We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iron Gate is an annual tradition” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
Ranked #1 of 12 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Iron Gate is an annual tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have made staying at the Iron Gate B&B and buying wine from the winery an annual fall tradition. Beautiful hikes on the way, three plays at the Utah Shakespeare Festival during the weekend, plus comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts and good company at the Iron Gate. Couldn't ask for a better weekend away!

Room Tip: Second floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StradlerUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
136
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We just returned from staying at the Iron Gate Inn -- our second time there. The location is perfect, the rooms are charming, the host and hostess are great, but we froze the whole time were there. Not just chilly, but bone-chilling cold. I'm not sure why -- there was just never any heat on. And breakfast was a disappointment-- small squares of a lukewarm egg dish, some microwave bacon, overly sweet little pastry things. And some cantaloupe. I'm sorry to say I'll be looking for a new place to stay in Cedar City. It was cold when we were there last year as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a warm room --
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarCity_UTWiz, Owner at The Iron Gate Inn and Winery, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We are so sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We only wish that you had alerted us to your discomfort while you were here, as we would have made every attempt to rectify it immediately. There is an additional convection heater that is installed in the room you selected, but we apologize for not making sure you knew that is was there for your use. Although it is difficult, even painful, to hear that we did not meet your expectations, we appreciate and take seriously your comments as it will help us better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,273 reviews
299 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This beautiful old building has been lovingly restored and beautifully decorated.

I was given LucyBelle, named for the owners's grandmother who was a bit of a firecracker!

It's a lovely room with a large bed and delicate writing desk, I had to carefully use for my work.

The bed, pillows and bedding were good. The shower, towels and toiletries were also good.

There's no microwave, fridge or coffee maker, TV or iPod dock in the room.

There's lots of communal space to sit and read or watch TV as there isn't one in the room.

Onsite parking is free but limited.

Breakfast was a standout.

This was a lovely place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We are from the UK - and stayed at The Iron Gate for two nights after re-routing due to the shutdown. The double room we stayed in was large, really well equipped - and comfortable.
What's the best thing about Iron Gate? The ambience : Susan and CL were great hosts - very relaxed, lots of local knowledge, and generally lovely to be around. R&J

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RCeezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a great place to stay if seeing a play at the Shakespeare Festival, as it's only one block to walk to the theaters. If you like antiques, but you are tired of frilly rooms that are too crowded and stuffy, this is the place for you. Every room is different. Ours had a door out to the front veranda.
Owners are friendly and hospitable. The very best thing about this place is that every morning they join their guests for a delightful roundtable of conversation, and they make the effort to see that everyone is included.
Only minus is that there is no TV available, either in the rooms or the several common areas.

Room Tip: Go directly to their own website to look at pictures of each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarCity_UTWiz, Owner at The Iron Gate Inn and Winery, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much the wonderful comments and your kindness. We were thrilled to have you stay with us and hope you can be with us again very soon. I am so sorry we didn't communicate to you that we do indeed have flatscreen TVs for our guests and will add them to any room upon request. Because of your comment we have decided to place a special note in each room (instead of just on our website) letting guests like yourself who might want a TV/DVD that they are available. Thank you again for your very considerate comment so we can better serve our fabulous guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The owners could not have been nicer. The proximity to the Utah Shakespeare Festival was very convenient. The wine and lemonade served in the afternoon in the garden was delightful, as were the bedtime sweeties. The breakfast was expertly prepared and delicious. The rooms were very attractive, as well as quiet and comfortable. Not only do I have no complaints about the Irongate Inn, but I would recommend it to any savvy traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erwin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Once again we elected to stay at the Iron Gate and were indeed delighted with our experience as usual. Susan and CR are the epitome of gracious hosts. The atmosphere and accommodations are superior.

Breakfast was delicious and on time. Conversation was lively and far ranging. Although all were in the same lodging but separate quarters, no sound or event or person disturbed our privacy and space.

And ... once again we will make this our preferred stop in the future.

Wayne & Deb Wickizer wwickizer@gmail.com

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
0.6 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Gate Inn and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Property: The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
Address: 100 N 200 West Street, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn and Winery 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of The Iron Gate Inn! Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 9 exceptional rooms w/private baths and a two bedroom, two bath cottage suite w/kitchen. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine or lemonade. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn and Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn And Winery Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing