We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location in downtown El Paso”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel during Sun City Pride at the beginning of June 2014.
Positives: modern, clean and cool rooms, and the pool area was wonderful, with a bar in the pool area. Easy walking distance to most things in downtown El Paso. Our room faced west, giving a sweeping view over Juarez. Rooms were very quiet. The restaurant downstairs has a lovely breakfast, but the buffet is a little pricey ($14/person). Parking is free, although the parking spaces are very tight.

As for the negative: the weather was exceptionally hot outside (109F), and while the A/C worked well in the rooms, the corridors were not cooled, and they were exceptionally HOT (at least 100F), especially next to the elevators. And the elevators are VERY slow, and since the hotel was full during our stay, we spent a lot of time waiting for the elevator, in the stifling heat. The lights on the ceiling next to the elevator are halogen, and produce an immense amount of heat as well. The stairways cannot be used even to go one floor, since the doors from the stairwell are locked, and you can only go to the bottom once in the stairwell.

In all, a good hotel, but if you're sensitive to heat, you might not want to go when it's hot outside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim_from_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are actually working on the lighting near our elevators, so hopefully we can have this situation taken care of very soon. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel and the staff were wonderful. I would recommend for anyone visiting El Paso to stay here. The location can't be beat if you are looking to stay downtown. And the staff is more than willing and able to offer places to dine, to visit during your trip, or to help you out in anyway. The temperatures in El Paso can be very extreme, but no worries with the A/C. I would have to say that the A/C worked in this Hotel like it works in my home. If you set the temperature on a specific setting, it actually cooled to whatever temp. you set it at. Not like other Hotels, where the temperature gauge is just there to make you think it's working, but really doesn't. Housekeeping was very friendly and accommodating as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tommy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was able to assist you with information about local eateries. Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very accommodating. Check in went smoothly & we were also allowed early check in. Rooms were very spacious & clean. Elevators were extremely slow. Food downstairs was very pricy but good. I would definitely go back for another visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Tshun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Because of some schedule issues, I wasn't able to stay at this hotel so can't comment on the property or room, but front desk staff were very helpful, patient and courteous and helped me resolve a problem!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank YoureMyButterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Great to hear my staff was able to take care of you. Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I booked this hotel for a Pride Event because it was the ideal location and was near the event. I arrived in the morning to the hotel. Once I got there there are parking spaces you can park in while you check in. After I parked, I arrived to the front desk. I asked the front desk if I was able to check in early. I was able to luckily because they had bunch of rooms. Once I checked in, I was given a delicious coffee which is their signature. I recommend eating it, it's scrumptious for those who haven't tried it yet!

Anyways, I was given a room on the 9th floor which led me to take the elevators. I got onto the elevator I realized I had to swipe my key to go upstairs which is a security feature to make you feel safe. However if the staff is there with you they can swipe the key for you which was nice. Once I got into my room (king size bed) I settled down and checked out what it had to offer. There is an HDTV, along with a dresser and an ice bucket. There is no microwave, that was my only disappointment. My only gripe is if Super 8 or a lot of the budget chains offer a microwave why can't Doubletree? But anyways I still recommend this as a place to stay. I had a great view of the pool and downtown. The bed was comfy. The wifi is average, not as fast as I would like but decent. I will stay here again if given that choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maui87a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the great review. We look forward to your return, even if it isn't until next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

we had a great stay; Staff is very friendly and helpful, my daughters loved the cookies, we bought 2 tins and we are ready to go back for more! The rooms were quiet considering is right on the side of the I-10; complimentary parking and walking distance to the Chihuahuas Park; very clean comfortable beds, the pool is clean as well as the roof deck on the 7th floor. Will definitively stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We appreciate the great review and look forward to you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times for both business and pleasure. There are not a lot of choices for the El Paso area, but this DoubleTree exceeds all the rest, including the Marriott and Wyndham. The bed is extremely comfortable, and the TV is nice and large. Internet speeds are fast and work with both Youtube streaming as well as with my corporate VPN. Higher floors on either side of the building allow you to get a nice view, with one side overlooking the new baseball stadium built. The pool seemed a little dirty but they were cleaning it so I'm sure it looks good once it's been cleaned. Give this hotel a shot, you're sure to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Jimenez, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for giving us such a great review! We will definitely be looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
El Paso Marriott
El Paso Marriott
#26 of 81 in El Paso
385 reviews
5.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites El Paso Airport Area
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center

Address: 600 N El Paso St, El Paso, TX 79901-1122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Paso
#14 Business Hotel in El Paso
#16 Family Hotel in El Paso
Price Range: £77 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City El Paso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing