We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Wyndham property standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This is our first stay In Ventura at a Wyndham property. We've stayed at various Wyndham hotels and this is not up to par. Once you enter the lobby, it doesn't feel like a Wyndham hotel starting with customer service. The hotel clerk was nice but didn't live up to wyndham expectations. Walking around the property it doesn't feel like a Wyndham with out dated paint , decor and plants. Our room had great comfortable beds but the bath and decor need some renovations. The bath has outdated tiles and needs a new shower head. The noise from the freeway is overwhelming so sleep when it's late at night when there is lighter traffic. The feeling of the hotel is like a motel 6 and not comparable to a standards of a Wyndham property. If you never stayed at a Wyndham hotel, stay at the irvine john Wayne hotel. Disappointed we chose this property and We've should've stayed at the crown plaza which is down the street or the Marriott .

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Jessia at the front desk is the BEST!! and so is the rest of the staff! went there to welcome my nephew home from Japan, he is stationed at Port Huemmene (sp?) The hotel is being renovated, and our room was as good as it gets, we had a semi view of the ocean, but it was enough. I live in the country and not used to fwy noise, our room was right over the freeway but didn't notice it at night, so don't let that stop you from getting a room. While we were driving round we looked at the other hotels we had considered who claimed the had beach access and were very pleased with our decision to stay here! Had the best access to the beach and walked it every day we were there. I don't walk well, and the Beach was within walking distance! could not have gotten a better hotel and service! The property has some really quaint settings and the best view for sunset dinners!. I will be back to Ventura and will definitely stay here again! You guys are the best! The beds are good and the food is really good! The staff was professional and dressed the part. The hotel maids are very nice and clean.

Room Tip: Didn't realize the suites were only $20 more a night, would do that for sure next time, those ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 208tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

There's nothing like this place left in California. It's a unique remnant of So Cal's good old days. Old school luxury. Amazing location. The sounds of the surf and freeway mingle to create a pleasant noise blanket, and the ocean breeze keeps you feeling fresh. I just put on a 5 day music seminar here at the Pierpont and received many compliments and promises to return next year.
The restaurant was very reasonable and the food was amazing. Get the hamburgers! Get the Cobb salad!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Door didn't lock. Shower wouldn't shut off bathroom door didn't lock. Freeway noise all the time. Asked for a crib got a porta crib big difference. High price for nothing. We were there two days never again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chattykathy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I was here for a three day conference. It was brutal. The hotel is locted right on HWY 101 and it is so loud that sleep is nearly impossible. Nearly everyone in the conference was exhausted by mid day. Day 3 was worthless because we were all zombies by then. The hotel is old and you can tell they have made some upgrades but it still is an old hotel, with an old smell. The phones in the room did not work. The TV was located in a weird spot so it was difficult to even see. The showers were ultra funky. Would never recomend staying here for more than a day due to lack of sleep and woud certainly advise against ever having a conference here because the participants not be able to pay attention due to sleep deprivation.

Room Tip: earplugs, a pillow over the head, and sleeping pills....and maybe you have a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicoeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Grounds are beautifully landscaped with lovely views of the ocean...and the VERY noisy highway. I want to recommend this place, I really do. It was obviously once such a beautiful place. Now, the rooms are kind of run down and the highway noise drowns out what would be a lush garden oasis. Nice location near the state beach, but a little far from Ventura downtown area. Overall, be prepared to love the outside, but be less excited by the rooms, esp the bathrooms, which are in desperate need of attention. Also, there was no A/C in our room, which is not consistent from room to room, so check when you book a stay. No A/C was not horrible for January, but probably not June. Also, no A/C meant we had to leave the balcony door open, which made sleeping a challenge with the highway (and 2 am train) noise. Our balcony had no furniture, but others did. Not a huge deal, but my god the pillows! We woke with stiff necks and shoulders every morning. I can't recommend this as a place to stay until significant changes are made to the rooms. However, they do have a bar/restaurant, and the grounds are worth a look if you stop by for a drink/meal. I can see why this would be popular for wedding ceremonies, as the grounds are gorgeous, but I personally would not want my wedding guests to stay in the room where I stayed.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cnbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
661 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn

Address: 550 San Jon Rd, Ventura, CA 93001-3745 (Formerly The Pierpont Inn & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: £86 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the historic Pierpont Inn, a charming hotel with gorgeous landscaping and stunning ocean views. Our Ventura hotel encompasses decades of rich architecture featuring two 1925 English Tudor Revival cottages and a 1935 Spanish Revival Banquet Center, but also features modern amenities like free high-speed WiFi or an outdoor heated pool. The romantic coastal charm of the Pierpont Inn has made this hotel a favorite location for weddings and receptions, family reunions, corporate retreats and great overnight getaways for over 100 years. Enjoy the stunning ocean views while having a delicious breakfast, lunch, or dinner at Austen's, our on-site restaurant serving its famous NY strip steak alongside other classic American cuisine. The Pierpont Inn is located within walking distance of historic Downtown Ventura and the San Buenaventura Mission, located just 58 miles from Los Angeles, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierpont Inn And Spa
The Pierpont Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing