We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Pines, N.C., United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Western was great”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Excellent staff, quiet comfortable room. Parking lot was being paved and that created a few parking problems but overall was a good experience. Good easy to find location and the staff advised us of two very good places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We really appreciate your and other guests understanding as we renovate. The paving has continued and opened up a lot more parking. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    132
    52
    32
    18
See reviews for
122
141
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I would not have stayed there had I know the parking lot was under construction. We were put in a room that was a couple hundred feet from the usable parking lot. The remote did not work and the construction went on until almost 9:30 p.m.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank williamj988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the renovations caused during your stay with us. We understand that your stay was not what you expected. We strive to take care of guests the best way possible. When there is an opportunity and availability, we move guests to other rooms to try and avoid potential inconveniences. I took the time to check during your stay and I am sorry that other arrangements were not available during your stay with us. As of 5/23/14 a large portion of the parking lot has been completed and will soon be open. We are really excited about the changes and hope that you give us another opportunity to make a great impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Best Western El Rey is doing a major redo of the hotel and it really is very nice. So close to SUU and main street shops it is perfect for a couple or family. The breakfast is included and it is a full size meal you will not be disappointed with. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and tried to accommodate reasonable requests. It was a very busy weekend and they still had time to stop and ask how your day was going and if they could do any thing to help you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CASS650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Having our guests give us meaningful feedback such as this, during our updating process, is great. Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This Best Western is well worth the money if you're in the area. We used it as a home base while we visited Bryce Canyon National Park & Cedar Breaks National Monument. Cedar City is a college town so there are any number of restaurants & shops. While we were there they were undergoing renovations but it had no material effect on our stay. The staff was just the best & was extremely courteous & helpful to us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dancing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We really appreciate this feedback. We are very glad that our renovations did not have ill effect on your stay with us. Knowing that our efforts are making a difference means a lot to us. We hope you come back to see the finished product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for one night. Hotel is undergoing renovation, so there was construction going on, but that was not an issue. The issue is that when we checked in, the 2 people at the desk were "discussing" whether or not rooms had been cleaned by that point (it was after 3 p.m., but their computer system said some rooms were not ready yet. One person was going by the computer, the other saying "well, they are done by now, just the system isn't updated yet.) As it turns out, when we went to our room, we saw housekeeping still working, so rooms were not finished being cleaned. In our room, it was mostly clean, but I saw urine stains on the toilet seat and had to clean it myself with shower gel and toilet paper. Seems someone is letting the ball drop with housekeeping at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
I am extremely sorry for the conditions of your stay. An issue such as this unacceptable. This is not typical for our hotel and again I am sorry that we did not meet your satisfaction. We would have made every effort to re-service you room had it been brought to our attention while you were with us. Our staff is available 24 hrs a day to assist our guests in any way possible. We strive to make our guests stay enjoyable and memorable. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had stayed here before and expected a clean, nothing fancy, room at a reasonable rate. And that is what we experienced again. We had a king size on the second floor. Good shower, TV size and channels OK. Bed was clean and comfortable. Went to breakfast which was about average for motels these days. Overall an uneventful, average, but OK experience.
What happened next raised my evaluation from average to very good because of the employees and owner. We headed back to the room to get our gear and check out. Entered the elevator and punched 2. It was then I noticed the ominous RED telephone on the elevator wall and made some silly comment about whether it was connected to Putin or the White House. When the elevator stopped the doors did not open. Bumping and grinding noises. I picked up the phone and was quickly connected to the front desk. I explained our plight to a very apologetic girl who assured me she would be right there. We soon heard banging on the door and a voice asking, "Are you in there?" "Yes," More banging then a sad voice that said, "I'll get the maintenance man." After 15 minutes in a cool box that slowly began to slide, no maintenance man, and a voice growing more concerned with the same question, "Are you still in there?", the owner arrived to pry the doors open. By now we were back to the ground floor, or almost, and the owner assisted us stepping down about 18 inches to the ground. Concerned, responsive, good people. And another thing off my bucket list, the unplanned elevator adventure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rash53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
It is refreshing to meet such great people who have a zest for life and the unexpected. I am glad we were able to quickly resolve the situation. I know it was an inconvenience and I really appreciate your patience and understanding. I was able to have the issue fixed and do not anticipate have similar issues in the future. We value our loyal guests and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The room was clean and fresh. No frills, but none expected, and it was great value for the price. It was easy to find in Cedar City and they accepted the Skoosh paperwork without question. Temperature in the room was adjustable - nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Shauna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We are glad your stay was a breeze. Thanks for staying with us! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
0.9 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Cedar City
Ramada Cedar City
#13 of 22 in Cedar City
349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn & Suites

Property: El Rey Inn & Suites
Address: 80 S Main St, Cedar City, UT 84720-3337 (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Rey Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Rey Inn & Suites, a hotel where guests will find the best in customer service, convenience and accommodations. Situated in Southern Utah, this Cedar City hotel boasts 70 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor heated swimming pool, and business services. This El Rey Inn & Suites is the closest accommodations to the Utah Shakespeare festival, Southern Utah University and venue for the Utah Summer Games. Hotel guests will enjoy many restaurants, shopping and entertainment options within walking distance from the hotel. Spend an afternoon skiing at the Brian Head Ski Resort, just 29 miles away or visit one of the nearby national parks including Cedar Breaks National Monument, Zion Canyon National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. The friendly, helpful staff at the El Rey Inn & Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Cedar City, Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Rey Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cedar City
Cedar City Best Western
El Rey Inn & Suites Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing