We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great people, loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camino Real El Paso
Ranked #67 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Reviewed 10 May 2008

This hotel was fantastic. We loved it. One of the best we stayed in on our Amtrak trip through the USA.

Beautiful and large clean room. Great staff at desk and the guys who organised taxis and shuttles were very helpful. Luxurious surroundings in lobby and bar. We felt very comfortable with room and staff. And the people of El Paso are beautiful !!

Internet in lobby was a joy - no problems with emails. A computer was always available at no charge.

Great position close to Amtrak, shopping, restaurants and Juarez.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jenniferBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2008

I'm sorry, but the rooms are awful. The lobby and lobby bar is beautiful which is very misleading. Front desk staff are consistently slow, barely friendly and unhelpful. I had to change rooms because the air conditioning did not work. Then in the second room, the air still did not work. The linens smelled old as did the pillows. The bathrooms are hideous, the grout is stained and moldy, the fixtures are rusted and look like they are going to fall off. And on top of this, they charge $5 each time you park your car, no in and out privledges.

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past 6 months and have had similar experiences.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank garp57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

I stayed while traveling on business recently. The restaurants are very nice and the Dome Bar is nice, but other amenities need some updating.

- The Bad - If you traveling for business the Camino has very poor access to the internet. The say they have wireless, but they don't really have it. Rooms need to be fixed up a bit otherwise nice enough for couple days.

- The Good - This would be a good place for a weekend stay or nice dinner.

In all this hotel could be great if they just spent some money bringing the rooms up to date.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank apmobil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

I stay here for 3 nights, and we use 2 rooms. All my stay was good, Above it will explain all the hotel from the beginning to the end of the stay.

Location
It was one if the main problems it was a little far from the Cielo Vista Mall that was our main thing and also it was a little difficult to get there, but well.

Building
The building like in their homepage they say it that it was constructed in the 1912, a lomg time ago, so all is old, but one thing that it really amazed me it was the dome bar with their ceiling of Tiffany it´s amaizing, but well that is in the bar

Check in Check out
Both were kind of fast, the chek in with some problems because some type of bed, but at final it was quik and with a good service.

Rooms
Both rooms, double bed and king size, were almost the same, the only thing that it was different was in the king room, there was more space for obvious reasons, and also the view was different, both were normal it only chose the city and it was nothing wow.
Something that is important to know is that the room, like I say it is old and the bathroom smells bad but I know that you can tell someone of front desk.

Restaurant Azulejos
W only have breakfeast two times unfortunely they pickup the buffet at 10:30 so it was something that we didn´t like.
All the restaurant is like of 3.5 stars out of 5.

Extras
In the extras there was a gift shop which it was very pricy, but we didn´t buy anithing. We also use the service of the bellboy, and it was excellent. Also the parking, but well it was valet parking I think it cost like 5 dollars.

If the ask me if I will return, I will say no because I know they are better hotels, but for all the buissenes man and the people who stay 1 or two nights this is perfect, it´s in front of an Art Museum and 5 blocks of the Convention Center, also it´s like 8 blocks of the I-10.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Oscar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

Mixed bag. On one hand, the common areas are nice, and the staff tries extremely hard to approximate the service of a first-class hotel. But my room was dingy-to-the-max: smelled musty, peeling wallpaper, rust in bathroom fixtures, and a TV with the worst quality picture I have had in a motel room (including Days Inn and Motel 6) in 20 years. Room service food was OK. With luck, the owners will eventually get this hotel into shape.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank klaskro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2007

I stayed here with a group of friends doing a road trip around Arizona, Texas and New Mexico. When booking we were concerned by the comments on Trip Advisor, but the manager assured us that the refurbishments would be completed by the time we were arrived.
As promised, all the rooms were refurbished, and after a bit of negotiation we got all the rooms on the 7th floor. This had been arranged in the booking, but the staff were initially not going to comply with this request.
The rooms were clean and large, nicely furnished and the bed was firm and comfortable. The use of wall tiles on the floor of the bathroom, may not be be a good idea in the long term, but at the time we were there they were all intact.
The legs of the ironing board collapsed on use, the design being what you might expect in a cheap Super 8 motel.
The location at the top of the shopping district and within walking distance of the bridge served us well.
We did not eat in the dome restaurant which seemed more expensive with less exotic meals than I remembered from my visit in 2004. The mexican restaurant which also serves as the breakfast room served excellent value meals and was great for breakfast too.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Adder_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2007

I must admit I was more than a little nervous about checking into this hotel after reading some of the reviews on this site. But, my co-worker had made the arrangements and I had little choice but to go along.

I expected to find an old hotel with a great lobby that hid horror stories in the rooms. This simply was not the case. What I found was a very solid four-star property that was well maintained, clean and more than acceptable.

True the rooms have older furniture and lack flat screen televisions. True the plumbing fixtures are probably at least 30 years old. However the rooms and bathrooms were meticulously clean and nearly spotless.

Overall, I have no qualms about recommending this hotel to business travelers like myself.

When I return to El Paso, I will be returning to this property.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LifeOnGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
0.3 mi away
Gardner Hotel
Gardner Hotel
#47 of 81 in El Paso
54 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Address: 101 S El Paso St, El Paso, TX 79901-1107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range: £77 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing