We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Richard III”
Review of The Iron Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Breakfasts were superb, the hosts chatty, and the proximity to the theater venues were ideal.

Room Tip: Talk to the owner on the phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HearthstoneCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

This inn looked charming over the Internet and proved to be just that. The proprietors were welcoming: for example, they accommodated our request for early check-in, and they provided a delicious breakfast. The room was spacious and tastefully furnished. The absence of a television made the atmosphere more relaxing. If there was one negative to be mentioned, it was that the inn was so quiet overnight that we were not sure what level of sound in our room would be bothersome. But we highly recommend this inn for visitors to the Utah Shakespeare Festival or anyone passing through Cedar City.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cicero1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

If you are planning a trip to the Cedar City, Utah area for the Shakespeare Festival or to tour the parks, you should plan to stay at the Iron Gate Inn. Susan and CR have lived i Cedar City for years and know the area inside and out. They are involved in with the Shakespeare Festival and often have directors, actors and others staying with them who can discuss the shows with you. The roms are spacious and comfortable and breakfast is great. We always eat out on the beutiful patio. Its also a great place to relax during the day. Susan and CR are fabulous hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry22201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Lovely B&B within two blocks of the Cedar City Shakespeare Festival. From a cold drink (raspberry lemonade or a cool glass of wine) upon arrival, the hosts make you feel like family. They'll book your dinner reservations, and make theater recommendations. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with attached baths. A cozy, comfortable and relaxing home away from home and an outstanding festival all in one. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Carolyn June has 2 queen beds and jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funskir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Our first impression was of hundreds of irises in bloom in front of a stately mansion. Susan was there to warmly greet us and handle the immediate business of checking in. Our room and attached bath were spacious and very accomodating to the traveler's needs.
Since the Cedar City location was chosen for its proximity to National Park hiking, we sought our hosts' advice at breakfast. While enjoying delicious French toast with peach compote (made from their own peach tree fruit), they related their own experiences of the trails of Kolob Canyon and Zion. Throughout our stay, CR and Susan continued to provide us with much helpful information on regional restaurants and other sites of interest.
As fun-loving but discriminating B & B guests, my husband and I felt that the Iron Gate Inn was an exceptionally delightful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LunaSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Our room was comfortable and spacious. The owners were gracious and attentive. Breakfast was yummy. Location was easy to find and convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regattas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

EVERYTHING at this bed and breakfast was excellent, all categories (as listed above).
Also, the breakfasts were delicious and varied (and hearty enough to get you going on a good hike, if that's your plan for the day.
the owners were so friendly and hospitable, and my son and I really felt like we living there, not 'guests.' My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer, but this is where I/we will definitely stay on the next visit.
TIP: Do leave enough time to see the many major sights in the area (Zion, Kolab Canyon, Bryce, and more) AND explore Cedar City itself (which is small,but charming in a small Western town way).
We could have easily spent our whole week here. Thanks Susan and CR!

Room Tip: you can look online at the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat-151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 23 in Cedar City
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey Inn & Suites
Abbey Inn & Suites
#2 of 23 in Cedar City
1,088 reviews
11.8 mi away
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
#2 of 3 in Brian Head
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
0.3 mi away
Amid Summer's Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Big Yellow Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn

Address: 100 N 200 W, Cedar City, UT 84720-2536 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range: £78 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of The Iron Gate Inn! An exceptional experience in hospitality. Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 7 exceptional rooms w/private baths. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. We serve special meals for those with dietary restrictions, (fresh just like the breakfast of the day) including lactose free, gluten free, vegetarian and even vegan. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine, iced tea or lemonade. Enjoy the fire pit under a moon lit sky, or our garden Jacuzzi. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi is available throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing