We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Such a Bad Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We're not fussy people and we love staying at historic spots like this, but we had such a creepy and unpleasant experience here. During our delicious dinner, where we were the only people in the place, we sat & chatted with some of the younger hotel staff members, who seemed really nice, & then we went to our room. A few hours later, we woke to the sound of people laughing outside our room. We peeked out & saw that the same staff members were partying in the next room, but we thought "just let it go" - we had ear plugs & it wasn't a big deal to us. But then things got ugly & we could clearly hear (thru the paper thin walls) the sound of people fighting. We called the front desk & could hear (thru those thin walls) that they were being told to be quiet. Well, they were for a little while until the group started literally yelling, laughing, and pounding the wall between our rooms. It would've been scary if it hadn't have been for the fact that this was a bunch of drunk young kids. The next morning, I tried to talk to the woman at the front about it but she blew me off by saying she hadn't booked that room. Seriously? This clearly is a really cool place with great history, but these crummy losers who they've hired are ruining it. Either hire adults or hire kids who have some decency. Even if the rooms are inexpensive, no one wants a sleepless night & major attitude.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MagyarfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    196
    129
    54
    44
See reviews for
171
250
40
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel has a lot of good qualities: historic, clean, super-comfy beds, friendly and helpful staff.
The location would be fantastic, if it weren't for the highway partially blocking the ocean view. There's no soundproofing, so light sleepers may be bothered by the highway noise (and other guests climbing the steps, if your room is near them).
Breakfast is not included (and the breakfast they offer was really expensive), so get breakfast in Ventura, or bring some goodies to stash in the mini fridge.

The room itself was clean and the bed was really comfortable, but the bathroom was a bit cramped (keep in mind, it is a historic property). The walls really needed re-painting and some of the furniture was tired (which didn't really bother us--they are apparently renovating all the rooms, one at a time). We got an amazing deal on wyndham.com, so for what we paid we were very happy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This is our first stay In Ventura at a Wyndham property. We've stayed at various Wyndham hotels and this is not up to par. Once you enter the lobby, it doesn't feel like a Wyndham hotel starting with customer service. The hotel clerk was nice but didn't live up to wyndham expectations. Walking around the property it doesn't feel like a Wyndham with out dated paint , decor and plants. Our room had great comfortable beds but the bath and decor need some renovations. The bath has outdated tiles and needs a new shower head. The noise from the freeway is overwhelming so sleep when it's late at night when there is lighter traffic. The feeling of the hotel is like a motel 6 and not comparable to a standards of a Wyndham property. If you never stayed at a Wyndham hotel, stay at the irvine john Wayne hotel. Disappointed we chose this property and We've should've stayed at the crown plaza which is down the street or the Marriott .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Jessia at the front desk is the BEST!! and so is the rest of the staff! went there to welcome my nephew home from Japan, he is stationed at Port Huemmene (sp?) The hotel is being renovated, and our room was as good as it gets, we had a semi view of the ocean, but it was enough. I live in the country and not used to fwy noise, our room was right over the freeway but didn't notice it at night, so don't let that stop you from getting a room. While we were driving round we looked at the other hotels we had considered who claimed the had beach access and were very pleased with our decision to stay here! Had the best access to the beach and walked it every day we were there. I don't walk well, and the Beach was within walking distance! could not have gotten a better hotel and service! The property has some really quaint settings and the best view for sunset dinners!. I will be back to Ventura and will definitely stay here again! You guys are the best! The beds are good and the food is really good! The staff was professional and dressed the part. The hotel maids are very nice and clean.

Room Tip: Didn't realize the suites were only $20 more a night, would do that for sure next time, those ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 208tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

There's nothing like this place left in California. It's a unique remnant of So Cal's good old days. Old school luxury. Amazing location. The sounds of the surf and freeway mingle to create a pleasant noise blanket, and the ocean breeze keeps you feeling fresh. I just put on a 5 day music seminar here at the Pierpont and received many compliments and promises to return next year.
The restaurant was very reasonable and the food was amazing. Get the hamburgers! Get the Cobb salad!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Door didn't lock. Shower wouldn't shut off bathroom door didn't lock. Freeway noise all the time. Asked for a crib got a porta crib big difference. High price for nothing. We were there two days never again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chattykathy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
0.6 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn

Property: Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Address: 550 San Jon Rd, Ventura, CA 93001-3745 (Formerly The Pierpont Inn & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the historic Pierpont Inn, a charming hotel with gorgeous landscaping and stunning ocean views. Our Ventura hotel encompasses decades of rich architecture featuring two 1925 English Tudor Revival cottages and a 1935 Spanish Revival Banquet Center, but also features modern amenities like free high-speed WiFi or an outdoor heated pool. The romantic coastal charm of the Pierpont Inn has made this hotel a favorite location for weddings and receptions, family reunions, corporate retreats and great overnight getaways for over 100 years. Enjoy the stunning ocean views while having a delicious breakfast, lunch, or dinner at Austen's, our on-site restaurant serving its famous NY strip steak alongside other classic American cuisine. The Pierpont Inn is located within walking distance of historic Downtown Ventura and the San Buenaventura Mission, located just 58 miles from Los Angeles, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierpont Inn And Spa
The Pierpont Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing