We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good potential” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Rey Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
San Dimas, CA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel in centrally located. Many aspects of the hotel are tired and in need of refurbishment. The new owners have started that process, but I stayed in an older room. The room was good size. While called a "suite," it was actually a large room with a sofa, table, and chairs in addition to a bed. There was also coffee-making equipment and a small refrigerator. My only complaint was the dark picture on the TV, which could not be corrected. Otherwise, the room was comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JoeySSanDimas_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Joey, I appreciate you taking the time to post this review of the Best Western El Rey Inn. You honest feedback is very helpful to both me as the manager and also others who may be traveling to Cedar City. From your description it sounds like you stay in our King Suite. This room has similar amenities to our other rooms, but as you mentioned it is a more spacious room and offers the sofa bed for additional seating or sleeping needs. I apologize that there was an issue with the brightness of the TV. In an effort to avoid this in the future, I have contacted the manufacture for the remedy and found a solution. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while traveling. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    126
    49
    30
    17
See reviews for
113
136
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The room was very clean, the breakfast was nice to have when we had to get out early to go to a soccer tournement in the mornings. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And the location is perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
I hope your team enjoyed their time at the soccer tournament and found success. We really enjoy having sports teams stay us during events in Cedar City or St. George. Thank for this feedback, it is nice to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and enjoyable. I am glad our breakfast times were accommodating for you as well. We hope to see you back again in the future. Best of luck with the rest of your season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
288 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is one of the original Best Western properties that was sold recently. The new owners are remodeling each room, often tearing the room to the bare walls. I had a room yet to be remodeled, yet it was clean and comfortable and had a new excellent mattress. The room was a little dated, but soon (by the beginning of summer), it should be done. The staff and management cared and would do anything to make my stay as good as it could be. The breakfast was only fair, compared to most Best Westerns. Other than waffles, there were no hot entrees. The juice was warm and the pastries and breads were very basic. All in all, this is a very good medium priced property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
I enjoyed spending some time speaking with you during breakfast recently. I also believe that we are getting better and using this feedback will help us. There is a lot of excitement around our remodel both from our staff and from our guests. I appreciate you sharing yours in this review. The items you have mentioned here will be discussed and considered as we continue to progress with our improvements. I really appreciate that you have stayed with us in the past and I hope that we will continue to see you many times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Was in town for a funeral. Got there early and they checked us in. Needed the first floor because of my elderly mother. Needed a late checkout to get ready for the funeral. No problem. Clean and comfortable. Ate breakfast next morning. Lots of variety. Used the internet - no problem. Love that there was a thermostat and didn't have to self adjust the heat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
First, I want to offer my deepest sympathies that your visit with us was preceded by a death. I am grateful that we were able to help you during your stay and hope that you are able to find peace and comfort during your time of mourning. I appreciate you mentioning our ability to accommodate early check-in and late check-out, and the amenities that you enjoyed in the room. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. I hope your next visit is for a more joyful occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

this motel is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are big and comfortable. It was quiet. Based on the price it is a great choice for anyone traveling through Utah. We only stayed one night and this place is very easy to get in and out of for travelers driving.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
John, I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate the comments about your room. We are making improvements to all of our rooms that I am really excited about. I believe these changes will add to the value our guest will enjoy. I would like to invite you back to see the changes next time you are in Cedar City. Your time is important, thank you so much for taking a few minutes to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I had a decent stay at this hotel. Staff are very nice and very caring. Cedar city is a small town, so it is very safe. Lot of restaurants and gas stations around. The room is nice and good enough for one person. The room rate was great as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Your review is greatly appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always working toward gaining our guests approval and loyalty. I value your feedback and will share your compliments with my staff. Thank you for kind words about your stay and also Cedar City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have stayed at this property since the early 1980's and the level of quality and personalized customer service has always been exceptional across all of those years. I highly recommend this property when needing a place to stay when in Color Country.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4EIEIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for your loyalty, not just to the El Rey, but also to SUU. Having repeat guests stay with us means more than I can express. I also appreciate your kind comments about the service you receive. Taking care of our guests is one of our top priorities and an aspect we train on regularly. I hope to meet you during your next stay so I can thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.8 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stratford Court Hotel
Stratford Court Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cedar City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
M-Star Cedar City
M-Star Cedar City
#12 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn & Suites

Property: El Rey Inn & Suites
Address: 80 South Main, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Rey Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Rey Inn & Suites, a hotel where guests will find the best in customer service, convenience and accommodations. Situated in Southern Utah, this Cedar City hotel boasts 70 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor heated swimming pool, and business services. This El Rey Inn & Suites is the closest accommodations to the Utah Shakespeare festival, Southern Utah University and venue for the Utah Summer Games. Hotel guests will enjoy many restaurants, shopping and entertainment options within walking distance from the hotel. Spend an afternoon skiing at the Brian Head Ski Resort, just 29 miles away or visit one of the nearby national parks including Cedar Breaks National Monument, Zion Canyon National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. The friendly, helpful staff at the El Rey Inn & Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Cedar City, Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your El Rey Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cedar City
Cedar City Best Western
El Rey Inn & Suites Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing