We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok and very reasonably priced”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Not sure what the other reviews are about but we stayed one night and it was fine. Very reasonably priced and our unit had new carpet fresh paint and was in excellent condition. The person on the desk was very pleasant and easy to deal with. Not sure if it is under new management or what but we had no issues. It was completely full the night we stayed so I guess the previous reviews had little effect. We would stay there again. Not a 5 star location but certainly a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

From the photo of the front gates this place looks nice, however its slightly seedy, a bit dirty and the wifi doesn't work, even with the correct code. I have to say that the young lad on reception was very helpful, even though he was on the other side of a window and dealing with me through a hatch.

Got the impression that many people were long term residents. Bit run down and had the feel of needing a good fix up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed there for one night.
First of all I arrive to ask about if they had any room. They told me yes, for 70$
I went to the downtown to do some things and then when I came back, the guy at the front desk was angry and he told me, NOOO, I TOLD U don't go to the downtown, no more rooms. After talking with him, he gave me one room for 70$ (he told me, no tax.) The room was ok (old but clean) thats why I give the motel 2 stars.

I don't really care about the noise, cause I'm young but it was so loudy the whole night

By the way, he didn't give me the password for the wifi...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerAlone21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This place was old and run down.We booked online at the last minute. Unfortunately there was a group of young men in the next room who admitted they did not care who they disturbed. We had prebooked 2 nights online and after 1 night with no sleep were ready to leave. It is run down and dirty. This is a cheap motel which we tolerated but couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Where do I start? I was just winging it trying to find a cheap room for 2 nites, found this place, it looked ok from the outside, I was too tired to look at any more motels so I settled on this one....
Bed was harder that a rock, the carpets were so dirty that when I walked on them with my white socks, my socks promptly became BLACK on the bottom. The curtains were filthy,the bathroom window had no cutains but did have a cracked window & a hole in the screen. No hangers to hang my clothes on, the front door had a broken off lock,holes kicked in bathroom door...the Tv when I turned it on immediately started playing some PORN channel....all the people around there were sketchy & more than likely lived there on a weekly basis...I used to be a truck driver & have stayed in motels/hotels all over the country & this place is hands down the worst one EVER...I even gave the manager a list of all the foul things I experienced in the that room & he said "I do the best I can." yehhhh.....ok.....right.....

Room Tip: Do not get a room at this place, read all the other reviews THEY ARE TELLING THE TRUTH & SO AM I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

First off, what the picture of the outside doesn't show you is on either side of the entrance, there are 2 Liquor stores, both of which had questionable people hanging out at all hours. When I pulled in with my family, a resident of the place told me "this is a reeaalll quiet place". I wanted to ask if his name was Norman Bates. The rooms looked dingy but OK, but when we let our 9 month old crawl on the carpet after a bath literally within 2 minutes her legs were black. After driving around town at 9:30 at night, we found no vacancy and had to endure a night at this place. I thought my 12 year old daughter was geting emotional at bed time, as she was covering her face. I asked what was up - "Dad, this place smells" She was right. The party outside lasted until about 2 in the morning. I sort of got to sleep after that. Altogether, scary location and junky rooms. Worth the money to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I did booking via famous booking system. And I arrived at the motel the night before 12:00. Manager for a long time waking up, and when he woke up he said "SOLD OUT". Despite the fact that we had a voucher of booking system.
The question: "What about my money. Are you going to chrage it?"? He said "NO".
The next day, I saw that the money from the card was charged.
They stole my money! Never use this motel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexeynik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.9 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Ventura Beach
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#11 of 23 in Ventura
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ventura
La Quinta Inn Ventura
#10 of 23 in Ventura
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1690 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3329 (Formerly Ocean View Motel)
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range: £58 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Motel Ventura Hotel Ventura
Ocean View Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing