We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in downtown El Paso”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino Real El Paso
Ranked #67 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A gem in downtown El Paso”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Spent one night in this beautiful old hotel. Wonderful public spaces, comfortable room with fabulous views and very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely the place to stay in El Paso. Fantastic value.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we are you top choice of all the hotels in El Paso.
We hope to see you back soon, please contact me so I can personally arrange your stay with us.
Always at your service,

Enrique De la Cueva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    111
    88
    78
    83
See reviews for
50
111
38
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elliston
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I hope this historic hotel gets the work it needs to continue to be a charming place to stay. It is on the verge of needing a lot of basic infrastructure updated. It has lovely old furniture, large spaces, and the bar is magnificent. TV's are old with poor picture quality. In room coffee maker had not been cleaned regularly so water it heated could not be used to make hot tea. Breakfast buffet was very good & included in our room rate. This was a perfect location for us since the Sun Bowl Fan Fest, an outstanding event, was across the street.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate your honesty and sincere comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our Texas size rooms. We are working on the remodeling project to better serve you in the future. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Been staying here at various times of the year for over four years, mostly out of convenience. Have seen a marked decline. Property really needs a complete renovation. On our most recent trip had continued maintenance problems which were never solved and no apology or offer to adjust the rate. Room was shabby (i.e. old carpet with burn marks, old furniture looking like it was just thrown in the room, dusty, old TV, obsolete bathtub, and dirty window). We quit going to the restaurant at breakfast due to poor and slow service.

However, the bar is decent - nothing out of this world, but not bad either.

Will continue to go here for the downtown shopping, but if there was a newer hotel in the immediate area we would go there. The property has alot of potential. The owners should put some money into it.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side offer excellent views of downtown Juarez.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cactusgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The complaints you expressed are very important to us and we intend to ensure that this does not happen in the future. We will ensure that our staff is aware on the importance of meeting the level of service that is expected as a Camino Real Hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations. Please feel free to contact me so I can personally arrange your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at the Camino Real for the 2012 Sun Bowl and wished we had done something different. I thought it would would be great to be where the action is for the Sun Bowl activities, but was extremely disappointed with the hotel and even contacted their parent company. I did not write a review of the hotel at that time because when I got online and looked, everyone had beat me to it. I am writing today because again I got online and see they are still getting negative reviews which suggests management is not interested in correcting the problems. Our problems were: very run down room, couldn't get served in the bar so went upstairs and ordered room service which took forever, food was cold and they forgot the silverware. How can you forget silverware for a meal? But since there is nothing else really happening in downtown so you are kinda stuck. The New Year's Eve party was incredibly loud, was a local event and had no connection with the Sun Bowl but is located so that most of the hotel guests that have a window (all of them) are going to hear it. There was no peace until around 2am. I wish we had stayed near the airport, come in at the last minute and left as soon as possible. And if you want good shopping, drive to Las Cruces. In fact, stay there and drive in for the game.

Room Tip: Stay in Las Cruces
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time on giving us a review. I am sorry you feel aggrieved with your visit, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt so negatively about your stay as this is not the feedback we like to receive. The complaints you expressed are very important to us and we intend to ensure that this does not happen in the future. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy the Camino Real, please feel free to contact me so I can personally arrange your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Up front, I stayed at the Camino Real in El Paso, Texas for a week in November of 2013. The reason for my stay is due to the fact that my husband, being in the national guard, had been in El Paso for months and was given a pass to stay with family within a twenty mile radius of his base. Including myself and my husband, my party included four guests who did stay at this hotel for a week.

On the upside, check-in was not terrible; however I would chalk that up to the fact that a person in my party could not be with us. I booked two rooms (one a single bed. the other having two beds) and the hotel was booked when I came to check-in, but had two rooms, just both with one bed. One room was located on the ninth floor, the other was on floor twelve.

The bathroom was terrible. The water was either way to hot or way too cold and took a long time to adjust to a reasonable temperature. The tile and facilities were out of date and needed a serious scrubbing. In addition, on our last night, the toilet in one of my rooms broke, and spilled water all over the floor.

Most of the lights around the room and the bathroom flickered frequently. During my stay the hotel lost power in the rooms on several floors for most of the day, causing inconveniences to many guests. No manager or anyone ever gave mention of how long power would be lost or how affected guests would be compensated. Also during my stay, in the morning (9 a.m.) the fire alarms screech to life and send me into a panic, so instantly I got up to evacuate, but the alarm stopped and I felt confused. After another alarm, my husband called the front desk and was informed the hotel was testing their alarm system. I seriously recommend letting guests know a test on the alarm system will be happening and when, to avoid upsetting guests who wanted to sleep in.

by the way, I like to take the stairs instead of an elevator and the stairs at this hotel are 1. creepy, 2. hazardous, and 3. sweltering. The stairs are all concrete, no carpeting or nice paint, and no safe no-slip strips. Electrical wiring was exposed on several levels. windows are not found in the stair wells and the lighting was rather dim or out on some levels as well.

As far as the actual room goes, the bed was nice. The T.V. was a tube television. The entertainment center was quite old and one door kept shutting over the T.V. Really, I have stayed at nicer hotels for less money that included refrigerators, microwaves, laundry facilities for guests, etc. By the way, the pool is outside on the tenth floor with no view other than four bland concrete walls.

Lastly, the bar is okay. The service was mediocre and the drinks were not consistent. We sat at the bar on two nights; ordered the same drinks on both nights (one drink per person in our party), and neither night was very similar to each other.

Honestly, I just want to let potential guests to know what they might be in for. I understand the hotel is quite old and historical; however, there is no acceptable excuse in my opinion for so many short comings for a hotel of such a caliber.

Room Tip: The junior suite was nicer than the king suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the alarm testing issue as well as the stairs security and spoken with the managers in question. In regards to the TV's we are currently undergoing an upgrade in our systems, and we continue to work on the areas that need improvement to better serve you in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A nice lobby area and the bar area is definitely the star attraction of the hotel--the stained glass dome is not to be missed. However………the guest rooms are in sore need of updating. Although it is a historic hotel, the amenities in the rooms are old, worn, and outdated. Bathroom fixtures are corroded. Food from the grill was only average. They did provide a state rate, though, and I was on business…...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We appreciate your honesty and sincere comments. We are working on the remodeling plans, to better serve you in the future. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Ellijay, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was here for a large wedding. The wedding party and out of town guests all stayed at the property. From check in through check out the staff failed to meet even minimum requests. The wedding party and family were supposed to have all renovated rooms together, refrigerators in room--didn't happen. Rooms either weren't cleaned or done after 5pm. Wake up call for airport never done. The WORST hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moopie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate your honesty and apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory on such an important day. Corrective actions have taken place to ensure that this won't happen again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gardner Hotel
Gardner Hotel
#44 of 81 in El Paso
49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Property: Camino Real El Paso
Address: 101 S El Paso St, El Paso, TX 79901-1107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing