We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
Ranked #1 of 12 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Just left Cedar City and the Iron Gate Inn and can't wait to go back! CR and Susan are wonderful hosts...very welcoming! The beds were extremely comfortable and the room and bathroom spotless. Breakfast was served in the dining room and in the garden which we really enjoyed. A french toast dish was our favorite...and Susan was kind enough to accommodate not only my vegetarian preference...but my daughter who is vegan! The location is perfect for the Utah Shakespeare Festival (a MUST!!) and also for two of our favorite places to grab a bite...The Pastry Pub and Centro Pizza. This B&B is lovingly cared for and I have already made plans to go back in the fall! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There appeared to be a couple of ground floors rooms which I would recommend for anyone who might ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carnetdevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
136
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Iron Gate Inn. We picked it because of good reviews, great location, and the uniqueness of having a winery in Utah! We were not disappointed. Our room was lovely, and it is a short walking distance to the Shakespeare festival venues. Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance as well. CR and Susan are wonderful hosts. Breakfast was delicious. We made it to a wine tasting at the winery, and they have a real variety of good wines. I don't think you could go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We come with friends and relatives each year for the Shakespeare Festival for my birthday, because this is the best B & B in Cedar City for all the great reason mentioned in prior reviews--great hosts, lovely rooms and garden for wine before festival.
P.S. They have their own winery and wine tasking room at back of parking area. You are only one block away from festival theatres, so you can just walk over and back. Susan and CR will make reservations for you at recommended restaurants before the plays. In short our favorite place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and depend on what you want--king, queen, handicapped accessible, etc. Some are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 726Karol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the Iron Gate as part of our holiday plans included taking in a play at the Utah Shakespeare Festival. We couldn't have asked for a better place! CR and Susan were very knowledgeable about the area and directed us to local attractions, including which restaurants might be open on a Sunday evening and the best way to drive to Cedar Breaks.
We stayed in the 'Carriage House', which is actually the house next door to the main facility. It was like renting a whole house with a lovely breakfast thrown in each day. The only draw back was that the WiFi connection did not reach the house, so we had to go back to the main house if we wanted to access the Internet!
The Inn is also walking distance to the Shakespeare Festival so it was a perfect location all around.
We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pellegrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is our second stay at the inn and it was as great as we remembered. The B&B is lovely, rooms are spacious and well appointed, and the hosts are the best. They have all the reasons why we enjoy staying at a B&B. The lovely garden is always available, evening wine, breakfast in the AM and good company. One would think that Susan and CR hand pick their guests, never met a "lemon" at their place. We go for the Shakespeare festival and have discovered the national parks close by, the Neil Simon festival, and the surprisingly interesting Heritage Park. Cedar City loves the visitors and are always friendly. Well worth the trip. Adrienne and Stu Kirschner

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarCity_UTWiz, Owner at The Iron Gate Inn and Winery, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thanks, guys! We had a wonderful time with you as well and can't wait until the next time we share some conversation (and a glass of wine) on the patio. Susan & CR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mounds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were traveling from CO with another couple on our way to CA to a car show, both of us with trucks pulling 22 foot trailers. Susan assured us that there was room to park, and encouraged us both to just "pull up in front of the Inn and park". which worked out perfectly! We enjoyed the conversation and glass of wine with cheese and crackers with our hostess before going to taste wine at the winery in back. We were glad were driving and had room to load up six bottles of wine to take home. Susan made us dinner reservations at Depot Grill and we were able to walk to dinner (and bring in a bottle of the IG Winery wine with us). Another good experience at that restaurant.
Breakfast the next day was delicious; we dined in the garden and enjoyed meeting a few of the other guests. Hope we can return soon!

Room Tip: The Inn is two stories with no elevator, so if you cannot navigate stairs, choose a room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

The B&B was outstanding - good food for breakfast (stuffed French toast w/homemade peach compote), and the room was spacious and very nice. The hosts actually called me about a week or so before our trip to let me know that we had booked a king through the third-party web site I went through and there was only a queen. We were fine with that, and there was a refund on the dresser when we walked in to our room. There isn't much in this part of Utah, but we were there because we had tickets to a play at the Utah Shakespeare Festival. The show was excellent, and right before we had surprisingly good pizza at Centro Woodfired Pizzeria. I'd recommend hitting both a show and that pizza place if you happen to be in the area. Overall, it was a really nice place, and I was surprised to see so many people at breakfast because it was really quiet as well. People were going back for seconds and thirds of that excellent breakfast!

Room Tip: The the Centro Woodfired Pizzeria! So good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Saldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
0.6 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Gate Inn and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Property: The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
Address: 100 N 200 West Street, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn and Winery 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of The Iron Gate Inn! Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 9 exceptional rooms w/private baths and a two bedroom, two bath cottage suite w/kitchen. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine or lemonade. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn and Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn And Winery Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing