We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for a gathering of friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
Ranked #1 of 12 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for a gathering of friends”
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Iron Gate Inn is altogether a perfect place to stay if you're in southern Utah, especially if you are with friends and want to spend time just visiting. The porches and shaded patio and attractive grounds and the house itself offer many places to "hang out" in relative privacy and quiet. The hosts are friendly, attentive, and helpful, but not intrusive. Between the Shakespeare Festival and the nearby national parks, our party of 12 found more than enough to do and see during the week we spent at the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivash45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
143
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

For the most part we enjoyed our stay here. B&Bs are not usually wheelchair accessible but the Iron Gate Inn was. There was a lovely room on the first level with a roll-in shower. the owners kept promising us to bring a bath stool but never did (only asked them 3 times) but made a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyfans48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

We were greeted with a cup of tea on a shady patio after a long drive from Moab. Our room was delightful and we had a splendid inexpensive Mexican meal at a nearby restaurant after wandering around the pleasant campus looking at the scuptors and replica globe theatre. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elterwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We stumbled across this B & B by randomly calling hotels listed on our GPS. Normally we're not bed and breakfast fans, but the owners of this B & B were so friendly and accommodating that we booked immediately by phone. It did not disappoint. Susan gave me a tour of the house and each room is spectacular. We stayed in the lowest priced room which was a large room tucked secretly behind the fireplace in the dining room. There was a queen bed, chair & vanity in the room with a large separate bathroom with a tub/shower. The sink had a base made from an old sewing machine cabinet. The bedroom had large windows (which we were told we could open) overlooking the patio garden. The room didn't have a TV but Susan asked if we'd like one and brought it right away. The breakfast was great! All of the guests wandered out to the outdoor patio the day we were there and we had a very enjoyable breakfast with good conversation. For breakfast we had some type of bread pudding made with bananas with a butter rum sauce to top it off. There were also fresh melon slices and sausage links. It was very good.

  • Liked — Accommodating hosts & interesting guests
  • Disliked — I liked it all.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettybook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.6 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
0.3 mi away
El Rey Inn & Suites
El Rey Inn & Suites
#6 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Gate Inn and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Property: The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
Address: 100 N 200 W, Cedar City, UT 84720-2536 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn and Winery 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of The Iron Gate Inn! An exceptional experience in hospitality. Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 7 exceptional rooms w/private baths. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. We serve special meals for those with dietary restrictions, (fresh just like the breakfast of the day) including lactose free, gluten free, vegetarian and even vegan. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine, iced tea or lemonade. Enjoy the fire pit under a moon lit sky, or our garden Jacuzzi. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi is available throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn and Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn And Winery Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing