We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring”

El Paso Museum of Art
Ranked #9 of 93 things to do in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1947, this museum houses permanent exhibits with more than 5,000 pieces of art, including works by European artists Bellotto, Canaletto and Artemisia Gentileschi, as well an extensive collection of contemporary works by artists from the southwestern United States and Mexico.
Syracuse, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The museum is very small, and quite boring. I guess if you are very big into art you may like it. I was bothered by the fact you had to pay 10 dollars to go into two of the rooms. I thought ten dollars was a little much. Also they said you couldn't take photos. I was very disappointed because there was one display I absolutely loved! We went because it was on the list of attractions, and was free.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Small Museum”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A very small local museum. Not so many masterpiece there. But it's also a good place to visit in El Paso since it's free. Some collections of mexican artists are great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SSLOVEKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best museum in town”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Make sure to visit this beautiful collection on Last Thursday of the month celebration. It is free and the rotating collections are usually very interesting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank irvmaelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love to go”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

I love to go down town. Always stop to see the museum. The painting are old religious paintings and there is always a new display. Take advantage and go to all the museums down town. Aerial museum, Holocost museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pparmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“so much to see”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

There are plenty of permanent exhibits that are outstanding, and they have periodic traveling exhibits that are worth the price. They have an extensive collection of religious paintings and works of art that span many centuries. The docents are knowledable and patient.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpryWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Paso Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to El Paso Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing