We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Museum Worth Visiting”

Historic Arkansas Museum
Ranked #17 of 91 things to do in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recalling Arkansas' frontier days with restored pre-Civil War houses plus a museum center featuring full-scale galleries, interactive exhibits and more.
Texas
Level Contributor
1,252 reviews
338 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,686 helpful votes
“A Museum Worth Visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

At the Historic Arkansas Museum I walked through the various galleries which contained an eclectic collection of exhibits – art from Arkansas artists, an exhibit devoted to firefighters, history of the Bowie knife, and the Caddo, Osage, and Quapaw in Arkansas. After visiting the museum galleries, I went to the historic grounds, for which a small fee is charged, containing a restored half-block of the original city of Little Rock and a 1850s farmstead. In the historic ground there were docents dressed in period costumes who provided an overview of life in early Arkansas. In front of the museum is a sculpture – Party for Peg – created by Arkansas artist Alice Guffey Miller in tribute to museum volunteer Peg Smith. My visit to this museum was well worth the time I spent there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    17
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The old buildings on the site are vey nice to visit. I would recommend a trip to this museum. The tour includes short, great theatrical interpretation of someone who lived there. It only takes a couple of hours to see it all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heber Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Neat little place in near the RiverMarket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

If you are a history buff, you will love this place! It is set up like the late 1800's early 1900's. Slavery is reenacted, blacksmithing, etc are there to view. Also, an Indian artifact room is indoors... although the employees didn't really let us touch much.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Annod2199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossett, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem in downtown Little Rock!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I love this place. Time ran out and I didn't get to see the rest of the historic homes and inside galleries, but we'll be back. Tabby, who is working hard inside the Brownlee kitchen, is not to be missed! If you love history, you'll enjoy this little treasure. Staff is very helpful and the grounds are just amazing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back in time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The museum itself contains all kinds of exhibits eg. the native inhabitants, the Bowie knife and some art. The outerpark has replica's of house's from that time. Inside are reenacting people telling you what/how things happended those days. Nice gren place in the middle of the city.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vernolleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Arkansas Museum also viewed

 

Been to Historic Arkansas Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing