We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great service definitely worth the try”

Pelican's Restaurant
Ranked #175 of 1,542 Restaurants in El Paso
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service definitely worth the try”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I went on last Thursday -it was packed, we had to wait about 20 minutes, we sat at the bar and the margarita was perfect. At the table the two appetizers were amazing and the two entrées delicious. No room for desert thought. Without alcohol it was around $71 -try it you'll be surprised.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh Food, Great Service & Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I stopped at Pelican's in El Paso for dinner on a Thursday night when we were passing through town. It was not terribly busy, but a nice crowd was there. There was live music in the bar area which could be heard in the whole restaurant but it was not overly loud. We were greeted and seated promptly and our server, Ben, introduced himself. He turned out to be a great and attentive waiter. We ordered mussels as an appetizer. They were full of garlic and nice and hot and were wonderful. Plenty to share. We then had the pecan salmon with a maple glaze. Probably the best piece of salmon we have had anywhere! Highly recommend this dish. The maple glaze added a wonderful flavor but did not overpower the taste of the salmon. It was cooked perfectly. We also were served their salad which comes in a large bowl and is shared. It was a really fresh salad and the veggies were really crisp and fresh as well. It had broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, & a whole scallion that we cut up and scattered in the bowl. It was an outstanding salad which is something that is rarely found at a restaurant these days and it is included with the meal which is almost unheard of lately. A great meal.
We made a second visit to Pelican's a few days later when we were passing through El Paso on our way home. We decided to stop on a Sunday night around 8:00 p.m. for a quick dinner. We sat at the bar and we each had a hamburger. We opted for a salad instead of the offered french fries. We just couldn't resist having a fresh salad again. The burgers were perfectly cooked to our specifications. It was their Southwest burger with green chile, onions, mushrooms and avocado. It was another delicious meal. Don't miss going to Pelican's, you won't be disappointed with anything you order.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elbee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I'VE NEVER HAD A BAD TIME OR A BAD MEAL!”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Pelican's makes me proud. They always have a good menu and it is always served with a good presentation. The food is very good!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank babslicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
262 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Food was average.”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We dined here in the evening. The atmosphere was pleasant. Not crowded or noisy. Server was pleasant but seemed to be inexperienced. As I remember the server from our visit before seemed inexperienced. Not sure if they are having a lot of employee turn around or not. I would not hurry back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madison8582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Better than I remembered”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The best server I've had here. Very attentive without being annoying. Mac & cheese was hot & cheesy, seared tuna salad was good portion & cooked to right temperature. Cup of chowder was lukewarm but it was only a cup so I didn't bother to send back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoureMyButterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelican's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pelican's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing