year. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
0.8 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing