We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Stay in the Heart of Ventura”
Review of Bella Maggiore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bella Maggiore Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have been coming to the Bella Magiore Inn for about 15 years now, and it remains one of my favorite places for a weekend escape! Service is top rate, and as others have said the order-from-the-menu is excellent. My favorite is the bagel and smoked salmon…

At five p.m. every day the Bella puts out a wine, cheese, and light snack event for its guests-just right to fuel up your body for some long walks on the beach or to browse the second hand stores on Main Street.

The rooms are cozy, and the owners work hard at keeping them clean and comfortable. Sure, a few of them could be renovated, but so what? One of the most appealing things about the Bella is the cost to stay. One can reserve a room facing California Street (all these rooms are cute and cozy), have the wine and cheese,and then the breakfast in the morning for about $80. I dare you to find THAT anywhere on the So Cal coast!

Anyway, great service, cozy, romantic rooms, a terrific price point, and super food. What's not to love about the Bella Magiore?

Room Tip: The Bella is reputed to be haunted. Choose room 17 for the most supernatural experience possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventurePoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed two nights for our anniversary. It is an older hotel/b&b. We enjoyed the decor and the friendly staff. We had a small room with access to a shared balcony. It is not a luxury b & b, and the rooms could use a bit of updating or redecorating, but it was cozy and inviting. The room did get a bit stuffy, but we just opened the transom window. The morning breakfast is fantastic. I took everyone's advice and had the french toast with apples - so yummy. It is in a perfect location to explore downtown Ventura. All the parking in the lot behind the Inn that is marked "private property" is for the Inn, so you don't have to pay for street parking. We received their AAA rate, and including the "order anything you want off the menu" for breakfast, it was a fantastic deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you don't want to hear street noise from a room facing the street. You d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Recently enjoyed a three night stay at this charming inn. Large, clean, comfortable room and bathroom. No air conditioning but big windows and nice breeze kept room cool in September. Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent "order from menu" breakfast included. Location is amazing, just steps to shops, restaurants, beach and museum. Not the fanciest, but super comfortable and I definitely recommend.

Room Tip: No elevator, be prepared to carry your bag up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were about to give the Bella Maggiore Inn an average rating. The room we stayed in was at the back with access to a shared patio overlooking the courtyard, but it was not really comfortable due to rundown furnishings (uncomfortable bed) and a musty smell (carpet needs a thorough deep cleaning and bathroom is in need of a complete makeover).
Positive aspects were the friendly staff, the location (within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the beach) and a delicious cooked to order breakfast (try the french toast) which in the end improved our rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I have been to the Bella Maggiore more than once, both with children and for romantic getaways. It's our favorite hotel, and whenever we're in central coast California, we look to stay there.

The hotel is beautiful, with a distinctive mediterranean-style facade. A critic might say that the interior is a bit shabby looking, but I would call it charming and authentic. In the evening there is complimentary wine and light snacks (veggies, crackers, cheese), which is a really nice touch.

The location is terrific. Right around the corner from Main St. shops and a short walk to both the beach and the Ventura Pier.

But, as others have pointed out, maybe the best thing about this hotel is the marvelous breakfast included with the price of a room. It's a full-menu breakfast that you order, not a buffet. The food is outstanding, and the restaurant itself is in a stunning courtyard with a water feature, pretty iron work, and flora. An absolute gem of a place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKP2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Our Buena '71 class met for R 60th birthday year!! Some of us were 60!! The rooms were spotless, breakfast, which comes w/ room was EXCELLENT!! wine tasting was free & great eats & FUN ON PATIO!! When back to Ventura will ALWAYS stay at the Bella Love, love LOVE IT! :o)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANNIE0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Love This Place For The Best Beachtown experience Got To Go For Anniversary BIG45 Time goes Fast With The Right Person You See Your Friend s Come And Go Change Stinks Check The Ranch House Restaurant In Ojai For That Special Occasion

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rjmich63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.4 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
669 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clocktower Inn Hotel
Clocktower Inn Hotel
#19 of 23 in Ventura
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ventura Beach
0.2 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Maggiore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Maggiore Inn

Address: 67 S California St, Ventura, CA 93001-2801
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range: £53 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a palm tree-lined street, this 1926 hotel is just a half-block to downtown Ventura and 3 blocks to the beach. Rooms are decorated in an Italianate style, have private bathrooms, and free WiFi. Some have fireplaces, spa-tubs, bay window seats, or a view that looks over a leafy courtyard. There is a pleasant living room lobby with wooden floors, antique sofas, a real fireplace, and flower arrangements from the local farmers' market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Maggiore Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing