We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Although this was not the hotel we originally were slated to stay in for our visit, Im glad the arrangements were changed because this hotel was a pleasure from the moment I stepped in the front door. Orignally built in 1877, this classic hotel was painstakingly and successfully refurbished in 2007.

The doormen, bellpersons and front desk staff were warm, gracious and efficient without being cheesy. The open, well-lit marble and tile foyer with it’s 3rd story stained glass atrium is well-appointed and welcoming if not grand in the Southern style. Even the stylish exterior is clean, well maintained and much more attractive than the neighboring modern architecture.

The ballroom of an elevator is larger than any other I’ve ever seen (outside of a freight elevator) and has a simple chandelier and room for a small bench.

The guestroom I had was large with high ceilings, tasteful lighting, bathrobes, a guest safe and roomy closet. Live orchids, soft (digital cable) music and comfortable, quality furniture made this room a real pleasure to walk into.

The spacious bathroom was nicely supplied with quality amenities, though the towels could have been a little softer. The shower/bath is wonderful. The only problem (plumbing issue) was quickly resolved within 10 min after calling the front desk.

Free “instant-on” in-room wireless internet connection was a pleasant surprise compared to those “click here, do this, accept that” types.

The Capital Bar and Grill in the lobby is a nice place for an after (or before) dinner drink or meal. The glaring HD televisions however, do distract from the otherwise mellow atmosphere.

Highly recommend this hotel especially for a place to bring someone special.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank jonnymint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2008

There is little enough reason to enjoy hotels these days. They are run by people who have franchises or work for one and have as much feeling for entertaining guests as people as MacDonald's has for haute cuisine. The Capital is different. It is a throwback to a kinder gentler time. If you want to haggle over prices in New York style, don't come here. If you think Victorian elegance is run down, don't even walk in the door. If you only like hotel restaurants with pictures on the menus, please stay someplece better left to ducks. If you are looking for a place to consort with one of those short stay companions, well, you know, please keep them out of the lobby and restaurant. If you are from the North and feel people of color or not who are trying to be courteous and helpful are sizing you up, or are poor and oppressed, please stay away.
The Capital does offer the best restaurant in the South. My mama always told me to never eat in the hotel where I was staying but that is bad advice. The coffee shop and grill is a treasure. The Lobby and Mezanine is just as it was when cotton was sold in the meeting rooms. The rooms and furniture are elegant and the service is only slow when you act like a jackass. There are a few other genuine hotels left in the South like in Greenwood, Miss. but the experience is so delightful, don't miss it.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank JWGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

Stayed at the re-vamped Capital Hotel while visiting my family in Arkansas.

Hotel is more elegant and sophisticated that any other lodging in Little Rock -- but falls a little short of the "world class" hotel The Stephens Family (the owners and BMOC in Little Rock) promises.

Had to visit my family and booked last minute. Was quoted that standard $199 rate for a basic room but, knowing it was January and the hotel wasn't full, I asked if they could do better and was given a room for $159 a night. (Which is a bargain, considering that the less elegant Marriot and Hilton where both quoting $139 a night.)

Hotel is beautiful -- a grand old dame -- that exudes elegance of 19th century South. Marble columns in the entry, a grand lobby, with a huge stair case set behind classic seating areas.

The basic room -- while not huge -- is quite comfortable with good beds, smooth linens, flat screen television and nice furnishings. Bathrooms are nice but with Molton Brown products inside (try finding upscale products in any other LR hotels). Tub was a disappointment, just a standard basic sized bath hotel bath tub. Basic rooms feel just a tad small...

I asked to see the larger and more expensive rooms and they were quite a leap ahead -- more comparable to Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton rooms (with big tubs, separate baths, and lots of space). If you can afford it, spring for one of these.

The Capital Bar and Ashleys both serve great food. Capital Bar has update twists on Southern food -- catfish, black eyed peas, etc -- but with a more cosmopolitan bent. Included in the dishes are a pate, a nice cheese plate, and more. Ashley's is an upscale place with a great tasting menu and a French bent. But if you are looking for something less heavy, you need to venture own the road to some of the other places near the River Market.

OK complaints:

The Stephens Family spent a lot of money on this place and kudos to them for making Little Rock a little more upscale. BUT they could have made the basic rooms a little bigger with bigger baths. And added barstools to The Capital Bar. (The wood paneled bar is great but you need to be able to sip a cocktail by a bar!) And added more services. There is no exercise room. YES you get free access to The Athletic Club in The Stephens Building BUT this is almost two blocks away. Who wants to wake up and walk two blocks to work out? No minibars in the room. On the night I checked in, I called room service at 11:30 PM and asked if I could get a Makers Mark before bed. The person who answered said "wow I don't know. Let me check" then came back after a long time to say that the bar was closed and the alcohol locked away. A hotel like this should allow for a drink in the room past 11.

But these are small complaints. The service is great. The location can't be beat -- right by great places to eat and nightlife. A BIG step up for Little Rock. And certainly better than the Peabody, which feels like an 80s disaster.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank crashbpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

I was here for a convention mid-January and had no choice as to my accommodations and had never been to Little Rock. This hotel has been only reopened for a couple of months after a $24 million dollar renovation, and it is absolutely top notch. The staff is incredibly welcoming and warm. The service in Ashley's was impeccable and the cuisine was out of this world. I'll be honest...the meals were part of the convention I was involved in, but if the preparation and quality of what they served us is part of their normal routine, then future guests are in for a treat. One of the finest Syrah's I've ever had, Tensley's from Santa Barbara, was served at dinner. The chef was also very cordial and gave us a tour of the kitchen and wine cellar.

My room was very comfortable. Very high ceilings and really comfortable bedding, HDTV, robes, nice toiletries.

Whatever brings you to Little Rock, you cannot find a better hotel. Historic, welcoming, not stuffy but exquisite. One of the best experiences I've had in a hotel. Really. And I swear I don't work for them! Actually, I'm in the travel business, and other businesses beside travel could learn a lot from their customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ITCruisesVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2007

I had seen this hotel being renovated and was looking forward to staying there. It truly is beautiful. I felt the old character remained intact while providing luxurious accomodations. The lobby feels much as I am sure it did when it originally opened. The mosaic tiles were obviously the originals...restored. We booked a deluxe suite and it was absolutely gorgeous and the largest hotel room I have ever stayed in.. The rate was $259., which is definitely higher than the Peabody across the street. It would have been $109. The bathroom is what really hooked me. It reminded me of the Mandarin Oriental in New York. Luxury all the way. Huge separate walk in shower, large soaking tub, water closet and Molton toiletries. One BIG problem for us was the extra firm bed...some may like that. For that reason only, we most likely will stay at the Peabody from now on. Their mattresses are heavenly. We also ate dinner at Ashley's in the hotel. That was a bit disappointing and breakfast was actually awful.

The hotel had been reopened for less than a week and hopefully Ashley's will improve.

The huge elevator is so unique. It was used by a Colonel to take his horse to the top floor...at least that is what we were told.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank ewr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es un hotel caro pero vale la pena tan siquiera para ir a cenar o tomarse una copa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takakokatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
7.4 mi away
The Burgundy Hotel
The Burgundy Hotel
#3 of 64 in Little Rock
895 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#13 of 64 in Little Rock
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#15 of 64 in Little Rock
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Presidential
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 111 W Markham St, Little Rock, AR 72201-1507
Region: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range: £161 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing