We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th Anniversary”
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
searcy, ar
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“40th Anniversary”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Our celebration was so special! Karen greeted us as we arrived and escorted us to our room. Our dinner at the Grill was more special than ever. And breakfast at Ashley's was super from the War Eagle Mill steel cut oats & grits to the poached eggs & house cut smoked bacon! All Arkansas made foods! Our table server was extra attentive!! Gary, the car attendant was pleasant and took me to my car with umbrella! We do come to the Grill often but the hotel stay is an extra special Southern treat not to be missed!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank karyandrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    58
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
102
230
32
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I stayed with two couples from California and were treated to excellent service, clean rooms and amazing dining. This was the first trip to the Capital for our California friends and they could not stop talking about the professinalism and great service.
My wife and I plan on returning in December for our third visit and are really looking forward to another luxurious stay. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Little Rock.

Room Tip: The second floor has couches where you can take your drink from the Bar & Grill and enjoy a quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rp-yp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The Capital is a beautiful hotel dating to 1870 and restored to elegance. The rooms are spacious, very attractive and well appointed. The common areas are equally lovely. Ashley's is a first rate restaurant but the best experience may well be the Bar and Grill whether just having a drink or eating a light lunch.

The staff are very well trained and extremely professional while maintaining a very customer friendly attitude.

It is located close to Robinson Auditorium, the Convention Center, the River Market District with its bars and restaurants and the Clinton Presidential Library.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I left my iPad in the hotel room. Only realized once I got to the airport and was through security. I called the hotel and they found it, had a driver bring it to the airport. The driver came in and delivered to security for me! I was so pleased and appreciative! Their customer service was amazing the entire week. The toffee on my pillow each night was delicious! Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here over a weekend and ate in both restaurants. It is such a lovely hotel. The service was absolutely impeccable. Upon check in, I was walked up to my room and shown the amenities etc. Nothing was too much trouble. I absolutely loved the large elevator (quite a surprise). The room itself was relatively small but it had an area to sit and read a book. I loved the Molton Brown products and the shower was really nice. My sleep was badly disturbed but that, as I would later discover, is that the hotel uses feathers/goose for pillows. I should have called down in the middle of the night but didn't. If that's an issue - highlight this upon check in and they will switch out your pillows. While they served coffee downstairs in the morning, I would have preferred coffee making facilities in my room. The hotel has a relaxing seated area on the mezzanine level and and outside balcony. Overall, a delightful experience and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunnerJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This beautiful, historic hotel gave us one of the best stays we have every had, and we've stayed in a lot of great hotels around the world. The people were wonderful and we felt so soothed and relaxed, so comfortable and coddled that I just want to move in and live there! We were there with a wedding group and I was so appreciative to the mother-of-the-bride for arranging this Little Rock serendipity! Food in both Ashley's and The Capital Grill were delicious--make sure you get some of their house-prepared bacon for breakfast.
The lobby and mezzanine are large and filled with comfortable furnishings. The is a great little Men's Shop, Bauman's, off the lobby. It has gorgeous high end clothing and it's pricey, but Fred was a great help and some of the items were on sale for a phenomenal value.
Service throughout our stay was exception and friendly; we never saw a sullen face nor a reluctant gesture. The staff members from every department were great. (I was told many were transplants from the New Orleans hospitality business that moved to LR after Katrina.)
I would give The Capital Hotel my very highest, unqualified recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmsalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is hotel is a must stay. Central location, kind staff, Historical physical plant. We want to go back...We felt welcome and wanted. The check in process was handled by Amanda and she is a star. In the Bar Tyson is amazing. The hotel has many quality staff members.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
7.4 mi away
The Burgundy Hotel
The Burgundy Hotel
#3 of 63 in Little Rock
871 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#13 of 63 in Little Rock
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#15 of 63 in Little Rock
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 111 W Markham St, Little Rock, AR 72201-1507
Region: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing