We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Surprise”
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2008

I was here for a convention mid-January and had no choice as to my accommodations and had never been to Little Rock. This hotel has been only reopened for a couple of months after a $24 million dollar renovation, and it is absolutely top notch. The staff is incredibly welcoming and warm. The service in Ashley's was impeccable and the cuisine was out of this world. I'll be honest...the meals were part of the convention I was involved in, but if the preparation and quality of what they served us is part of their normal routine, then future guests are in for a treat. One of the finest Syrah's I've ever had, Tensley's from Santa Barbara, was served at dinner. The chef was also very cordial and gave us a tour of the kitchen and wine cellar.

My room was very comfortable. Very high ceilings and really comfortable bedding, HDTV, robes, nice toiletries.

Whatever brings you to Little Rock, you cannot find a better hotel. Historic, welcoming, not stuffy but exquisite. One of the best experiences I've had in a hotel. Really. And I swear I don't work for them! Actually, I'm in the travel business, and other businesses beside travel could learn a lot from their customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ITCruisesVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for The Capital Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2007

I had seen this hotel being renovated and was looking forward to staying there. It truly is beautiful. I felt the old character remained intact while providing luxurious accomodations. The lobby feels much as I am sure it did when it originally opened. The mosaic tiles were obviously the originals...restored. We booked a deluxe suite and it was absolutely gorgeous and the largest hotel room I have ever stayed in.. The rate was $259., which is definitely higher than the Peabody across the street. It would have been $109. The bathroom is what really hooked me. It reminded me of the Mandarin Oriental in New York. Luxury all the way. Huge separate walk in shower, large soaking tub, water closet and Molton toiletries. One BIG problem for us was the extra firm bed...some may like that. For that reason only, we most likely will stay at the Peabody from now on. Their mattresses are heavenly. We also ate dinner at Ashley's in the hotel. That was a bit disappointing and breakfast was actually awful.

The hotel had been reopened for less than a week and hopefully Ashley's will improve.

The huge elevator is so unique. It was used by a Colonel to take his horse to the top floor...at least that is what we were told.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank ewr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es un hotel caro pero vale la pena tan siquiera para ir a cenar o tomarse una copa
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takakokatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
Thank Emmanuel811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank ellsant369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
7.4 mi away
The Burgundy Hotel
The Burgundy Hotel
#3 of 64 in Little Rock
884 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#13 of 64 in Little Rock
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#15 of 64 in Little Rock
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Presidential
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 111 W Markham St, Little Rock, AR 72201-1507
Region: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range: £165 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing