We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
Ranked #1 of 12 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

A beautiful home and wonderful first experience at a Bed & Breakfast! My daughter and I had took an overnight trip to attend "Les Mis" presented at the Utah Shakespeare Festival. We found the Iron Gate on-line and were very pleased with our stay. It is located just 2 blocks from the Festival site and within walking distance to the quaint town area. Our hosts were very gracious and the breakfast was yummy! Beautifully decorated and very comfortable! We're already talking about another trip next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ronondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

we were celebrating our anniversary on the way to visit family in California and found this bed and breakfast as a good half-way point for our trip. We found our hosts to be delightful and enjoyed great conversation with them and the accommodations were comfortable and lovely. and breakfast, stuffed french toast with peaches from the property, sausage, and fruit - wonderful. we will definitely be returning to this place on future trips - it was perfect!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is an outstanding B&B: in a large, remodeled Victorian home, two blocks from main street and the Utah Shakespeare Festival, in a very pleasant, small town. All rooms with private baths, comfortable beds, pleasant decor, and nice linens. Excellent breakfasts and coffee; friendly and helpful hosts; lovely garden with chairs and tables outside. Also has a new winery (Iron Gate Winery) behind the main house with a tasting room that serves (and sells) wines made on the property. A good jumping off location for Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks.

Room Tip: We loved our room downstairs, off the breakfast room; with a view of the garden.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We are expecting our first baby soon and decided to take one last getaway together. I found this lovely inn online and booked it right away. We stayed in the Joy Darlene room, which was large and comfortable. Susan and CR were very inviting hosts and breakfast was wonderful (we were treated to cinnamon rolls one morning and blueberry french toast the next). Susan's basil lemonade is fantastic. The location is fantastic, just blocks from the Randall Jones theater where we watched "Hamlet" and historic Main Street, filled with shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms seemed a bit more popular so we were glad to get one on the top floor, a little...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanaiWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Put this on your list of places to stay if you're headed toward Cedar City for either the Shakespeare Festival or any of the National Parks in the vicinity. It's comfortable, very welcoming, and a charming place to stay. Great rooms, good breakfast, and many other amenities. Location is central to restaurants and the theater, but located on a very quiet street. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor and loved it!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Lovely rooms. Great breakfast. Great hosts. Close to the theatre (1 1/2 blocks away). Can't imagine there is a better place to stay in Cedar City. Get a downstairs room so you don't have to climb the stairs as with many B&B's. Hope you get the french toast breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4cornershiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Susan and CR have created a delightful and relaxing place to stay while enjoying the Shakespear festival. Our group especially enjoyed the wine happy hour in one of their two beautiful parlors before dinner. The lovely, sunny, two-story breakfast room was a wonderful setting for the delicious breakfast. Susan and CR were very welcoming and friendly and shared their knowledge of the area and things to do with us. The B&B is creatively and lovingly decorated. A great experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room just off the parlor and it was quiet, spacious and comfortable and easy to get...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.6 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Gate Inn and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Address: 100 N 200 W, Cedar City, UT 84720-2536 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range: £105 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn and Winery 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of The Iron Gate Inn! An exceptional experience in hospitality. Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 7 exceptional rooms w/private baths. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. We serve special meals for those with dietary restrictions, (fresh just like the breakfast of the day) including lactose free, gluten free, vegetarian and even vegan. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine, iced tea or lemonade. Enjoy the fire pit under a moon lit sky, or our garden Jacuzzi. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi is available throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn and Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn And Winery Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing