We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foul,Filthy,Disgusting & not worth $10.00 a night!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
San Bernardino, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Foul,Filthy,Disgusting & not worth $10.00 a night!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Where do I start? I was just winging it trying to find a cheap room for 2 nites, found this place, it looked ok from the outside, I was too tired to look at any more motels so I settled on this one....
Bed was harder that a rock, the carpets were so dirty that when I walked on them with my white socks, my socks promptly became BLACK on the bottom. The curtains were filthy,the bathroom window had no cutains but did have a cracked window & a hole in the screen. No hangers to hang my clothes on, the front door had a broken off lock,holes kicked in bathroom door...the Tv when I turned it on immediately started playing some PORN channel....all the people around there were sketchy & more than likely lived there on a weekly basis...I used to be a truck driver & have stayed in motels/hotels all over the country & this place is hands down the worst one EVER...I even gave the manager a list of all the foul things I experienced in the that room & he said "I do the best I can." yehhhh.....ok.....right.....

Room Tip: Do not get a room at this place, read all the other reviews THEY ARE TELLING THE TRUTH & SO AM I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    10
    9
    21
See reviews for
18
17
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

First off, what the picture of the outside doesn't show you is on either side of the entrance, there are 2 Liquor stores, both of which had questionable people hanging out at all hours. When I pulled in with my family, a resident of the place told me "this is a reeaalll quiet place". I wanted to ask if his name was Norman Bates. The rooms looked dingy but OK, but when we let our 9 month old crawl on the carpet after a bath literally within 2 minutes her legs were black. After driving around town at 9:30 at night, we found no vacancy and had to endure a night at this place. I thought my 12 year old daughter was geting emotional at bed time, as she was covering her face. I asked what was up - "Dad, this place smells" She was right. The party outside lasted until about 2 in the morning. I sort of got to sleep after that. Altogether, scary location and junky rooms. Worth the money to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I did booking via famous booking system. And I arrived at the motel the night before 12:00. Manager for a long time waking up, and when he woke up he said "SOLD OUT". Despite the fact that we had a voucher of booking system.
The question: "What about my money. Are you going to chrage it?"? He said "NO".
The next day, I saw that the money from the card was charged.
They stole my money! Never use this motel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexeynik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Ocean View Motel Ventura is the most disgusting motel I have ever had the the misfortune to visit. We checked in and out within 12 minutes.

When I reported the disgusting condition of the room to the manager, we was kind enough to offer us an alternative room ( LOL) We declined. The manager did provide a full refund and we were able to leave quickly without a single bite.

Yeh, OK we were looking for budget accommodation, but this was really, really not acceptable
We witness and can confirm nearly all of the negative comments provided by the other victims

Room Tip: Stay in another motel if you are looking for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerryM60769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My friend and I needed a cheep place to stay for the weekend and found this place for $59. Well it was too good to be true. While checking the front desk person snarlled what? and we were just checking in. We got to the room and it was the dirtiest room I have ever stayed at. My friend is 3 months pregent and she was having to breath in mold. NOO GOOOD. The door looked as though it had been beaten down and it did not have a safty lock. But we went out all day and just slept there at night. I have a feeling that most of the people staying there are living there. The second night at 11:00 pm I heard screaming and yelling I looked at my window and heard a loud noise. A guy had pushed his girlfriend down the stairs and was standing over her. While she was screaming for help I called the front desk and he was so calm about the whole thing almost like this was nothing new. We then packed our bags and left at 1130 pm we drove all the way up to Thousand oaks becuase everything was booked and we had to pay $100. Please do not stay here unless you are living there and are on drugs!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HWeiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

The place is the worst! The first room I went in was riddled with mold, the inside of what they called a frige was covered in it. The water smelled and looked like dirt. I pulled the bed back to plug in my cell phone and the wall and floor were stained in blood. He moved me to another room where it looked like someone had dug a hole in the middle of the bed. The bedding smelled really bad and the pillows were covered in hair. There was a gap under the door that a cat could climb under. This place was horrible. The cops were there 3-4 timeas a night. I was there for a week and when I finally got my first check I was outta there! Its crawling with drunks, drug dealers and prostitutes. I implore you, stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank msanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Unless you need a place to meet your crystal meth dealer, I would not recommend this motel. It's basically a long term, just got out of jail, and need a lay low until the drugs wear off. It's just a milimeter above an SRO (single occupancy room-), but not pricewise. Go to the Motel-6 on Harbor View drive, for a low-cost and safer option.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravlnJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#11 of 23 in Ventura
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,094 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ventura
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1690 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3329 (Formerly Ocean View Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Motel Ventura Hotel Ventura
Ocean View Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing