We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the State Park and Museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frontier Homestead State Park Museum

Frontier Homestead State Park Museum
Ranked #4 of 26 things to do in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the pioneer and early industrial history of Cedar City, Iron County, and southwest Utah through an extensive horse-drawn wagon collection, historic buildings, Paiute native camp, sawmill and replica blast furnace. Enjoy many hands-on activities and interpretive programs throughout the year, including Sheep-to-Shawl, Archaeology Day, Iron Mission Days, cemetery tours, and Christmas at the Homestead.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cedar City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoy the State Park and Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

They have moved an old Bucyrus-Erie Steam? Shovel from the mine to the front of the museum. And they have a table where the kids can pan for gold if they turn on the water. There is a lot of history about bus rides to the national parks from the 1930s and 40s.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    45
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lots to explore!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We visited this museum with 2 teenagers and 2 toddlers. At first, it seemed like it was mostly "look but don't touch", which doesn't go over very well with toddlers. However, the more you look, the more interactive things you find. They have a very good variety of exhibits, and they've done an excellent job of providing hands-on opportunities throughout. My daughter loved being a teacher in the schoolhouse and "talking" on the antique phone.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stacy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped here in our way out of town with our teenagers. We enjoyed our visit. There was lots of history we never knew. It was an informative visit. Definitely a place worth stopping at.

Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best $3.00 I've ever spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

This museum just happened to become our last planned TTD on our vacation last Sun to tonight when we will return home to Florida. I read about Cedar City, UT in our AAA book. After visiting Zion, Bryce Canyon, Capitol, Canyonlands, and Arches National Parks, I was very interested what a town right on I-15 with a population of 28,900 might hold in store for us...we had several hours to kill before returning to Las Vegas to catch our flight. AAA convinced us we should go. The homestead buildings, variety of every imaginable piece of 19th and early 20th century field equipment, stage coach, Wells Fargo coaches, covered wagons in all sorts of conditions, a horse drawn hearse, several "Surreys with the fringe on top," and all manner of horseless carriages in magnificent condition. The state park personnel and the curators of the museum clearly have displayed and demonstrated the passion for the era they have preserved.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent about an hour at the museum just exploring the history and learned some interesting facts. The kids enjoyed being able to get on some of the equipment and play a few of the games that were there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mommymc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frontier Homestead State Park Museum also viewed

 

Been to Frontier Homestead State Park Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing