We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, TX
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The only way I can describe this hotel is to say "WOW". Having been fortunate to visit a number of 5 star hotels I can honestly say that this one truly stands out. Most of the time you are in an incredible location with a great hotel however The Capital was the location and the sights and sounds of down town Little Rock were just an added benefit. Their promise of "Southern Comfortable" was not only delivered but was more than expected. From the moment of arrival to the sad farewell our stay at the Capital was nothing but perfect. I thank all of the staff for their efforts in making the "1st year anniversary" a wonderful memory.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjtravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    58
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
102
230
32
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our family stayed here for one night 12/30/13. We were in awe of the beautiful architecture, the amazing live Christmas tree filling the lobby, the attentive staff, and the extra touches added here. Staff was able to accommodate our oversize vehicle, immediately delivered extra toiletries and a rollaway bed, and my teens loved the complimentary slippers and toffee. We ate at the grill for dinner - best burger ever, and Ashley's for breakfast. The food is simply amazing and a very fair price for the quality and style of dining offered. Loved every minute of this short visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Capital Hotel due to some friends of our getting married in the Clinton Library right down the road. During the holiday season, the hotel is fabulously decorated for the Christmas season, with a live 45-food Christmas tree in the center of the lobby. A Santa Claus was there both on Friday night and some on Saturday night taking pictures, and there was a choir that sang on Saturday morning. The Capital Hotel was most of the highlight of the entire weekend- as it was so very relaxing. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were extremely soft. We didn't have a single issue with the room the entire time we were there, and we were most at "home" when we were in the room. We ordered breakfast both mornings in our room, and it was extremely good, even though it was $18 plus $3 delivery fee and included 18% gratuity. While pricy, it was all definitely worth it. Any future trips back to the Little Rock area and we will definitely stay at the Capital Hotel. We were both extremely impressed at the customer service that this hotel was able to give us.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is a good location to get away from all of the rest of the commotion. The second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SupernovaEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have stayed at the Capital Hotel a handful of times and it has never been a disappointment. First-class service and a real attention to detail. Fresh flowers in all rooms, greeted in the room with local bottled water and spicy-sweet pecans. Fluffy bathrobes and slippers. Pecan toffee with the turn down service. If you want a more casual dining experience or just a drink - The Capital Bar food is tasty and their cocktails are excellent. The hotel restaurant, Ashley's, has a new French chef and the menu is phenomenal. We opted for the Oxford Southern American package which included valet parking, two cocktails at the bar, and 3 course meal for two at Ashley's. Excellent value. This is the only hotel to stay at when visiting Little Rock.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary. The staff is beyond words. Friendly and attentive. They seriously take care of every single detail. The amazing service is what makes this hotel so wonderful. It is an older hotel but very well taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllieCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A beautiful, restored, old hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Loved our "enhanced" room and our breakfasts. Chef prepared a dinner to be remembered--the size portions that we should always eat! Very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotel I've ever stayed in...and that includes the Four Seasons Hotels (I've stayed at 3). First of all, the hotel is an historic hotel which means that it is an older hotel of some historic significance. The ambiance of the hotel is understated elegance. The lobby is very large; the ceiling is 3 stories up and has a huge stained glass window. Lovely architectural detail is everywhere. The floors have original ceramic inlaid tiles. The furniture and decorations are in good taste.

O.K., now let me tell you about our room. It was huge. Two beds, a sofa and matching chairs, a large card table-sized table with 4 chairs around it. There was an armoire, lamps everywhere (I'm a reader--need good lights!), etc., etc. Gorgeous linens on the beds. Next, the bathroom: easily 15' X 10'. A whirlpool bath, separate shower and separate compartment for the toilet. The hotel is so intent on detail that you do not see maids going up and down the hallways pushing those not-so-attractive carts. Instead, in the middle of the night, square wicker baskets with fitting canvas tops printed with the hotel logo, are set outside your door. When you are out, the maids whip in, change your sheets and towels.

The employees: totally professional and very personable. We loved them all.

We ate in the bar several times while we were there. Handsome room (reportedly where the Clintons sometimes hang out). Well trained and friendly wait-staff. The maitre-d, Ben, was extremely accommodating and totally enjoyable talk with. Good, food which leans toward Southern cooking (country fried steak with white gravy), but lots of other type of dishes. You MUST have breakfast in the main dining room. I have never, ever eaten such wonderful breakfast food. Examples: fresh cut bacon slabs, sort of gourmet grits (!), steel cut oats (on the premises) pancakes.

Wonderful, quick room service.

Have I convinced you? Have I mentioned that Little Rock is a fascinating city loaded with history and lovely houses?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
7.4 mi away
The Burgundy Hotel
The Burgundy Hotel
#3 of 63 in Little Rock
871 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#13 of 63 in Little Rock
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
Doubletree Hotel Little Rock
#15 of 63 in Little Rock
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 111 W Markham St, Little Rock, AR 72201-1507
Region: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing