We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best green chiles Queso tamales in El Paso”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gussie's Tamales and Bakery
Ranked #483 of 1,546 Restaurants in El Paso
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Restaurant details
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Best green chiles Queso tamales in El Paso”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Gussies is a bakery that is so busy during Christmas that many stand out in the cold just to get some tamales, the wonderful Mexican corn meal covered treat wrapped in a corn husk. I love love love the green chiles queso (green chile with white cheese) tamales. The red chile pork is wonderful as is the green chile chicken tamales, but for more of a treat i really prefer queso. I also recommend the sweet tamales, even though i know some of you don't do sweet.
While you're there pick up the little dinner rolls they bake on premise. Unlike anything you can find elsewhere.
Gussie's is a good place for good food to go. Call them in advance to make sure they have tamales for that time. You'd be surprised how often they sell out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELPRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“YUMM!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stopped for a bit of tasty treats before we headed off on the scenic drive around the city!! Good variety of Mexican style pastries.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hilite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el paso, tx
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Badder tamales”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This place used to be good but the person out front is obnoxious and the tamales I have bought recently had little to no filling or were from a few "days ago." The red were dry and old. the green fresh but no cheese and chile inside. Find a better place. I got yelled at by the cashier for putting a tissue wax paper on my tray when I was picking out cookies. Insulting for no reason. .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marthaElPaso_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el paso, tx
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bad tamales”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I boght tamales here for years- usually eh green chile/chees or chicken. Last week I went there for tamales.and ther was little to no green chile in any and no cheese.just specks of cheese. There is little quality control now - maybe wait til Christmas time and the tamales will get better. Not now. The attutude of the woman at the cashier was arrogant and pushy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marthaElPaso_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
1,195 reviews
600 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 787 helpful votes
“Delicious chicken and green chili tamale”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I am not an expert on tamale's however I found the green chili and chicken tamale's that I purchased to be the best I have ever eaten. They seem to have a nice selection of Mexican bakery items as well as some items that might appear in a non-Mexican bakery as well. There was a large selection to choose from. I will go back to try some of the baked goods next time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gussie's Tamales and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Gussie's Tamales and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing