We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful time!”
Review of The Iron Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The Iron Gate Inn is simply a jewel. The rooms are spotless,beautiful, roomy and comfortable. The proprietors are gracious and hospitable. Breakfast on the patio outside was a real treat. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenfortheWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

Warm hospitality tops the list of why we've been staying here for 10 summers and falls. Delicious breakfasts, clean & quiet accommodations, walking distance to Shakespeare Festival venues. Love the outdoor patio and beautiful feline, PJ.

Room Tip: If you love a bathtub & don't need a queen bed, the Ruby G is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thankful-desertite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We drove out from Colorado to stay here for our anniversary and to enjoy the Utah Shakespeare Festival. We loved this place! The hosts were fun and talkative and very considerate in that they accommodated our vegetarian preferences. The rooms were clean and well decorated and we didn't hear any other guests, though we know the place was full. You can walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival from the inn. The breakfasts were delicious and we loved being able to eat outside in their lovely garden. Thanks for such a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armandea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

What a nice way to relax during a recent work trip. The parlor room was beautifully decorated as was our room and the entire inn. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the coolness of the outdoor patio.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry_bringhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Very large room, gracious hosts, afternoon wine on the patio, lovely garden, fine breakfast on the patio the next morning, tea and coffee available all day in the dining room. Make sure you drive on Route 14 heading east from Cedar City through Dixie National Forest, an unbelievably beautiful drive, en route to Bryce Canyon National Park.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Breakfasts were superb, the hosts chatty, and the proximity to the theater venues were ideal.

Room Tip: Talk to the owner on the phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HearthstoneCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This inn looked charming over the Internet and proved to be just that. The proprietors were welcoming: for example, they accommodated our request for early check-in, and they provided a delicious breakfast. The room was spacious and tastefully furnished. The absence of a television made the atmosphere more relaxing. If there was one negative to be mentioned, it was that the inn was so quiet overnight that we were not sure what level of sound in our room would be bothersome. But we highly recommend this inn for visitors to the Utah Shakespeare Festival or anyone passing through Cedar City.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cicero1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey Inn & Suites
Abbey Inn & Suites
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn

Address: 100 N 200 W, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range: £108 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of The Iron Gate Inn! An exceptional experience in hospitality. Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 7 exceptional rooms w/private baths. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. We serve special meals for those with dietary restrictions, (fresh just like the breakfast of the day) including lactose free, gluten free, vegetarian and even vegan. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine, iced tea or lemonade. Enjoy the fire pit under a moon lit sky, or our garden Jacuzzi. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi is available throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing