We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as Good as It can Be”
Review of Abbey Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

For being an older hotel with outside entrances, I have to say that the Abbey Inn has worked hard to become the best it can be.

The rooms are well appointed and up to date. The pool and fitness room are adequate. The location is convenient.

The staff is also quite good. I had a little problem with the breakfast girls monitoring my sausage intake, but the GM was quick to apologize and remedy the problem.

The next time I stop in Cedar City, I'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Badrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate each guest's feedback and work to improve where possible. I am sorry about the sausage at breakfast. We will have to clarify a few things with the staff. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our family stays at the Abbey Inn every summer while attending the Shakespeare Festival in Cedar City. We've stayed here over 10 years and we wouldn't go anywhere else. A couple of years ago I wrote an unhappy review on TripAdvisor about one of our stays at the Abbey Inn. As follow-up, the Abbey Inn management immediately reached out to me and bent over backward to make things right. They truly care about their customers & they definitely deserve their reputation as the #1 rated Hotel in Cedar City. All of their rooms have now been completely remodeled. They are lovely. The mattresses are extremely comfortable, the air-conditioning worked great, The free in-room Wi-fi was fast. The large pool & hot tub in the separate building was great for the kids. The complimentary breakfast in the little house next door is as delicious & homemade as ever. They have added even more fresh fruit and cereal options this year in addition to the homemade eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, oatmeal, waffles, etc. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Ask for an East side room. They are quieter, have afternoon shade and are closer to breakfast house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollyday66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us again and for sharing your experience. It means a lot to us that you took the time to detail out the things you enjoyed. Thank you for giving us another chance to serve you and your family, and as always, please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here four nights with my daughter on sightseeing trip of southern Utah. It was our first time to the area and we read the great reviews and decided to make The Abbey our base for trips to Zion and Grand Canyon. We had a great experience and would definitely recommend it to anyone. Friendly helpful staff, clean renovated room and grounds. We loved the hot breakfast in a separate cottage on the property. Very glad we stayed at The Abbey!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Wow! Thank you for making the Abbey Inn your first choice while visiting the national parks, and thank you for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to hear how you enjoyed the room, the staff, and the breakfast, and we certainly hope to have you back soon. There is quite a lot to see and do in Southern Utah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

For the price in Cedar City, this is a great place to stay. The room was clean and spacious. The indoor pool was a fair size for swimming. The staff were attentive. They had a separate breakfast room where they had eggs, the waffle maker and the typical hotel breakfast offerings, but they stayed on top of keeping it clean and running. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deevah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the room, the pool, and the breakfast. We are actually hoping to make some improvements to our breakfast display and menu, and we hope you will come back sometime to see it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed for a business trip. Just one night, but it was very nice. Check in was very easy and they were able to accommidate me by putting me on the ground floor. Beds were very nice and comfy. Breakfast was really good. I did get to take advantage of the exercise room. It was a little hard to find and very small, but was useable. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dcraythorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Inn. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room and the breakfast. I am sorry that the exercise room is a bit small. During spring, summer, and fall I often recommend some beautiful routes and trails. We look forward to having you stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our 2nd stay, better than OK in just about all respects, excellent full breakfast, nice staff, near town center and Southern Utah University Campus (Shakespeare Festival).

The room ventilation fan was too loud.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn again and sharing your experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast, the staff, and the location. We appreciate you for helping us stay #1.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We made our reservations as a group a few months before our July stay for only one night, and what we got exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly, and the hotel was immaculate. We felt like we were in a 5-Start hotel. It was obvious the management at the Abbey Inn took pride in their property, and it came through the staff. The rooms were put together "on-purpose", instead of just throwing something together, and everything, and I do mean everything, was perfect. Thanks for the "caring and sharing" attitude from the staff, and the property itself, our one-night stay was the best of our 12 day cross-country journey for our group of 17 travelers. If you need a place around Cedar City, Utah........stay here ! Thanks Laura and the staff. D. Grimes

Room Tip: Rooms were all exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dgrimes1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Assistant Manager at Abbey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your group's experience. It was a pleasure working with you, and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all the kind things you mentioned. We really do try to make each guest's stay memorable, and it is good to hear that we stood out in your travels. We certainly hope you can come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 23 in Cedar City
449 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 23 in Cedar City
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn & Suites

Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range: £61 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Inn hotel located in Cedar City, Utah is conveniently located between Zion National Park and Cedar Breaks National monument. We proudly offer 83 new luxurious rooms & suites each complete with cable television with HD channels and free high-speed Internet access. Each morning we have a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet including scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy, potatoes, and so much more. Additional amenities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, fully equipped exercise facility, 42 inch flat panel TV, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee Maker, and Iron/Ironing board. Our staff will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Abbey Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn & Suites Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing