We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular State Capitol”

Arkansas State Capitol
Ranked #6 of 92 things to do in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this government building that sits on a knoll, overlooking downtown to the east and the Arkansas river to the north, and bears a striking resemblance to the U.S. Capitol building.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
163 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Spectacular State Capitol”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What a magnificent building, and the grounds with its various statues and memorials were wonderful, too. Stop first at the info desk where they have great free guide books, one for the building and one for the grounds. The latter includes descriptions of the trees and flowers also found there. Take time to explore the whole building since there are some interesting displays along the way about the history of Arkansas, the building of the State Capitol, etc. There's a new firefighters' memorial outside at the back of the building which shouldn't be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    110
    31
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horn Lake, Mississippi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I recently visited on a Sunday morning and except for the officer we were the only ones there. Impressive building inside and equally impressive outside. I wish we were there when they were giving guided tours as I felt we missed a lot. But it's easy to get to and if you're a fan of history then it's well worth a stop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigLarryLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Entrance hidden”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The entrance is not at the top of the stairs & no signs directing you to the entrance. It is on the ground level behind the stairs. Staff very helpful so check in at the desk when you arrive. There is a video in the lobby, but we didn't watch it. 14 parking spaces in a lot on the corner for visitors and parking around the building. Not on trolley line. Probably can spend an hour or a little over to view inside "all doors that are unlocked". We have been to several state capitols. Oklahoma is the best by far. It is a virtual art museum inside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank joann09134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great and tourist-friendly”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We from East Germany visited about 1 week ago on our 3-week tour leading us through 7 states. Came on a Sunday morning and no guide was present. We were waiting for about 1 hour and the police present did not inform us although hearing us speaking in a foreign language and as it was obvious that we were waiting for the promoted tour - unusual for the US and not tourist-friendly. However, in terms of available brochures etc. this was one of the best capitols (of the 6 we visited this time) we have seen. Very beautiful, clean and interesting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MHGer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very informative and a must see for anyone! Lots of history to share, as well as movies that the capital was in (instead of the real capital). Brought exchange students to see and it was a hit. Will come back every year. I really enjoyed myself as well!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arkansas State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Arkansas State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing