We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choice when attending Utah Shakespeare Festival”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“First choice when attending Utah Shakespeare Festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Established in Cedar City and constantly working to update facilities and the hospitality experience. Reasonable Rates for good sized rooms. Just two blocks from the Shakespeare Festival Grounds. Light breakfast has one of the best selections of fruits, cereals, juices, hard boiled eggs and waffles of its kind.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty. It is an honor to have you as a guest with us year after year. Your comments about our efforts to improve the property mean a great deal. It is fun to hear feedback from our repeat guests about the improvements we are making. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    128
    51
    30
    17
See reviews for
116
137
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is walking distance to the Shakespeare Festival. The rooms are a little dark but very quiet with comfortable beds. The breakfast had something for everyone--even my gluten-free daughter. The staff were outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are glad to hear that the breakfast met your needs. We are happy you chose to stay with us during the Shakespeare Festival. We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We really enjoyed staying here. It was only two blocks from the Shakespearean Festival. The room had been remodeled and was great. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and knowledge able. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank WMagaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are grateful you stayed with us during your trip to Cedar City. We are really excited about the future construction happening with the Shakespeare Festival. With our renovations and their constructions, we are looking forward to a great future. We hope to see you for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

No doubt about it, this is extremely convenient for the Shakespeare festival, just a leisurely 2 block walk. Rooms in new extension are extremely cramped, bathroom has a ridiculously oversized wash stand which forces the toilet into a cramped corner, only comfortably accessible if you are around a size 6, plus size may find it almost impossible. Rooms have full windows on both sides and look out on car parks, felt like I was in a tube in a car park. Breakfast was just so so, nothing special.

Room Tip: don't stay in the new extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We really appreciate the feedback on your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused during your stay. We are working with the contractor to get the bathroom spacing corrected. We do hope you will visit us again and give us another chance to make a great impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This seems to be 1 of 2 BW hotels within blocks of each other, this one might be
the older of the two. But my room, near the pool, was a LARGE king bedded room, so
not sure about these other reviews(?). Had a fridge, microwave, coffemaker, wifi and the
complementary breakfast had all the normal offerings. Staff was pleasant.
Would stay here again if transitting area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbB2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We appreciate all the comments we receive. The great thing about guests, they each have different expectations. We Strive to meet and exceed them. We treasure the times that we do and learn from the times we fall short. This is one of our joys of our industry and our responsibility. Thank you for staying with us and offering your experiences. We look forward to seeing you again next time you pass through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hualapai Mtn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Experience a no tell motel at the Best Western El Ray Inn and Tiny Room at Cedar City, UT. Walk in room and and back out to leave. Shower becomes a swimming pool due to the poor drainage. The old ac unit too noisy to sleep with. Remodeling job would never pass a building inspector's check list. Not remodeled as told to us, just redecorated. Floor uneven, creaks and feels like you will fall in if you are not careful. Cracks in door allow weather to come in (or seep out) Lights from cars come through the door and flash on the walls. Echo of traffic on three sides. Had to pay three times as much as the room was worth. Very small and crowded. Choose the BW Town and Country Inn three blocks north. You will be much happier with your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. The satisfaction of our guest is a priority. We have a rich history at the El Rey that takes us back to the 1940's. A large number of our guests have a tradition of staying with us for more than 50 years. We have received great comments and encouragement concerning our progress. We really appreciate the feedback from our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platteville, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I was traveling with my two kids and dog. Staff was courteous and professional at all times. The property was being renovated while we were there and the front entrance was closed temporarily(had to drive around), but our room was nice. It had nice newer hardwood-looking tile which was nice and didn't seem to give that stuffy hotel room smell and seems cleaner overall. It is an older property so the room was smaller and we only had one chair in the room so we all had to eat our pizza while sitting on the beds! But even though it was smaller, there was no room above us so there was no noise coming from above to worry about. Beds were clean and comfy, we had a microwave and small fridge in the room. I was pleasantly surprised to find they had a kiddie pool and my 8 year old LOVED that their pool was 7 feet deep! But while I was at the pool with my kids, 3 boys that I had seen on skateboards that were clearly not guest made their way into the pool. As I was contemplating calling the front desk about this, the manager came and asked them to leave. I was very impressed and glad she did that.... They are a pet friendly hotel and I actually really enjoyed walking my dog out behind the property. There is a nice residential area behind the property and some decent grassy areas where it was ok to walk my dog. I wish there was more trash cans back there to dispose of dog waste, but for the price, it was great value. I would definitely recommend Cedar City and El Rey Inn!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tiriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch S, General Manager at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
The recent addition of pet rooms to our hotel has been proved to be a very positive thing. We are happy to accommodate your pets and offer a grassy place for them to play and such. We will be adding garbage facilities and bags to pick up after pets shortly. We are glad to hear your children enjoyed the pool. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
0.8 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Inn
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
0.1 mi away
M-Star Cedar City
M-Star Cedar City
#11 of 22 in Cedar City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stratford Court Hotel
Stratford Court Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cedar City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn & Suites

Property: El Rey Inn & Suites
Address: 80 South Main, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Rey Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Rey Inn & Suites, a hotel where guests will find the best in customer service, convenience and accommodations. Situated in Southern Utah, this Cedar City hotel boasts 70 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor heated swimming pool, and business services. This El Rey Inn & Suites is the closest accommodations to the Utah Shakespeare festival, Southern Utah University and venue for the Utah Summer Games. Hotel guests will enjoy many restaurants, shopping and entertainment options within walking distance from the hotel. Spend an afternoon skiing at the Brian Head Ski Resort, just 29 miles away or visit one of the nearby national parks including Cedar Breaks National Monument, Zion Canyon National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. The friendly, helpful staff at the El Rey Inn & Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Cedar City, Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Rey Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cedar City
Cedar City Best Western
El Rey Inn & Suites Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing