We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fabulous experience, have spread the word to all my friends!”
Review of The Iron Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2010

From the graciousness of our hosts, to the delightfully appointed room and attached bathroom, with modern conveniences, a memorable experience!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugsy10145963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

This B&B is great – the room was clean, spacious and quiet. But, I wasn’t on a diet and breakfast was sparse. While I loved (and I do mean it was fabulous) the apple strata breakfast it was not filling enough for me or my husband. I’m not much of a melon person either (don’t like it at all), so the fruit wasn’t something I’d eat. There wasn’t any bread, meat or substance to the breakfast.

But, I’d stay here again just for the room – and go out for breakfast. The host and hostess were very hospitable and got us all the things we needed (iron, ironing board, hair dryer) in a timely manner. Great house.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I've been staying at The Iron Gate Inn since 1991. I have always had an enjoyable stay. The inn is within walking distance to the Utah Shakespearean Festival and downtown Cedar City. The rooms I've stayed in are beautifully decorated and the beds are comfortable. They even have a room with a handicapped accessible shower, which I needed, a couple of years ago. Susan and CR are dedicated innkeepers and see to each patron's needs. Susan makes great breakfasts and can accommodate even the fussiest eaters(I am speaking about myself). One of the highlights for me is sharing a bottle of wine while relaxing on the patio in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLC_JKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

The Iron Gate Inn has it all. Location...walk or bike to local festivals and food. Drive to beautiful parks and lakes. Relaxing is easy in comfortable and clean rooms with private baths. The very best thing about this inn is Susan and CR, they take the time to get to know your name and your needs. They make sure that you have everything you need to feel well cared for. The food was so mouthwatering and beautiful. The only thing I would like more of would be healthy choices for breakfast like yogurt, granola. I hope you enjoy your stay at this inn. P.S. Please keep my secret so they have room for me and my family next time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amocharski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Iron Gate Inn is altogether a perfect place to stay if you're in southern Utah, especially if you are with friends and want to spend time just visiting. The porches and shaded patio and attractive grounds and the house itself offer many places to "hang out" in relative privacy and quiet. The hosts are friendly, attentive, and helpful, but not intrusive. Between the Shakespeare Festival and the nearby national parks, our party of 12 found more than enough to do and see during the week we spent at the Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivash45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

For the most part we enjoyed our stay here. B&Bs are not usually wheelchair accessible but the Iron Gate Inn was. There was a lovely room on the first level with a roll-in shower. the owners kept promising us to bring a bath stool but never did (only asked them 3 times) but made a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disneyfans48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

We were greeted with a cup of tea on a shady patio after a long drive from Moab. Our room was delightful and we had a splendid inexpensive Mexican meal at a nearby restaurant after wandering around the pleasant campus looking at the scuptors and replica globe theatre. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elterwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 23 in Cedar City
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey Inn & Suites
Abbey Inn & Suites
#2 of 23 in Cedar City
994 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#6 of 23 in Cedar City
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn

Address: 100 N 200 W, Cedar City, UT 84720-2536 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range: £84 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of The Iron Gate Inn! An exceptional experience in hospitality. Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 7 exceptional rooms w/private baths. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. We serve special meals for those with dietary restrictions, (fresh just like the breakfast of the day) including lactose free, gluten free, vegetarian and even vegan. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine, iced tea or lemonade. Enjoy the fire pit under a moon lit sky, or our garden Jacuzzi. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi is available throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing