We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Downtown Conference Center
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Little Rock
Reviewed 25 July 2005

We stayed at the Clarion for a religious convention at the end of July, 2005. Although the hotel was obviously filled to capacity, we received exceptional service and did not find the common areas to be too crowded.
One of the four elevators was out of order for our stay, but we did not have to wait long for an elevator up to our 11th floor room.

The hotel employees were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful to the guests. I even observed a hotel maintenance person out and about and carrying on friendly conversation with some kids headed down to the pool.

The Clarion has been redecorated recently, and has a beautiful lobby with marble tile and dark wood accents. There were several sitting areas, as well as the Broadway Cafe/Lounge with nightly entertainment.

The room was very CLEAN and quiet. The A/C kept it at a comfortable temperature even the weekend's temperatures climbed above the 100 degree mark. I was very impressed by the bathroom with a large vanity and spacious tub w/ shower. Our family of 4 (kids are aged 3 and 5) shared a king bed room. We requested a cot which was quickly delivered to our room after our arrival. The furniture was nice. A new large flat screened television was in a light colored wood armoire next to a large computer desk with free high speed internet. The bed had two nice matching end tables and an adjacent sitting chair w/ ottoman. There was also a large roll arm bench next to the armoire making for plenty of sitting space.

The pool was inviting to the kids, but there was not much sitting space around it. Since we have access to a private family pool back home that has a special filtering system that uses very little chlorine, we're a little spoiled. We didn't bother to take advantage of it on our trip.

The Clarion is in a great location, within walking distance of many things, and a short drive to others. We would have liked to be able to explore Little Rock more further than a few restaurants, but we were time constrained on our trip. I would not hesitate to stay at the Clarion again. Next time we may look at getting a suite. I'm assuming these rooms have a refrigerator/microwave, as ours did not.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deb1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 633 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2005

Note: This property was most recently the Radisson Hotel.

I was slated to play a concert with the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra as part of Little Rock’s RiverFest on May 29. Since I had enough Choice Points for a free one-night stay, I decided to come in a day early so I could relax & enjoy myself a bit.

LOCATION

The Clarion Hotel is located in downtown Little Rock on the southeast corner of Broadway and Sixth. For those of you wanting to retrace President Clinton’s footsteps in Little Rock, the McDonald’s across the street is the place he often stopped during his famous morning jogs. Politics aside, the Clarion is very easy to find – just a few blocks north of I-630. Parking my car during check-in was a bit problematic, as the drive-up area was already fully occupied by other Memorial Day weekenders. The good news is the attached garage is free, so I was able to find a spot to park the car without worrying about having to move the car.

The building appears nondescript, albeit well maintained, on the outside. The Clarion Hotel was a Holiday Inn about a dozen years ago, and most recently, a Radisson. The current owners have renovated the property.
Downtown Little Rock has improved greatly over the past few years, so there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. If you’re interested in exploring the city, such lovely shopping, dining and entertainment districts as The Heights, Hillcrest and Riverdale are only a 15-20 minute drive away. Be sure to get a good map before setting out, however – Little Rock can be confusing to the visitor.

CHECK-IN

Check-in was relatively smooth. Even though the hotel was busy, as evidenced by the large number of people in the lobby, the staff moved along quickly so I didn’t have to wait more than a couple of minutes for service. The clerk was efficient and helpful – the epitome of Little Rock hospitality. Within five minute I had my key and was on my way to my room.

MY ROOM

I had single room (king bed) on the 11th floor. The room was obviously redecorated recently, and was decorated in muted peach tones. Besides the reasonably comfortable king bed, the room had a desk and office chair, a wing chair and ottoman (rather hard), and an armoire containing a large, flat-screen TV with a better-than-average selection of channels (although some of the channels, including at least one of the local channels were not coming through clearly). The “closet” consisted of a small alcove with rack, hangers, a shelf, iron and ironing board. There was a full-length mirror nearby to check on the grooming. Internet access (both high speed and dial-up) is available at no charge. The carpet, wallpaper and furnishings were brand new – nary a scratch or stain to be found. That was the good news.

The not-so-good news was the quality of the furniture, while not bad, was not up to the standards of a first-rate hotel. Probably the best way to describe the furnishings was Sears décor – not terrible, but not outstanding, either. I looked out my window (facing Broadway) and had a scenic view of the parking lot across the street. At least I could see the Arkansas State Capitol in the distance. Another oddity was the lack of a hotel directory of services. Hopefully that was just an oversight.

But no matter. I was there for only a night and did not intend to stay in my room very long. In addition to the furnishings being in good condition (save for the poor reception on some TV channels), the room was very clean – and quiet! Even though the hotel was busy over the holiday weekend, I didn’t hear one peep from other rooms – or the hallway. Not even doors slamming. I did get some noise from fire trucks outside – but that’s to be expected in a downtown hotel.

THE BATHROOM

Actually, the bathroom was probably the best part of my stay at the Clarion. While the bathroom wasn’t huge, it wasn’t tiny, either – and it was nice.

The first thing I noticed was the vanity had a granite top – much classier than the furniture, as a matter of fact. There were shelves on either side of the vanity – one side held a coffee maker and the usual condiments, the other a large, insulated ice bucket with real glasses. A hair dryer is mounted on the wall. Toiletries (shampoo, body lotion and mouthwash) were Neutrogena products. Towels were plentiful, soft and absorbent. The plumbing fixtures were of a higher quality than one normally finds at Clarion hotels. Water pressure was good, and I had not problems with temperature.

The real “star” of the bathroom was the bath/shower. The tub has a non-slip surface that’s more effective than most. The showerhead was placed higher than usual, so tall persons won’t have to stoop down to take a shower. The shower curtain rod curves outwards to create more room. A very nice feature is the waterproof light in the shower. With the shower light and curtain, you get a feeling of spaciousness as you shower.

PUBLIC AREAS

The lobby is furnished in handsome dark wood paneling, and has several inviting lounge/conversation areas where people were gathered to visit. A desk in the lobby has a plethora of brochures for area attractions. I wish they had street maps for Little Rock, however. The business center, restaurant and bar are located off the main lobby, but I didn’t visit any of them. There are various meeting rooms on the east end of the ground floor. I passed by the swimming pool, and noticed it’s eentsy-teentsy. There isn’t even much room on the deck, so it’s not a very good spot for sunbathing, either. It didn’t seem very well suited to exercise, nor to entertaining the kids.

OVERALL IMPRESSION

The Clarion Hotel is back in good shape. It’s not a glamour spot – if you desire more fashionable surroundings and have the bucks, stay at the Peabody or the beautiful, historic Capitol Hotel. This hotel didn’t seem particularly inviting for children, either. But if you basically want a good, clean, quiet, reasonably comfortable room at a less expensive price, the Clarion might fit your needs.

Hopefully the current owners will maintain the property better than the previous owners.

Clarion Hotel
617 South Broadway
Little Rock, AR 72201
(---)
Standard rates: 89.95 (two doubles or one King); 159.95 (king bed suite)

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank m2violin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank braunschweigtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alimta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BO1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Rock
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Presidential
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frederica
Hotel Frederica
#55 of 64 in Little Rock
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Presidential Downtown Little Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Little Rock - West
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Texarkana Arkansas Convention Center
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Little Rock-Airport-Conf Ctr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Downtown Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Downtown Conference Center

Address: 617 Broadway St, Little Rock, AR 72201-4119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range: £48 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Downtown Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Downtown Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Little Rock Downtown Hotel Little Rock
La Quinta Inn And Suites Little Rock Downtown
La Quinta Little Rock
Little Rock La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing